We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utterly fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Potters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Potters Arms
Ranked #5 of 11 Amersham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Utterly fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed there last night, unfortunately for one night only. My colleagu from Finland is there for three nights & he's very happy about that.

Richard is welcoming, the beer's good & the food is fantastic.

It's not the Ritz, in my opinion it's better, it has a bit of character & it's not impersonal.

I will actively search out reasons to work in this area again, just so I can stay here!

Phil.

Room Tip: It's quiet whichever side you're on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    22
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
26
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Lovely Pub, great atmosphere and fantastic hospitality - Best Comedy nights around :D

Went to one of the monthly Comedy evenings the potters arms runs - FUN evening. Best value around for a night of laughs.

Considering it was £10 a ticket in my wisdom... You wouldn't usually expect that much bang for your buck. How wrong was I. 3 comics, 1 was quite famous from what I recall (Not that I can remember his name!!!!) and served with a meal too for the price. FANTASTIC*****

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

Set in a lovely part of Bucks, serves excellent food and has 4 well appointed bedrooms. It's large enough to incorporate a 'pub' section, including dartboard and tv, a lounge area, with comfy chairs round the fire, plus the resturant area too. So something for everyone! The room we stayed in was a reasonable size, very clean with a rustic feel, followed by a lovely cooked breakfast. If I have any complaints at all, just to be churlish, it would have been nice to see some local beers on offer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Richard is charming and I was lucky enough to stay on his monthly comedy night. I laughed solidly for 2 hours and the pub was full with other smiling people doing the same. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Good luck Richard - you deserve success!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Absolutely EXCELLENT meals, have been a few times now, Richard and his staff make you feel so welcome, the food is fabulous always so very filling but always squeeze a pudding in as well. Sunday lunch is gorgeous and the kids loved it as well. Definately worth visiting time and time again. WELL DONE Richard keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

my wife and I stayed one night,and absolutely loved it,the staff were so friendly and efficient..we had a great meal in the restaurant,and drinks before hand along side a roaring log fire,our room was comfortable,and we had a huge cooked breakfast ..which really was superb..would definately use again...for us it would be perfect as a stop over prior to flying from heathrow.....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BromsgroveJacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Excellent accommodation, very good food. Was booked as a last minute booking and I am not disappointed. Great country location and a lovely 'rustic' feel to the rooms. Really friendly owner happy to chat with you and make you feel at home.

If I am back in this area again, this place would be my first choice and would be upset if there were no rooms available.

Room Tip: The room I was in was lovely. I guess all the rooms offer the same value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
2.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
4.7 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
6.1 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potters Arms

Property: The Potters Arms
Address: Fagnall Lane, Amersham HP7 0PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potters Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Potter’s Arms is a traditional village pub set on the edge of the Chiltern Hills in glorious rural Buckinghamshire, but close to fast road and rail connections to London and the Midlands. We provide accommodation in our four comfortably-appointed en-suite bedrooms at reasonable rates. Perfect for a layover, and handy for departures and arrivals from Heathrow Airport - only thirty minutes away by car. Nearest tube station - 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Potters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Potters Arms Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing