We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family option for one night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good family option for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed in the duplex. Great to find an option to accommodate having our 2 young children with us that allows us to be in one property but with two separate bedrooms at a price much better than a hotel suite. Kids loved the spiral staircases and the rooms certainly had beams aplenty. It was hot though even with the windows open and some noise from everyone drinking outside but we managed to get to sleep anyway.
Lovely welcome basket, Buffet breakfast was fine. Nice linens and towels.
Great option for one night just passing through and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tea_and_Crumpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the review. it is good to hear our 'family suite' is working well for people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    128
    54
    25
    14
See reviews for
103
184
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed on a very hot Saturday night. Our room was nice - typical "up market" in modernised old pub - but even with windows open - and small ineffective fan it was unbearably hot.The Reception staff were good , the beer was good -and all staff were friendly and apparently eager to please.
However, at breakfast I ordered two poached eggs- and specified that they should be "on the hard side" with certainly no runny white part. After 20 minutes waiting I asked if I had been forgotten. The waiter said they were on the way. They arrived a further 10 minutes later. One was very runny -yellow and white -and the other lacked a yoke completely !Inedible.Communication problems,I assume !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARTYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Martyn thank you for taking the time to write a review. Clearly we still have a bit of work to do on consistency. I appreciate the honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at the Kings Arms Hotel again this week and as usual I cannot fault it. The staff are always helpful and I have stayed in several of the rooms after the past year, they all feel luxurious that I would describe as a haven after a long day. I have to mention the breakfast as it in my opinion one of the best breakfasts I have EVER had. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayleyob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are working hard on getting the breakfast right - it has been an issue in the past!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely location. The building and rooms are full of character, with traditional features but modern amenities. The bar and restaurant are classy and relaxing, and the food and service are of high quality. Special thanks to the staff who were all extremely friendly, helpful and professional. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We appreciate your feedback - do come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at the Kings Arms Hotel this weekend and cannot fault it. The reception staff were helpful and showed me to my room. The room itself (no 12) was a luxurious suite with beautiful black beams, four poster bed, TV etc. (old and modern combined) - I felt very spoiled. Breakfast was also of a high standard with a large selection on offer and attentive waiting staff. Amersham is a lovely town and this hotel compliments the traditional high street. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for two nights to attend a wedding. Cannot fault the wedding and the service received. However, we stayed in room 6 which is over the archway of the drive and above the bar for the hotel. At 12.30am I had to telephone the bar, twice, to ask the bar users to be quietened as the noise was horrendous. Our bedroom window opened on to the street below too and the noise from service vehicles coming to the hotel at 6.30am on our first morning was also an unwelcome annoyance. Our bedroom door was also adajecent to the locked access door to the hotel rooms which slammed continually by other guests at all hours and vibrated throughout our room. The breakfast was ok. Not much choice.
Cannot fault the wedding element but the room was expensive for what we had- lights did not work in the bathroom, the room was dim, the bed was titled. The location is excellent and there is plenty of parking. I would recommend that you opt for a new room set out the back in the barn-style accommodation and not be charmed by the older rooms.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms 6, 7 or 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatlovesElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the wedding. It is difficult to balance the noise aspect as the wedding party requested the later bar and generally occupied most of the rooms. I take on board your comment about the corridor security door and will have that looked at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We'd booked this hotel through Hotels.com and the day before we were due to check in we got a call letting us know that an "important corporate client" wished to extend their stay and therefore we would not have a room. At least hotels.com was able to assist us with finding an alternative. I won't bother again. Clearly I'm not "important" to them.

Room Tip: It helps to work for an important corporate client.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I am embarrassed by this review. We have clearly mis-handled a tight booking situation and added insult to injury. Please accept my apologies. If you would be kind enough to contact me at gm@kings-arms-hotel.com I would be grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
18.0 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 30 High Street, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Amersham
The Kings Arms Hotel Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing