We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
£138
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Phil G
Scarborough, United Kingdom

A great stay in an 14th century Inn

Review of The Crown Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Mar 2024
My room (20) was in the main building of the hotel on the ground floor overlooking the main street, unfortunately on arrival there was a problem with the electrics in the room not working, either lights or sockets.... The reception team tried to resolve this but were unable and as there was no other alternative room in the Crown I was transferred to their partner hotel 75m up the road which is the Kings Arms. The room was an upgrade and more of a suite with a free standing roll top bath with a separate shower room with plentiful hot water and good sized clean white towels which in my opinion was a major plus. the room was functional, comfortable, the window opened as it should. The bed was a large modern king sized four poster with crisp sheets and pillowcases and duvet. Tea and coffee were there too and a hairdryer which was useful. The tv was modern and a good size . The chambermaid service was good and done daily. Information for residents / tourists was adequately presented and not at all dictatorial or full of rules.
Breakfast was fantastic! I ate in the Crown with my brother who was also accompanying me on the trip but had a room in the Crown. A wide choice of fruit, cereal toast, teas, coffee. The cooked breakfasts were brilliant with a large variety to choose from which and set us up for the day. The bar prices were comparable to others locally. Outside was tidy and pleasant to look at with easy plentiful parking although finding the entrance can be challenging if approaching from out of town, a What3words' prior to arrival would have been useful (///friend.door.keen)
Overall a good value for money hotel which we will definitely use again.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Car park is hard to find, use what3words ///friend.door.keen
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Ashfield, Other at The Crown Inn, responded to this review
Responded 16 Mar 2024
Hello! Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate all your feedback! We think the what3words is a great idea for the car park! We'll look to implement that ASAP! Hopefully, we'll see you back with us soon! Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£117
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £130
  • Agoda.com
    £109
  • Hotels.com
    £130
0.1 miles from The Crown Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
£85
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £85
  • Tripadvisor
    £85
  • Lol.travel
0.4 miles from The Crown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£100
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Hotels.com
    £100
  • Tripadvisor
    £100
2.2 miles from The Crown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £120
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from The Crown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
    1.5 miles from The Crown Inn
    Free Wifi
    Expedia.com
    • Booking.com
    • Vio.com
      £122
    • Hotels.com
    0.0 miles from The Crown Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £96
    • Expedia.com
      £107
    • Agoda.com
      £76
    • Hotels.com
      £107
    2.8 miles from The Crown Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Bedroom
    Booking.com
    £135
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
      £135
    • Hotels.com
      £135
    • Priceline
      £135
    3.8 miles from The Crown Inn
    Hotels.com
    £76
    No prepayment needed
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      £76
    • ZenHotels.com
      £76
    • Agoda.com
      £76
    3.0 miles from The Crown Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £136
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      £136
    • Tripadvisor
      £136
    • Priceline
    3.9 miles from The Crown Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Amersham
    Reviews (1,409)
    Filter reviews
    1,409 results
    Traveller rating
    683
    366
    173
    111
    76
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    683
    366
    173
    111
    76
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews complimentary wine courtyard suite roll top bath sister hotel high street main building lovely hotel breakfast was delicious lovely room full english reception staff a lovely stay weekend break car park night's sleep comfy bed one night stay
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    17 - 22 of 1,409 reviews
    Reviewed 9 March 2024

    double bed when asked for twins, given single beds with king size duvets , the air con did not work
    stained carpets and no previous information as to where to park the car.
    Overall, overpriced and would not recommend

    Date of stay: March 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Tourist35370910232
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Daniella Ashfield, Other at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

    Hello - we are so sorry you were disappointed with your experience with us. We will look into this immediately. Thank you so much for your feedback. Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 March 2024

    Stayed for business trip for 2 nights. Good location and the staff are very friendly.
    Comfortable double room has everything you need and was very quiet. Perfect for a business trip and I would 100% use this hotel again for business or leisure.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank selina0706
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Daniella Ashfield, Other at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

    Hello! Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to see you back with us soon! Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 March 2024

    We stayed in the Bailey in an upgraded room, it was cold and windows did not fit the old frames, bathroom was good but cracked tiles and loose. Stains on carpets as well. The room in the main building was noisy and smelt of curry

    Date of stay: March 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank aison190257
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Daniella Ashfield, Other at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

    Hello, we appreciate your detailed feedback! We will look into this ASAP. Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 February 2024

    If you’re looking for faceless, plush luxury then maybe this isn’t the place for you, but - comfort: yes - good room and excellent bed: yes - genuine, warm, attentive service: yes. Has to be five stars.

    Date of stay: February 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank robinwedderburn
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Daniella Ashfield, Other at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

    Hello, thank you for your wonderful review! We hope to see you again soon! Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

    I was told about Four Weddings and A Funeral being filmed here everywhere we went in Amersham, they’re very proud of that.
    The Crown is a lot of ancient buildings connected by staircases. You can easily lose your sense of direction, going up, down, around. Our room was 22, at the front on the ground floor, reached by all those stairs. Inside I t’s all white plaster and black timber. The most striking thing about the room is the incredibly creaky floors.
    At breakfast we were greeted by the ebullient Katrina, she’s a force of nature and an absolute asset to her employers. Her warm nature, cheery chat and unashamed interest in her customers was a sheer delight.

    Room tip: Probably not the easiest for disabled travellers.
    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank dogmadgirl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Daniella Ashfield, Other at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

    Hello! Thank you so much for such a great review! We really appreciate it and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews