We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return from theatre”
Review of Tom Yum

Tom Yum
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Thai restaurant serving authentic cooked-to-order dishes. The restaurant is busy and booking is recommended. If you like street-food this is the place for you. . . OPEN - CHRISTMAS EVE 2018 CLOSED - CHRISTMAS DAY TIL 7 JAN OPEN - TUESDAY 8 JAN 2019
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

Having checked several restaurants in London all of which were both over booked and expensive we returned to Amersham and were warmly invited to Tom Yum, at short notice. The starters and mains were both hot, fresh and very tasty. The meal cost was about 1/3 less than London, which made me happy. We will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank jhill74893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Visited here for lunch due to the reviews. The food was ok, the starters were better than the mains. We found the chicken rubbery/chewy and didn't finish our meals. It's obviously a well known place given the amount of customers however we didn't enjoy the food. The ambience and service was great.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank rs487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

This is the real thing, the Tom Yum soup with prawns (after which the restaurant is named?) was eye-wateringly good! Go for the coconut soup if you can't stand the heat, but I really enjoyed mine, also the Penang curry with duck I had for my main. The restaurant has a cozy atmosphere and the staff are helpful and friendly. Very good value all round, though I was a bit disappointed they didn't have the fresh spring rolls. An excuse to go back? I would, gladly.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank tabichops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

We shared two starters and then a mains each which was exactly right for a substantial satisfying lunch. The service was good.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank JKHSt_Lucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We called in here as we were passing on Saturday lunchtime. We ended up having some very tasty dishes. Fresh, well-spiced authentic food at a very reasonable price served by attentive staff. We would definitely return.

Date of visit: October 2018
3  Thank MilesGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tom Yum also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
Chesham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Tom Yum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing