We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£102
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Safari10037698411

Wednesday lunch with my sister.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Feb 2024
Had lunch today under the Travelzoo deal . Karina looked after us and could not have done more than she did. She was very friendly and bent over backwards to give us a good experience. The food was really delicious , piping hot and all freshly made. Nothing synthetic or processed and beautifully presented. We did have a long wait in between courses ( hence the 4 stars) and Karina kept apologising but we weren’t in a hurry and the food was worth waiting for.
I will definitely return one day.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Ashfield, Marketing at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Hello! Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're sorry for the delay between courses! We hope to see you again soon. Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
1.1 miles from The Kings Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2.1 miles from The Kings Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.1 miles from The Kings Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.3 miles from The Kings Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.1 miles from The Kings Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.5 miles from The Kings Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
0.7 miles from The Kings Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Amersham
Reviews (1,149)
Filter reviews
1,149 results
Traveller rating
633
297
120
55
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
633
297
120
55
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kings arms wedding venue high street lovely hotel wedding reception wedding guests breakfast was delicious the pub pleasant stay full english comfortable room following morning plenty of parking afternoon tea chapel beams function
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,149 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2024

When we arrived at the hotel the car park was already full as there was a wedding taking place.
My husband stayed in the car and I went to check in and was asked for payment for the room. I went back out to the car to grab our bags and jokingly told my husband that I had just had to pay for my own birthday present and he looked shocked and showed me the receipt for the pre payment !
We both went back in and queried it with the receptionist who apologised and said he would issue a credit (as I write this payment has come out but no refund has been received)
We then went up to our room and OMG...... This is classed as a 4 star hotel.
The carpet had a big burn mark and didn't fit along one wall, there was loads of dust under the bed. The furniture was tatty, one of the lights was just hanging by it's wires, there were loads of cobwebs hanging from the ceiling.
In the bathroom the bath had loads of chips in it, the floor tiles were cracked and loose and the mirror looked awful.
Room 4 is directly over the reception and you can hear every word.
The guests in the room opposite were with the wedding party and once the wedding finished decided to continue a party in their own room with very loud music playing and singing at the top of their voices, at 1.30 I had to call the night manager and complain and in fairness he dealt with it swiftly.
This has to be the worst room we have ever stayed in !
When we queried the room with reception they told us they were fully booked with no alternative rooms available.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Ashfield, Marketing at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2024

Hello, thank you for your detailed feedback. We are so sorry you were not pleased with your visit on your birthday. Our records show that a refund was issued on the 24th of Feb (although usually it does take a few days to process) - if this is not the case please email fom@oldamershamhotels.com and we can assist you immediately! Thank you for your feedback regarding Room 4. Our maintenance team will be looking into the issues you have raised. I'm glad our Night Manager dealt with the disruption during the night quickly! If you would like to give us some more information regarding your stay please email om@oldamershamhotels.com. Thank you so much again. Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

A really delicious meal with the family. We were looked after brilliantly by our lovely waitress Karina who not only did a great job serving us but made us feel very welcome and made us laugh - she definitely made the experience one to remember.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ms. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Ashfield, Marketing at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Hello! Thank you so much for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again! Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

Fantastic relaxed Saturday lunch. Karina was absolutely fantastic and the best service I’ve had for a very long time. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble everything was done with a smile and kind comment. Highly recommend. Food was nice and fresh

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 196nikkiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Ashfield, Marketing at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Hello! Thank you so much for your lovely review! Hopefully we will see you again soon! Daniella and the Kings Arms Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2024

A superb 3 course lunch that left us extremely satisfied and full. Pork belly was particularly enjoyable. Our waitress Karina was so friendly and accommodating. She has such a positive energy that left all diners with a smile. Will be returning soon!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Borgy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Ashfield, Marketing at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Thank you so much for your lovely review! Hopefully we'll see you soon! Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2024

We had an excellent stay in this hotel. The room was great, the public areas clean and tidy and the staff on the reception desk, in the bar and at breakfast were friendly and helpful. I was also able to charge my car conveniently.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Ashfield, Marketing at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Hello! Thank you for such a wonderful review! We really appreciate it. Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews