We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected gem a stone's throw from London”
Review of YHA Jordans

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaconsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YHA Jordans
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This humble, wood-built, no-frills, youth hostel sits within a mile of ultra-posh properties with price tags that'd bring tears to a glass eye. It's also within striking distance of a direct train to London.

The sleepy, rural location is special but it's the warmth of the welcome from warden Nicola that nudges it into the five-star category as a great experience. She had our children happily foraging for firewood for a campfire which brought everyone staying there together within minutes. That pleasant atmosphere is something money simply can't buy. She also introduced us to the delights of snail racing (no creatures are harmed and all are set free!)

It's easy to see why it's a popular bolthole with Londoners looking to escape the hustle if the big smoke - one suspects it should be prescribed to stressed out denizens of the capital.

The accommodation is basic. Dormitories or family rooms. Ours had three bunks which were clean and comfortable. Children, I have observed, seem to love bunk beds. The washroom is a few strides outside the front door of your room - no real hardship in summer anyway. And crucially they are clean, odour-free and the shower works a treat. The place seems to engender the respect of those staying there.

The kitchen and common room are cosy and well-appointed. A selection of board games are available and again this helps bring people together. First time I'd played Monopoly/Guess Who in years. My daughter loved it.

The campfire experience was really special - my daughter declared it her best holiday. Not bad for a one-star property. Discovered by total chance, it's a 500-plus mile road trip for us to go there. Will we be back? I'd love to think so. Family room cost us £50 a night. YHA members would get that a bit cheaper.

Within striking distance too of Legoland...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hector M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times and it's lovely, it's what I would call a traditional hostel. It's hard to believe the hostel is only a few miles from London. I was shocked intially when I found the toilet/showers were in an outside block but it adds to the hostel charm.

The bed was very comfy and the rooms were not too hot or cold, I did sleep very well only to be woken up by an owl which was lovely to hear.

Good self catering kitchen and a lovely 'fire' in the lounge. Good pub in the local village of Seer Green.

The only think I disliked was the walk from Seer Green train station, it was about 20 mins

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Posh it's not, but a wonderful traditional Youth Hostel set in the middle of countryside. It's dormitories, but very comfy. Don't go if you want ensuite/latest mod cons! Toilets/showers are outside across the path - all very clean. Good self-catering kitchen with plenty of utensils etc. Very friendly warden. A chance to get away from it all without paying a fortune (this is a very expensive part of the country). I will go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We booked Jordans youth hostel through "escape to" for my families exclusive use over a weekend.

The accomodation was standard youth hostel dormatories, but comfortable, clean and well maintained. We were a party of mixed aged children and adults including one disabled adult, 19 in total.

The kitchen was very well stocked with crockery and cutlery, and we were able to all eat together, and play games on the table. There is a small TV in the lounge/dining room.

The youth hostel is set in woodland with a place for a fire, barbeque, and a small area of grass on which we played lots of small ball and frisbie games.

Would recommend this location for family gatherings. It is cheap, generally comfortable if basic, and yet in a very expensive area of the country.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank pfjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

A friend and I spent 2 nights at this small traditional youth hostel in Jordans near Beaconsfield in Buckinghamshire. We stayed in a clean 5 bed dorm (2 sets of bunks and a single bed in this particular room) and used the communal kitchen and lounge. The kitchen was well stocked with kitchen utensils and there were cupboards and fridge space to put our stuff. There was a TV and games in the lounge, as well as plenty of information leaflets and folders. There was giant Connect 4 next to a bonfire and BBQ area outside. I enjoyed looking at the bluebells in the woods which were part of the grounds.

The only very small negative was that there was only one shower in the female bathroom, which could have been a problem if there was a larger party who all needed to be ready at the same time. However, the bathroom was clean and the shower powerful.

This was a good budget way to stay in an upmarket countryside area near to London.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank NorthWestLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ramblinm4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaconsfield hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
4.8 mi away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
451 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Bell Country Inn Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Queen and Albert
The Queen and Albert
#1 of 2 in Wooburn
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Jordans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Jordans

Address: Welders Lane | Jordans, Beaconsfield HP9 2SN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Beaconsfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Beaconsfield
Hotel Class:1 star — YHA Jordans 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
YHA Jordans Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing