We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunchtime meal”
Review of The angel

The angel
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Toddington
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stopped here by chance on a day. Looked welcoming from outside with a large area with outside seating and umbrellas. Ate inside. Friendly greeting at the bar and fast service. Asked if we would like to eat and offered menu. Nice selection of good basic meals. There was a set menu for £12.50 for two courses. Had the chilli chicken goujons and garlic mayo for starters. about 5 fresh grilled goujons and salad and mayo with chilli sauce ~ very tasty. Both had the homemade burger that came in a fresh bun with bacon and cheese, chunky home fries grilled tomato and salad. Again a very pleasant meal for £20.50 for two. The staff were extremely attentive, friendly and helpful. Yes I will return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We thought we would visit for a meal and see what the food is like with the new Managers/Chef .... It was a last minute decision and 6 of us arrived last night for a 2 course meal. We were very impressed, Danny was rushed of his feet , but great service, very friendly, and the food pesented was delicious and freshly cooked, the crab starter and fish and chips we would highly recommend. as we are local and look forward to be visiting again - especially to try the 2 for £12 meals and the Friday Fish night special offer!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We went to this pub with friends for a get together meal .The welcome was great and the place was warm .we were served drinks. By the barman same person served food and he was brilliant. The food was terrible and there was not much choice , all our food was over cooked and was very bland ,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zimrepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl A, Manager at The angel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi I would just like to respond to this review as we have recently taken over this establishment in October and am grateful that you have taken the time to write this.
Its a shame you felt your meal was bland and terrible, we take all feedback into consideration especially whilst building a new business.
I do recall this occasion you were in as it's the only complaint we have had so far and feel it's a little unfair, as I recall all other members of your party ate every scrap of food served including your replacement meal without complaint , I think bland is a personal preference and 'terrible' used in this instance was extremely exaggerated as only yourself complained .As for lack of choice I would also again have to disagree as we have a choice of 14 main courses (not including salads) and a choice of 3-5 specials.
We welcome you back again anytime and hope you have a better experience and hope to change your opinion.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Pulled off the M1 in need of a break and some food, found myself in Toddington, as luck would have it, stopped at the Angel, ordered a Sunday Roast and was very impressed. Great food, friendly staff and quick service. Try the bread and butter pudding, can recommend it. Cheers to the Cheryl the Landlady too, ask her to tell you the one about Billericay Bob, I was in tears!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stopped of at the angle pub for Sunday lunch the pub had such a lovely friendly feel and the staff were so happy and helpful. We had the sunday roast it tasted lovely and u get lots of it. I highly recommend this lovely friendly pub. If u get a chance u must visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Love2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The angel also viewed

Toddington, Bedfordshire
Toddington, Bedfordshire
 
Stanford, Biggleswade
 

Been to The angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing