We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great English Inn”
Review of Saracen's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saracen's Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Amersham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great English Inn”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Two night stay, the staff were all really great and made the stay. Great breakfast and good pub food served in the evening. True english inn style room facing onto court yard, clean and functional. Would use again. Landlord should be proud

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    45
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
29
52
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here two nights and had a lovely, clean, spacious room overlooking the courtyard and garden. Only problem might be people sitting in the courtyard at night right outside your window with some noise. But when I did notify the staff, the problem was quickly handled.
Food very good, exceptional friendliness and an ideal location for exploring the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We were very disappointed at the place. We got a room on ground floor facing the street. We could hear every person walk bye. The room was dirty and the breakfast cold. I would choose some other place to stay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vestfolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The saracens was lovely. Very friendly and helpful staff. We felt wrlcome and relaxed. Sunday lunch was very good. A lively place to stay. I will be more than happy to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Old Amersham is a beautiful and historic corner of rural England.The Saracens Head is a well preserved 15th Century Inn with real character.A busy and friendly bar offers a good collection of ales all served with a cheerful smile and great welcome. Our room was clean and very comfortable.The breakfast was outstanding with the tastiest bacon and sausage we have had in ages.Again the service at breakfast was super friendly and nothing was a trouble to this cheery host.Great value and spot on with everything,we would not hesitate to return.Well done guys!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BilltheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this cozy inn. In the evenings, the atmosphere at the bar is warm and
friendly with a crowd always ready for a good time. Aside from the inn’s friendly and
accommodating owner, my favorite part in staying here was the full English breakfast
prepared and served each morning. The rooms are basic but
comfortable with a lot of character. Pay extra attention and make sure that you have
the proper directions to this particular Saracen’s Head in Amersham as there are several
pubs/restaurants relatively nearby with similar names. This is a great place that will
easily feel like your home away from home while exploring Buckinghamshire.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottm
Level Contributor
213 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I had a room in the bloack at the back, which was very spacious. Only gripe was that it smelt a bit "musty" (perhaps not used for a while?). Very good breakfast and friendly landlord. Local beers very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracen's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracen's Head Inn

Property: Saracen's Head Inn
Address: 38 Whielden Street, Amersham HP7 0HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Saracen's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracen’s Head Inn is steeped in history and character and was built using timbers from old ships. The building surrounds a central courtyard which was originally a travellers coaching inn.It was built in 1530 at Number 38 Whielden Street, which was formerly known as Union Street when Amersham Hospital was known as The Workhouse.And rumour has it, two ghosts roam the building, one is alleged to be a young serving wench from the 17th Century, the other one remains a mystery… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saracen's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Amersham
Saracen's Head Inn Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing