We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel with a couple of quibbles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel with a couple of quibbles”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel in May for a wedding which was happening close by and was very pleased with my overall stay.

Firstly, Amersham is GORGEOUS. A lovely quaint village and 45mins (ish) from London. The hotel is equally aesthetically pleasing with a real traditional 'olde England' feel throughout. The service by the man on reception was brilliant and we were allowed early check-in at no extra cost.

Our room (201) was a twin disabled room and out in one of the barns out of the back of the main building. The room itself was rather basic and had a bit of a 'Premier Inn' feel to it, but nonetheless was comfortable and had everything you'd need in terms of TV, ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities etc. Please note there was no fridge or mini-bar service.

My friend was staying in Suite 2 and her room was much, much better and completely different to mine. I'm sure she paid a difference in price but if you can afford to splash the extra cash I would very much recommend staying in a suite (although be warned the bathroom and bedroom is 'open plan' so not ideal if you're staying with friends).

We ordered food from the bistro and it was of a good standard although the two times we ordered there was an error by staff made both times. They deducted the mistakes from the bill so rectified the situation quickly.

We had a private breakfast the following morning which was a full English which everyone seemed to enjoy.

I'd definitely recommend staying here. A couple of minor gripes but nothing major.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can afford one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hall284002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your very fair review. You are right, the new rooms are more modern and quite a different experience from the historic rooms. I note the comments on the food service - we will keep improving. I hope you will return and try the historic rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    133
    55
    25
    14
See reviews for
112
192
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the Kings Arms Hotel as a stopover on the way to and from a trip to France. The hotel is a beautiful building situated ideally on the main street of Old Amersham. If you want 'oldie worldie' charm with a modern twist it is ideal.

The welcome and reception was very good and the restaurant and food is excellent. Breakfast was exceptional, both the early morning continental and the large well prepared full English. The bar is nice and the quality of the beer is excellent.

The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated and a fair size considering it was situated in the old part of the hotel. Some of the furniture looked a bit too modern for the room and the kettle and tea making tray was placed in a drawer that was impossible to access unless you re-arranged the furniture slightly.

More problematical was the fact that the room was situated right over the public bar and this meant that it was extremely noisy late into the night. Our first night was a Friday night so the bar was open late and very noisy. Our second night was a Tuesday night and the bar shut at 11 so was a bit quieter. The radiator in the room was extremely noisy all night and sounded like a small jet engine! Needless to say we didn't bother turning it on after the first night.

The most concerning thing about the room was the bathroom. The plug in the shower needed unblocking so when showering you were standing ankle deep in water. There was no shelf in the shower to place bottles of shampoo or shower gel or soap so had to put them on the floor and there was no handrail when getting out. This meant that you instinctively reached out for the towel rail which if switched on was very hot! The most dangerous thing about the bathroom was the step in the middle, meaning that when you stepped out of the shower or away from the toilet it was very easy to stumble down this step into the sink. Not such a problem for me but was for my father who is not as steady on his feet as he was.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and the hotel is lovely and in excellent surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 which I would avoid next time. Rooms 6 -10 are in the old part over the bar area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewanarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. The bar noise is a difficult issue as being such an old building, sound travels very easily. There is some insulation in the floor/ceiling, but we cannot change the fabric of the building due to its listing.

I have noted the maintenance issues.

I am glad overall you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I hosted a conference for 35 people at the Kings Arms. My delegates came from 18 countries and the Kings Arms is only 25 minutes from Heathrow and a 35 minute drive from London. The delegates loved the traditional English feel of this coaching inn which is under new management. Great traditional pub in the hotel and comfortable rooms. Beautiful setting and the staff were very helpful. The conference facility in an old chapel is unique and so much nicer than the usual bland offering in London. Great food as well. Most importantly half the price of London. We will use it again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbobbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review - we enjoyed hosting your conference and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have now had dinner at the Kings Arms 3 times, 1 Sunday roast and 2 a la carte. The food has been consistently fantastic, full of flavour and always looks stunning. Service is spot on and the staff are very helpful with recommending wines to go with your courses. A must visit for anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words - we will keep working to impress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here on a house hunting foray. Amersham old town is very picturesque and has some great old pubs.
The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly; our room was good, we had one of the newer rooms in the extension; and the breakfast was tip top. Would be happy to book in here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkusPalarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I hope the house hunting was a success and that we will see you as a local visitor soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Attended a relative's birthday celebration and stayed the night afterwards. Great venue for an event with excellent and friendly staff. The food served was very very good - both party nibbles and breakfasts the next morning. Lovely atmosphere and beautiful rooms

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tobytoller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We visited the Kings Arms for dinner a couple of weeks ago and had the loveliest time. The service was faultless, food was delicate and delightful (Baked Alaska is a must try!!) and the atmosphere was good - the restaurant seemed to be full but it wasn't noisy and it generally had a relaxed vibe.

All in all a lovely evening, I wish I lived closer and could return more frequently!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank floramilsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
I am glad you enjoyed - do come again and stay, often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
18.1 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 30 High Street, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Amersham
The Kings Arms Hotel Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing