We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saracen's Head, Amersham”
Review of Saracen's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saracen's Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Amersham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Terrific welcome from everyone here which is great. There are only 7 or 8 rooms, but they are nice, ensuite rooms in the courtyard at the back of the pub, and its quiet, even though your in the middle of Amersham's main street. Breakfasts are excellent and the hosts couldn't be nicer or more obliging. The only thing that disappointed was that we stayed in Room no 1 and the (bottom of the bed) cover was stained. Bathroom showers were hot and powerful. Despite this would definitely recommend if you need a room in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here on 2 different occasions during the same trip. Rooms were very comfortable. The shower in one of rooms was a little weak but the other room was great. Traditional pub, though the décor in the rooms does not feel old. Pub was very comfortable and food was great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 578cassc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I've stayed here a number of times and I am always impressed. The pub is relaxed and the food spot on. The rooms are very clean, really traditional and more importantly, comfortable. I stay all over the country and this little gem is one of the best. Look out for this place in your travels.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seththomas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Firstly the welcome was good and the room was small but adequate. The bed was clean and it was comfortable. Shower was clean and worked well. I would have liked shower gel, not just a little tablet of hand soap. I would have also liked some de-caf coffee with the hospitality tray along with more than just 2 of the tiny pots of milk, which are only just about enough for a single cuppa. By the time I noticed, I was ready for bed and it was too late to go into the bar to ask for these. (which meant there was no milk for a morning cup either. I also like to have some drinking water by the side of my bed and had to use a cup as there are no glasses in the room or bathroom.
The evening meal was ok but nothing special. The only thing from scratch was the side salad. Wine was nice, though. The breakfasts on two mornings were very different. (juice, cereal, cooked breakfast, toast and tea/ coffee) No choice is given about how you want your eggs cooked. On the first morning, the fried egg had a crispy edge. Second morning, two eggs, beautifully cooked with mushrooms too. Much better breakfast. White and brown toast on second day, brown only delivered on first day with no choice again. Coffee was good on both days and service was efficient and friendly. The newspapers were available. The price is probably average for the area but for the money they should be getting breakfast right every morning, giving some options and attending to a few more niceties in the room. So for that reason I don't think it's great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanSWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Popped in for a quick drink before heading off to the Indian Restaurant over the road. Fantastic welcome, good drinks, fair prices, log fire, home made pub grub menus, wish we had stayed longer! Will be back in Summer to spend time in pub garden and taste the puddings!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ladychazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Saracen's Head is an old coaching Inn in Old Amersham with loads of character.The rooms are very comfortable although some are over the bar which itself is typical of the building-log fires and very good beers.Kerry and his wife give a very warm welcome and look after you well!! The food is wholesome,well prepared and good value for money-likewise the beers and supported by a comprehensive wine list.The bar can get busy on rugby television days but never too crowded.Parking can be a problem but they have an arrangement with the local british legion just up the road so there is off street facility.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manwhohatesburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

From the moment we walked in we felt it was going to be something special and it didn't disappoint cracking landlord and the staff were warm and friendly and their service second to none.We ate there every night due the quality of the food with a good variety to choose from. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard I would highly recommend a stay.........

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
783 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Rye Court Hotel
Rye Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in High Wycombe
22 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
345 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Potters Arms
The Potters Arms
#5 of 10 in Amersham
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracen's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracen's Head Inn

Address: 38 Whielden Street, Amersham HP7 0HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Amersham
Price Range: £90 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saracen's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracen’s Head Inn is steeped in history and character and was built using timbers from old ships. The building surrounds a central courtyard which was originally a travellers coaching inn.It was built in 1530 at Number 38 Whielden Street, which was formerly known as Union Street when Amersham Hospital was known as The Workhouse.And rumour has it, two ghosts roam the building, one is alleged to be a young serving wench from the 17th Century, the other one remains a mystery… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saracen's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Amersham
Saracen's Head Inn Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing