We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many Thanks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amersham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Amersham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Many Thanks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here on business for 3 nights. The accommodation was superb and the owners were very friendly and hospitable. The location is ideal for quick and easy access to the Chilterns and Heathrow Airport. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure having you to stay and I am glad you found us convenient for The Chlterns and Heathrow Airport which is about 30 minutes on a good journey around the M25.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
48
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have enjoyed a wonderful night's stay at Hill House. Helen and Nick were very welcoming and the perfect hosts. The room was lovely and breakfast was excellent - comparable with a top restaurant! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emtaylor25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for your kind and complimentary comments about the welcome you received and the breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family to stay with us at Hill House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My second stay at Hill House in 3 weeks, for 2 nights having stayed just one night previously. The first time I nearly missed the last train back from London and got back very late, and I thought I might have 'burnt' my welcome. But no, a warm welcome awaited me a few hours later at Breakfast. This second time I had quite a few more hours at Hill House, which really is like a 'home from home.' Helen and Nick are so kind and helpful, the room is warm, spotlessly clean and quiet. This is hard to beat! I gave up on staying in London, and whilst the walk is about a mile the Hill Top House is well worth that walk - which I have now completed in wind, rain and ice!

Room Tip: All Rooms here are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlastairP751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, as I know from experience the reviews are always helpful to potential guests. As you mention, you were unfortunate with the weather walking back from the station. However there is always a very good supply of Taxis just waiting for travelers returning from London on the Metropolitan Underground and the Chiltern train. At a cost of £5 no one needs to walk if they don't want to. I am glad you found Hill House warm, spotlessly clean and quiet. Now that you have given up staying in London we look forward to welcoming you back to Hill House at some point in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

What a great place to stop, Helen made me feel very much at home and cooked a breakfast that the likes l have not had in years. The house is very well situated very clean and very, very comfortable. I will stop there again
George Auger

Room Tip: Book early as very busy but the best places are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pipski2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Hill House on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast choice of Full English. The quality meat - smoked back bacon, sausages and black pudding are bought from our high class, quality village butcher where his meat is sourced locally. The bread is freshly baked and our marmalade is homemade. You are right to mention about booking early, so as not to be disappointed. As I only have two double rooms we do fill up very easily. I look forward to welcoming you back when ever you are here on business (or pleasure).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobermory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

As all the reviewers have given Hill House glowing reports we expected the "Best" and sure enough we definitely enjoyed 5 Star Bed and Breakfast accommodation. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left Helen and Nick looked after us splendidly. Their beautiful house in a secluded Lane in Chesham Bois is just so relaxing and yet so convenient for travel to London etc. Breakfast in the Conservatory was always a delight with a different fruit conserve every day.On the day we travelled to London Helen kindly ran us to Amersham Station as the weather was not of the best. All in all we very much enjoyed our 4 days at Hill House. We will be back!!.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnW068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to know that you found your experience at Hill House to be nothing less than a 5 star experience. Our aim is to make your visit special and memorable. When you mentioned that our home is beautiful and in a secluded Lane in Chesham Bois which is relaxing and yet so convenient for travel to London. That is exactly what is so great about Hill House and our location.
I am sure your review will be helpful to others looking for this kind of accommodation We look forward to your return visit all the way from Tobermoray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

From the cheerful hello to the fond farewell I was made to feel welcome in Helen and Nick's lovely home. Tasteful decorating touches, tidy and clean throughout, delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts and arranging for every need their guests may require clearly show their dedication to detail in providing a 5 star experience. A comfortable bed in a spacious bedroom, breakfast in the bright conservatory looking out at their beautiful garden, help with finding my way around the area and using the railways, and Helen and Nick's natural friendliness all helped to make my first visit to England better than I could ever have imagined. The Hill House Bed and Breakfast definitely deserves the number 1 rating for their area and would rank very high on any B&B list in my opinion. Thank you, Helen and Nick. I will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review about Hill House on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to read that you found your stay with us to be "a 5* experience" and we are truly pleased that your first visit to the UK and Chesham Bois was far better than you could have ever imagined. We knew what a special visit it was for you and we are pleased you felt welcome and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for a week in August, whilst I travelled into London for a course (60 minutes direct train to the Barbican). Lovely walk to the station, after first class breakfasts! Everything arranged for ease and comfort - well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G, Owner at Hill House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review Hill House on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased that you found your stay relaxing, comfortable and the walk to Amersham station enjoyable. Amersham served by both the Chiltern Line (overground) and the Metropolitan Underground line. Which gives a very regular and fast service into london. We hope to see you again at Hill House - you and your wife would always be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
1.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.9 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10 Hollow Way Lane | Chesham Bois, Amersham HP6 6DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Hill House Amersham is for business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome! Hill House is a modern detached home situated on the outskirts of Chesham Bois village, which is close to Historic Old Amersham and in the heart of The Chilterns, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Our home is comfortably furnished and our mature garden is lovingly maintained. We have twom double bedrooms, one with en suite and the other has private facilities. Our bedrooms have crisp white bed linen and fluffy white towels, 19" flat screen TV. Tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and free WiFi. Our Breakfasts are freshly prepared Full English, Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Egg or Continental. Fresh home baked bread and homemade marmalade are just a sample of what we offer. Guests who arrive at tea-time are offered tea or coffee and a slice of homemade cake or flapjack. There is a lounge with TV, books and games for our guests relaxation. With our knowledge of the local area we can recommend, highly rated restaurants, places of interest and book a taxi to and from Heathrow and Luton Airports. We have ample parking space and secure storage for bicycles. Amersham Station is in walking distance, where the fast Chiltern line and Metropolitan line trains run a regular service into London. At Hill House our aim is to give you a very comfortable and relaxing stay, one that you will remember fondly and will want to tell your family and friends about. Rate per room per night: Double occupancy £110-100 Single occupancy £90-85. Dogs are not welcome. Sorry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hill House Bed And Breakfast Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing