We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amersham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Amersham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We came, we saw and you conquered us with your warm welcome and superb hospitality! Helen and Nick have created a perfect setting to welcome visitors to their beautiful home - the rooms are a delight, the gardens second to none and the food gourmet standard! It is the sheer warmth and enthusiasm however, of the owners which ensures this particular establishment stands out from the rest. We shall definitely visit again and we recommend anyone else to do the same - a great place run and owned by some really great people.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Hill House on Tripadvisor. Nick and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We are extremely pleased that you found the food - Gourmet standard, the gardens second to non and the rooms delightful. We really enjoyed your company and look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
48
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were visiting our son in Amersham and stayed at Hill House. From the moment Helen greeted us at the front door, until the moment we left, the warmth, comfort and sheer attention to detail were the finest we have ever experienced, either in a bed and breakfast, or a five star hotel. We were greeted with tea, fresh homemade cake and biscuits, and immediately were made to feel like a member of the family. The room was immaculate, the bed extremely comfortable and the breakfast each morning was superb, with a huge amount of choice. Helen and Nick were the perfect hosts. We very much hope to return when we are next in Amersham.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Rands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor - reviews are always helpful, to myself and potential guests. I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast choice is indeed always much appreciated and enjoyed. The meat for our full English breakfast is sourced locally from the high quality village butcher, and the milk and eggs are delivered daily by our local farmer. Smoked salmon and scrambled egg is popular, as is the Continental - a platter of meats cheeses, fruits and a croissant or pain au Chocolate.
I look forward to welcoming you again to Hill House when you next visiting your son in Amersham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I am so lucky to have found Hill House, Helen, Nick and Lucy! Having stayed in many hotels and B&Bs, this is the nicest I've had the pleasure of. The rooms are beautifully appointed - comfort, tranquility and home from home feel. The breakfasts are delicious and great choice. Helen and Nick are genuine,warm and a thoroughly lovely couple. I hope to be able to come back again and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyM609073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased, that from your experience of staying in many hotels and B&B's on business, that you find us the "nicest"! That is a compliment indeed. We are glad that you found us too and wish to come back again and again! I am pleased that you find our home tranquil, comfortable and with a good choice for breakfast. I know that the comments you have left are sure to be helpful to potential guests. Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Helen and Nick made us very welcome on our one night stay in May to attend a family reunion in Amersham. Although we arrived very early (11.30 am) for a restaurant lunch, Helen gave us the Warmest Welcome with a pot of fresh coffee in a sunny spot in their splendid garden. We enjoyed a leisurely late afternoon in the garden with a good choice of seating to follow the setting sun. Helen was very kind to serve us a tasty cheese board as a light evening meal. Nick kindly offered us a torch for a pre-bedtime walk around the block for a breath of rural fresh air. The beds were very comfortable and it was a nice touch to have a bottle of water on the bedside table. The breakfast was promptly served at 8 am and the highlights were the freshly made fruit salad and Helen's scrummy salmon and scrambled egg. This is a genuine 5 star b & b and nothing seemed too difficult for Helen and Nick to make us feel at home. I thoroughly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a very complimentary review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed their stay at Hill House - we enjoyed having you! The garden is looking particularly colourful at the moment, so we were glad you enjoyed coffee in our sunken garden on your arrival. Followed by late afternoon tea at the top of the garden, enjoying the garden from all angles and in glorious sunshine! We are very pleased that so many aspects of your stay were to your liking - the breakfast, the comfortable bed and the surroundings. The fact you felt it was a genuine 5* B&B is very good to hear. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Last week I had the good fortune of staying for the first time at Hill House. I was visiting family but didn't want to inconvenience them too much by staying over night. I was travelling alone and find hotels and pubs can be quite intimidating. Hill House was the perfect answer. I popped in to meet Helen and arrange that I would return late. It was lovely to be greeted at 10 pm by Helen. My room was so comfortable and I felt very relaxed after a long day . I couldn't have asked for better facilities. After a great nights sleep I went to breakfast. I felt sooo spoilt! The surrounongs,food and presentation were beautiful. I had a lovely chat with another guest. This is a fairly new venture for Helen and Nick and I know they will be extremely successful Helen is a magnificent hostess and I am so looking forward to making my stays there regular events. Thank you. See you soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvmnrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderfully complimentary review.
I am so pleased you felt spoilt, comfortable and relaxed in our home. This IS exactly what I hope my guests will feel when they stay in our home.The surroundings and presentation are important and I am so pleased you found it all to your taste! I am particularly pleased that you plan to come and stay at Hill House again. You will be very welcome and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Hill House B&B which is an absolute gem in beautiful surroundings. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable, the breakfast is fantastic with a lovely choice each morning, but the real winner is the wonderful hospitality shown by Helen and Nick...it is second to none....I can't recommend this place highly enough! If you are visiting the area, this is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PirateP70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hill House B&B on Tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you found the bed comfortable, rooms immaculate and enjoyed the choice we offer for breakfast each morning.
Both Nick and I take great pleasure in welcoming our guests into our home, we are so pleased you enjoyed the surroundings. The garden is now looking glorious with the Daffodils, Tulips and now the Rhododendrons are starting to flower. You will always be welcome when you are next in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Couldn't be bettered. Everything in perfect order. But especially Helen and Nick's hospitality. This is a necessary ingredient of any holiday break and was provided in spades. We wish them every success and look forward to renewing our acquaintance with them with the greatest pleasure. Our thanks to them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewmather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hill House B&B on Tripadvisor. It is our aim to create a very special and individual experience for our guests, whatever the reason for visiting Amersham. Whether it is to see family (as you were), on business or meet friends for a celebration. Our aim to go the extra mile and in doing so making your stay an experience that couldn't be bettered. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hill House and want to come back. We look forward to a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
1.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.9 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.7 mi away
Saracen's Head Inn
Saracen's Head Inn
#3 of 10 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10 Hollow Way Lane | Chesham Bois, Amersham HP6 6DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Hill House Amersham is for business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome! Hill House is a modern detached home situated on the outskirts of Chesham Bois village, which is close to Historic Old Amersham and in the heart of The Chilterns, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Our home is comfortably furnished and our mature garden is lovingly maintained. We have twom double bedrooms, one with en suite and the other has private facilities. Our bedrooms have crisp white bed linen and fluffy white towels, 19" flat screen TV. Tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and free WiFi. Our Breakfasts are freshly prepared Full English, Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Egg or Continental. Fresh home baked bread and homemade marmalade are just a sample of what we offer. Guests who arrive at tea-time are offered tea or coffee and a slice of homemade cake or flapjack. There is a lounge with TV, books and games for our guests relaxation. With our knowledge of the local area we can recommend, highly rated restaurants, places of interest and book a taxi to and from Heathrow and Luton Airports. We have ample parking space and secure storage for bicycles. Amersham Station is in walking distance, where the fast Chiltern line and Metropolitan line trains run a regular service into London. At Hill House our aim is to give you a very comfortable and relaxing stay, one that you will remember fondly and will want to tell your family and friends about. Rate per room per night: Double occupancy £110-100 Single occupancy £90-85. Dogs are not welcome. Sorry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hill House Bed And Breakfast Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing