We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Venue”
Review of The Old Bengal

The Old Bengal
Ranked #14 of 61 Restaurants in Beaconsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$52
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Bengal is a grade 2 listed building formerly the Prince of Wales public house. Recently (December 2013) refurbished to give it that warm inviting feel. We pride ourselves on serving the best food at reasonable prices. Our Chefs are some of the most celebrated professionals led by Chef du Patron, Pritam Singh Rawat, who has over three decades of experience working in 5 Star hotels and restaurants in the Middle East and across the Indian Sub-continent. We aim to please and have introduced some exciting new dishes alongside our authentic traditional menu.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Nice Venue”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The restaurant is very spacious and nicely decorated. The staff are very professional and the service was excellent. The food arrived promptly and was very tasty. It was rather quiet for a Saturday evening but this time of year being holiday season not too surprising. My meal was a little bland but that was my fault for inadvertently ordering a mild dish. There was a good variety of dishes on offer so next time I'll be more careful. Would recommend this restaurant and will definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gussiegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    53
    22
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“First class railway lamb”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

First time at The Old Bengal and it was really excellent. Had the First Class Railway Lamb that was tender and delicious. Also had the Chicken Chettinand that was equally delicious and spicy. Service was excellent and would recommend it for the variety and quality of food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Visited last night with 5 friends, the first time since The Old Bengal has been refurbished and new management have taken over.

I'm pleased to report that the new reign seems to have taken it on a step further with good service and atmosphere but most importantly an interesting and fun menu.

I had a "Bollywood" Lamb shank which was very good, lots of fresh herbs/spices etc and the lamb was good. Other dishes I look forward to trying in the near future are the 'First Class Railway Lamb' and 'Kama-Sutra Chicken'. I have to try these ASAP! Some other very interesting and original looking dishes on the menu too.

Not too expensive either and a welcome addition to the Beaconsfield Indian Restaurant portfolio and I would choose over Spice Merchant each and every day of the week.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant on several occasions and every meal we have had hasn't dissapointed. A great restaurant with great food and perfect staff. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stedyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Curry evening with Deputy Leader of UKIP”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a wonderful evening with 90 guests at the Old Bengal on 21 July. The food and service was outstanding and very good value for money. Hasan and his team catered to our every need, even agreeing to the instalment of audio equipment at the last minute !

Our guest speaker was an international politician, Paul Nuttall MEP and deputy leader of UKIP, and Hasan made sure that the entire event ran smoothly. We received many positive comments from our guests about the quality of the food and service.

19 photos of the restaurant and the event can be viewed here: http://www.ukip-southbucks.com/events/

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hillyppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Bengal also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Old Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing