We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed here for one night with my wife. We were in one of the redeveloped stable blocks in a section that is 500 years old and it has been done very nicely. You get a small reception area on the ground floor with the bathroom and a desk with tea and coffee facilities and then upstairs in the bed with all mod cons you would expect. Its a fantastic room with original beams and tons of character. The 2 receptionists we encountered were perfectly nice and the breakfast staff were great. Cooked breakfast was lovely with a good selection for the general buffet. My only complaint would be that the bed was incredibly soft, which for us was uncomfortable but this is an idividual preference and you can't please everyone all the time!!

Room Tip: if it bothers you, ask if any of the rooms have harder mattresses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdailey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our room was a bit on the small side but clean, comfortable & modern. Friendly staff. Good choice at breakfast. Plenty of parking & very central location. Would reccomend.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigger-2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely hotel in the centre of Old Amersham. Staff welcoming and mostly friendly. Quality of food good. Stayed there with a group of 25 and they had some difficulty in coping with us in the restraunt. On the first night the evening meal took 3 hours, not too much of a problem as we were happy chatting.
Good parking. We stayed in the new wing and the room was small but fine with a bath tub and a shower. Thought the hotel was good value and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Visited the Kings Arms en route to London. A delightful "olde English" establishment on the main street of Old Amersham. We were dismayed at first to find no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and went out to a local coffee shop as a result. Most unusual for any place to fail to offer such a thing nowadays. However, on our return, I noticed a large drawer beneath the bedroom desk which displayed a small teapot symbol and, presto! there was the tea and coffee inside!
Dined in the bar in the evening,rather than the restaurant, and this had a different menu to the latter and ordered fresh Cornish mackerel which was delicious. The bar was busy but not over crowded and the local ales were first class (some straight out of the keg).
Most bedrooms are out in the rear of the building in a separate rebuilt stable block - all tastefully done - and there is excellent off-street parking.The Kings Arms is seemingly one of many eponymous hotels run under the auspices of the Zola Group.
Would we return? Yes!

Room Tip: I understand rooms in the rear quarter of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Lovely romantic hotel in a beautiful town completely let down by customer care, staff attitudes and lack of consideration for it's guests.Attitude of staff poor and furthermore no response from complaint made by e-mail.What a shame for such a beautiful old building.Poor quality of breakfasts and dirty cups shoved in drawer.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Lovely romantIc hotel for our stay in march 2012. Shame there was no bottled water in the room. Staff were not overly welcoming in. But would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here for a night last weekend when visiting friends. Our room was in the newer part at the back where the car park was. We didn't really mind this as the room and bathroom was a good size and looked very new. We were pleased to find we'd got a bath plus a separate shower cubicle with plenty of toiletries. The bed was comfy, though we both found the pillows too hard for us, we realised as we were packing to go that there was an extra, softer pillow in the wardrobe too. It was quiet at night, you could hear other people slightly but not later on. Our friends had a room in the older main hotel, there room was also nice having beams and a sloping floor, though the furniture was the same as that in our room. The breakfast was well cooked using good ingredients. I would think if the hotel was full they may struggle to accommodate everyone at once as the breakfast room is fairly small. What we liked was that at weekends breakfast is 8 - 10.30am and check out is 12 which gave us all the chance for a lie in. We were all pleased with our stay and said we'd stay again next time we were in Amersham.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
771 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
812 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
336 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
870 reviews
8.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 30 High Street, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Price Range: £108 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Amersham
The Kings Arms Hotel Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing