We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 40th Birthday party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great 40th Birthday party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I arranged a joint 40th Birthday at the Crown Inn. We had pre-arranged exclusivity of the whole pub and restaurant throughout the evening, catering for around 90 guests. Food included finger food then a buffet and the quality was excellent. Many of our guests commented how nice, helpful and accommodating all the staff were and those who also stayed at the hotel, loved the rooms and the freshly prepared breakfast in the morning. I loved the laid back approach of all the staff at the Crown and would recommend this venue for any kind of celebration!
Nick H

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed hosting the party and were very impressed by the high standard of fancy dress. The look was absolutely brilliant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    168
    86
    58
    47
See reviews for
110
358
12
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

After having stayed at its sister hotel The Olde Bell in Marlow my fiancé treated me to a birthday get away at the Crown. Amersham is lovely with a great selection of bars and restaurants.
We decided to eat at the hotel restaurant in the evening and on the whole it was very nice with good service. The rooms were very comfy if a bit noisy.

We preferred it to its Marlow counterpart

Room Tip: 7 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for your kind review - please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I took my husband here for his birthday over a weekend and overall, we had a good time. The room (101) was the real highlight - it was truly fantastic, very clean, super stylish and really comfortable. We had a bath in the room which was just great, and there's an ipod speaker system with a line (for those with the new iphone/pod/ipad) so you could still use it which was great. My only disappointment was that while some of the staff were really attentive and helpful, others were definitely not. For example, although the breakfast in the morning was good, it was buffet style, with only one member of staff serving teas etc. For a hotel boasting nearly 40 bedrooms this is definitely not enough. The staff member in question looked pretty miserable to be there, and made me feel like any request from her was a real drag which also didn't help.

Lastly (and not meaning to whinge because overall we had a good experience) given that the hotel is based in the Chilterns you'd think that on asking a receptionist about the local walks that they would be very obliging and perhaps give you a small map with some options etc. However, I was simply told that there are some muddy paths ‘opposite Tesco’ and that if I didn’t want to get muddy the best thing to do was walk around the village! Not that helpful and took us about 20 minutes and another phone-call to the hotel to find out exactly where these paths were...

Having said that I would still recommend the hotel to a friend, given the wonderful room and location, and it’s close proximity to London. Just small issues with staff that are easily fixable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and have noted your comments. We are working to improve breakfast - we do a buffet at the weekends due to numbers but do offer the a la carte option too. This should have been made clear.
I will also ensure we have more local maps available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent Sunday night at the Crown - room not ready on arrival at 4pm - staff busy and helpful but only after requests made - no management presence or organisation. excuse was that they had been busy with a wedding the previous day -
Table booked for Sunday night a their 'sister' pub - staff totally un trained - un helpful and though the food was excellent the over all feeling was that we were an inconveninece.
Breakfast on Monday moring was a shambles - total lack of organisation and we left with real feelings of being underwhelmed.

the whole lack of staff training put the team at such a dissadvantage they were overstreatched and though they tried they were disengaged and 'fire fighting'
Such a dissapointment -

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Heather - I am sorry that you had a poor experience. We had just had an exclusive use wedding who all checked out late, but obviously we needed to react better. The Sunday night dinner is an issue and we have now clearly stated this on bookings.

Please contact me at the Crown as perhaps we can make this up to you.

Kind regards

Peter St Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night as part of a large wedding party. Room 6 was lovely, very quiet and had a super shower in the en suite.

Breakfast was wonderful. The sausages at breakfast were some of the best I've eaten.

All the staff were extremely pleasant.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SMBC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for your kind review - we enjoyed hosting the wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Set in the beautiful part of Amersham, this inn is tradition with a classy interior. I had warm quiche to start with a side salad which was perfect and I had chicken and pesto ciabatta sandwich for main course with crisps on the side as well as a side order of fries. The portion sizes were large all at a good price. Workers were very attentive throughout. Have recommended this pub to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you fro making the effort to review us and for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Crown for one night as part of his birthday celebrations and we had a fantastic time. The room was beautiful, with lots of lovely touches such as complimentary wine, crisps and chocolate. We ate three course meal (booked as part of our room package with a glass of champagne too) in the restaurant in the evening and it was delicious and definitely more special than standard pub meals, some lovely and unusual flavour combinations. Breakfast was also fab and set us up nicely for a day of walking in the chilterns. Staff were all very friendly, helpful and attentive. Really couldn't fault the place so would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
18.1 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: 16 High St., Amersham HP7 0DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown in Old Amersham, situated at the end of the Metropolitan Line and 40 minutes from London, is the second in a family of modern day coaching inns recently renovated by the designer Ilse Crawford (other works include Babington House). The old timber building is situated in the centre of the historic market town, attracting locals, restaurant guests and night time travelers. The inn’s interior is made up of rural materials – from Ercol chairs made in High Wycombe to traditional plaster made from lime and horsehair. The ‘back room’ with its inglenook fire and view of the cobbled courtyard is perfect for private gatherings and feasting of up to 40, while the bar and restaurant area is the communal heartbeat of the inn. The kitchen serves seasonally inspired, locally sourced food with in-between times satisfied with home baked cheese scones and fruit cake with Cashel Blue while the main menus changes daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Amersham
The Crown Amersham
Crown Amersham
The Crown Inn Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing