We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accomodation but not impressed with the noise and the way the feedback was dealt with.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodation but not impressed with the noise and the way the feedback was dealt with.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the KIngs Arms as we were visting family who live locally. The room had been booked by my sister in Australia as a treat for us. Room 301 was lovely however it was situated next to the outside seating / drinking area. Being a lovely summers evening, understandably people were sat outside drinking until very late and it was very noisy. On checking out in the morning there was a further issue regarding payment for the room which had not been correctly processed by the hotel causing embarrasment. Both points were fed back by email, as requested by the recepionist-we had to chase a response four days later. The Manager effectively dismissed our claim regarding the noise, not what you would expect for a £160 per night BB.

Room Tip: Avoid room 301 situated outside seating/drinking area - noisy if you want a romantic overnight stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. As you mention we have corresponded regarding the comments made and I have offered a repeat stay at a standard rate, with upgrade. I am not dismissing the comments, but wherever possible we invite people to give us a chance to put things right, rather than discount. My offer is still valid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    134
    56
    25
    14
See reviews for
114
194
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had lunch out on the terrace at the back of this hotel. Great for just relaxing in the sunshine, great food, beer and service in very comfy armchairs. Looked like a pretty extensive wine list although we did not try any.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarlath o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for teh review - so glad you liked the terrace. Now all we need is a 9 month summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snodland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked on lastminute for a business trip. As the hotel was full the receptionist upgraded us to the rental house next door. Apart from the shower the accommodation was superb. The staff were very helpful until breakfast.
My partner and I went to get cereals she put down the milk jug and I turned to get it and it was gone. I asked the waitress for milk (something fairly important on a breakfast menu) and was told it was no good and they had to go to Tesco to get more!!! I asked for two poached eggs thinking I will give the cereal a miss. She arrived with coffee, again no milk! In this day and age a drinkable cup of coffee, albeit black, is not too much to ask for. This was one of the worst coffees I have ever tasted. Why don't you try someone like "Rave" for a good value decent coffee. After 20 minutes I asked again for my poached eggs and after 25-30 minutes gave up and left for my long drive after only a glass of cranberry juice. People need prompt service during the week breakfast is not the leisurely activity it is during the weekend.

Would I stay here again, yes I would, would I try breakfast again, I doubt it. Could have been on the road 30 minutes earlier and missed some traffic. A lovely hotel let down by the chaos that is called the kitchen.

Room Tip: Get upgraded to the "house" its great. Stayed a few times and never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback which is so frustrating to read. We had a series of reviews indicating breakfast was an issue, so we have bought new equipment, revamped the buffet and put experienced staff on, which fixed the problem until this review.
You are absolutely right, midweek corporate guests need a swift breakfast option - hence the new toaster on the buffet, new chafing dishes. I am very sorry that you had this experience.
We will review and keep our focus on improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Many thanks to Peter and his team for making Sophie and Sam's wedding in June so memorable. The setting and location are beautiful and the Chapel itself is stunning. The food from canapes in the walled garden to dessert was excellent. We received nothing but rave reviews from our family and friends for the whole day.

Steve & Lisa Whitton

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
It was a real pleasure hosting such an important family occasion. Your daughter looked stunning - Sophie and Sam make a very dashing couple and we wish them every happiness together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed in the duplex. Great to find an option to accommodate having our 2 young children with us that allows us to be in one property but with two separate bedrooms at a price much better than a hotel suite. Kids loved the spiral staircases and the rooms certainly had beams aplenty. It was hot though even with the windows open and some noise from everyone drinking outside but we managed to get to sleep anyway.
Lovely welcome basket, Buffet breakfast was fine. Nice linens and towels.
Great option for one night just passing through and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tea_and_Crumpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the review. it is good to hear our 'family suite' is working well for people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed on a very hot Saturday night. Our room was nice - typical "up market" in modernised old pub - but even with windows open - and small ineffective fan it was unbearably hot.The Reception staff were good , the beer was good -and all staff were friendly and apparently eager to please.
However, at breakfast I ordered two poached eggs- and specified that they should be "on the hard side" with certainly no runny white part. After 20 minutes waiting I asked if I had been forgotten. The waiter said they were on the way. They arrived a further 10 minutes later. One was very runny -yellow and white -and the other lacked a yoke completely !Inedible.Communication problems,I assume !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARTYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Martyn thank you for taking the time to write a review. Clearly we still have a bit of work to do on consistency. I appreciate the honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at the Kings Arms Hotel again this week and as usual I cannot fault it. The staff are always helpful and I have stayed in several of the rooms after the past year, they all feel luxurious that I would describe as a haven after a long day. I have to mention the breakfast as it in my opinion one of the best breakfasts I have EVER had. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayleyob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are working hard on getting the breakfast right - it has been an issue in the past!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
740 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
363 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
312 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
668 reviews
18.1 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 30 High Street, Amersham HP7 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Amersham
The Kings Arms Hotel Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing