We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!”
Review of Saracen's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saracen's Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Amersham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Myself and a few work colleagues went to The Saracens Head for Lunch to say ‘goodbye’ to one of our colleagues - there were 10 of us. We received a VERY warm welcome, the two guys out the front/behind the bar were absolutely fantastic, they were really attentive and couldn’t have done more to make our lunch any better!! Every single one of us really enjoyed our food and I am especially grateful to them for helping with my dietary requirements! (Slimming World!!) A lovely little pub, truly Excellent food and fantastic service!!! Top Marks & Gold Stars all-round!!!!!!! We will definitely be going back!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    45
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
29
52
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went here for a pre booked lunch recently with quite a large group. Very warm welcome and directed some of us to alternative nearby off road parking by friendly landlord. Food fantastic - hot and fresh. Cosy and full of character with good atmosphere. Will be going back soon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BirderRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at Saracens for one night and loved it. Cosy pub and a larger than life owner. Food was great and portions very generous. Room was clean and got blown away by a wonderful shower. Will be going back soon. John Chesney Franks

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncefranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Love this place. Traditional English pub with fantastic food, great rooms, excellent service, and a landlord who knows how to look after his customers. Strongly recommended for anyone who wants first class service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch0pperHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
261 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I took my mother and family to the Saracen's Head for lunch just before Christmas. We received a really warm welcome when we arrived; everyone was very friendly and attentive. The Saracen's Head offers really good pub grub. I had the fish pie; which was delicious, although having seen the huge platter of gammon, egg and chips I almost wish I had ordered that instead! The portion sizes are really generous and the food was very tasty.

The only minor downside is that the pub was very noisy (as a lot of pubs are) so it wasn't concussive to a quiet lunch. I hadn't been there before so I didn't know what it was like. Having said that, we really enjoyed our lunch and I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_LouBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed one night and 11 of us had a meal. The staff could not have been more helpful prior to our visit and this was the same when we arrived. Nothing was to much trouble and they were very accommodating for our daughter too. I am fussy but would recommend and we will return. James is one of the nicest, most helpful people.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMH_SOTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this delightful Inn whilst on a business trip in Buckinghamshire. Is in a great location in Amersham old town. Received a warm welcome on arrival by the landlord and staff. Stayed in one of the rooms in the courtyard which was extremely stylish and comfortable with a great power shower. Breakfast was superb. I ate in the pub on both evenings and was very impressed with the menu and quality of the food. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I will definitely be returning on future business trips. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracen's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracen's Head Inn

Property: Saracen's Head Inn
Address: 38 Whielden Street, Amersham HP7 0HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Saracen's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracen’s Head Inn is steeped in history and character and was built using timbers from old ships. The building surrounds a central courtyard which was originally a travellers coaching inn.It was built in 1530 at Number 38 Whielden Street, which was formerly known as Union Street when Amersham Hospital was known as The Workhouse.And rumour has it, two ghosts roam the building, one is alleged to be a young serving wench from the 17th Century, the other one remains a mystery… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saracen's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Amersham
Saracen's Head Inn Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing