We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st place goes to.......”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amersham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge at Manor Barn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Amersham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1st place goes to.......”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Lodge is very comfortable, clean and quiet accomodation just outside the village of Amersham. Wifi, digital tv and underfloor heating make this an ideal stop over. Central London is around 45mins to 1 hour away on train from the station which is a 5 min drive away from the Lodge. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk-gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
28
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Never stayed in such an exquisitely setup lodge quite like this. Privately separate from the main house, we came and went through the weekend as we pleased... to ramble on long Chiltern walks and in the homey local pubs where you just wear your socks! Most of the time enjoyed being ensconced in the warmth and comfort of our little cottage, on the great bed and with wireless internet to catch-up on last weeks shows. I'd love to do up our bathroom and shower like this, very special and class. Our taxi from the station was only £3.50 (we walked on the way home!), and the welcoming Whipp family were delightful hosts! Thank you, we'll be back! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This semi-detached en suite room is excellent in every way; spotless, with super clean Egyptian towels, excellent shower (the bathroom has under floor heating), tea/coffee, wireless Internet, and a very comfortable bed. Everything was special and thoughtfully done. Dianna and Colin are delightful, welcoming and super friendly. They have a beautiful house: a modern converted barn that the Whipp’s have decorated beautifully. We only stayed one night but we would have loved to move in and stay there forever! We really felt we were at home. In terms of logistics, it’s so easy and cheap to get to central London – you can use an oyster card and it only takes less than an hour to get to Baker Street. A very short walk to the station and there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. There is a very relaxed feeling about The Lodge at The Manor. We highly recommend this place and we can reassure you that you wouldn’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nezi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in the area, as we’d heard there were great country walks and pub lunches to be had in the vicinity of Amersham. That was all true – and in the process we found one of the most charming and welcoming B&Bs we’ve been to for some time. A short walk from the station – which can be reached from London by tube or train – was Manor Barn, a beautiful, historic residence renovated to a dramatic and comfortable home. The room itself was in a new, private guest house; impeccably clean, quiet, stylish, and equipped with a luxurious en-suite bathroom, it was exactly what we needed. Hosts Diana and Colin were as lovely as they were helpful, and we greatly enjoyed our conversations with them. A delightful stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The room and service was just what we needed - clean, stylish, quiet, sumptuous shower and generous continental breakfast, that we could make at our leisure. A short walk to the station and town, helpful for us to establish whether our commutes would still work, as we search for a house to buy in the area. Diana is particularly lovely and helpful, but also knew when to leave us to our own devices, which we appreciated. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Delightful experience in a beautiful and fully equipped, new, private semi-detached guest house with modern en suite bath. The room was immaculate and so very comfortable. I am not a fan of ruffles, so I appreciated the more contemporary style. The one-story lay out met our handicapped issues as well.
Host Diana and Colin graciously and warmly did a last minute rescue for us when we messed up our original reservations elsewhere. Their listed residence was once an historic barn now modernized and renovated to a dramatic home in a beautiful wooded suburb with access to train/tube to London.
We enjoyed our conversations with them and felt we had known them for ages. We wish them much success in their new venture.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very comfortable B&B near London (Oyster card catchment) - private and secluded - quiet and easy to find. Friendly hosts and perfect for business trips to London or visits to this area - great walking countryside and lovely shops in the towns.

Room Tip: All on one level so ideal if you are not good at stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianaWhipp88, Owner at The Lodge at Manor Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2017
We apologise or the lateness in reply. We are so glad you had such a lovely stay and please do think to come and stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
2.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
764 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
755 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
327 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
1.4 mi away
Saracen's Head Inn
Saracen's Head Inn
#3 of 10 in Amersham
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Manor Barn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Manor Barn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lodge at Manor Barn Bed and Breakfast
Address: Manor Lodge North Road | Chesham Bois, Amersham HP6 5NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Manor Barn in Amersham provides high-quality and flexible B&B accommodation surrounded by tranquil woodland. The Lodge is set toward the back of a beautifully renovated 17th Century Barn house where Diana and Colin, the B&B owners, live. Located in the heart of the charming village of Chesham Bois, the Lodge is a stone's throw away from Amersham, where tube and train links ferry commuters to London every 15-20 minutes, and Old Amersham, a historic 16th century Coaching-inn town. In addition to a warm and welcoming stay at the Lodge, the surrounding area offers a great deal, including walks through the Chess Valley, a visit to some of the pretty villages nearby, to a day out in London. The Lodge is also suitable for people with disability and mobility issues as the room is situated all on one level and there are no steps. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Manor Barn Bed And Breakfast Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing