We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hillmotts Cotswolds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillmotts Fitness Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaconsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillmotts Fitness Retreat
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Beaconsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hillmotts Cotswolds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for 6 days bootcamp, Great location and beautiful house, the first 3 days our trainers Cat, Emma and Richard were ready to get us into shape, fantastic classes and great hikes, trainer Chris came on day 4 with all his knowledge and enthusiasm which is needed to help you through the day. I shared a room which I was a little nervous about but would highly recommend this when you go. Unfortunately the cook/housekeeper was away for first 3 days, I found the food wasn't great and the house was dirty, didn't change towels daily( I was sharing a bathroom) bin wasn't emptied either, I know this was a bootcamp but that does not mean un clean and bad food. The cook returned on my 5th day and the food greatly improved and house looked cleaner, would highly recommend you check that the cook/housekeeper is working when you go, after exercising all day good food and clean areas matter in my mind x would of liked this location to have a pool.

Room Tip: I preferred to stay upstairs x
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zonkie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    76
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
13
220
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Loved it! Wasn't totally sure what to expect but the weather was on our side and the classes were varied. Not going to lie, it was tough, but it's a case of mind over matter. Break through that barrier and you're on the road to success.
Wasn't expecting much from the food, but again, I was pleasantly surprised. Each meal was very tasty, despite being smaller than what I'd normally dish up for myself, but after the first day, I wasn't even hungry as they were filling and nutritious. Very impressed.
The house itself and the rooms were clean, which is always important.
A swimming pool would bettered my experience...but I'm already planning my next trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I just wanted to let you know that my stay at the Peak District in May was quite a wow factor.
I did not know what I was letting myself in for - but it was great - pain and endurance for sure - but very beneficial. Your staff Samantha (Sam), Luke and Kate were very helpful and caring - they gave all of us so much support when they could see things were getting hard or difficult. They gave 110% but dear Sam gave 150% up until our last good byes. Going into the unknown and doing what I done gave me the boost I was looking and hoping for. The only problem, being in the real world, everything is so tempting and it is all at hands reach, at
our lovely Fitness Boot Camp we were restricted and had our exercise regime all day and everyday we were there - no temptation.

Once again it was great and I would recommend it to anyone but I would not tell them what was in store, its best that they find out themselves, because at the end of the day, no pain - no gain - and the pain goes away, It is forgotten and the feeling is gooooood.

Kind Regards June Richardson

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JunePR222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have just come back from Hillmotts Fitness Retreat, I had the best time ever, During each exercise I thought half way through I wouldn't be able to complete it but always did, the instructors Sam and Tom new just how far to push you, they were amazing and knowledgeable. The food was good and tasty, I never felt hungry, I even took nuts and fruit but only ate them the 1st night. The accommodation was a surprise a little cottage sharing with 2 other girls, it was really lovely. The exercises were really hard but fun felt great when I completed them, made me aware of what I am capable of. I have come away aching all over, would I do it again, yes but need to practice burpees 1st really struggled with them. Had a bad knee before I went so was worried about certain exercises and wouldn't usually do, after advice from Tom and Sam realised it hurt because I wasn't doing the exercises correctly with their expert knowledge I will now be putting them in my exercise plan. Sam and Tom certainly made it a great experience for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I've just returned from my 3 days bootcamp at Hillmotts Cotswolds and it has been such an amazing experience! I was quite apprehensive before the start but it turned out to be the best decision ever! From day one, our trainers Steve and Richard have been fantastic at challenging our attitudes and pushing us to get the best out of ourselves and I can't feel prouder and happier about what I have been able to achieve! I've learnt so much about fitness and diet in these 3 days and I feel much more confident about myself and what I can do. Overall, it has been absolutely amazing and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

As someone who enjoys exercise and feeling fit, I've always fancied the idea of a fitness holiday but felt that most companies were charging way, way over the odds for the experience.

Having scoured umpteen sites over the past few years, I finally found a company offering a fitness holiday at a truly unbelievable price. So unbelievable that I had to double/triple check, as I honestly thought I'd made a mistake somewhere along the line. £169 for a 3 day fitness camp in the Cotswolds, including accommodation, all meals AND over a Bank Holiday! Surely there must be a catch?

With the old adage 'you get what you pay for' firmly in mind, I arrived at Hillmotts Cotswolds Fitness Retreat fully anticipating a watered down version of what I imagined a fitness retreat would be. After all, rival companies were charging at least double for what appeared to be the same experience. Surely corners would be cut?

However, from the minute I walked through the door, to the minute I left, my expectations were exceeded in every way. On stepping out of my car, the warm welcome I received from the trainers (Steve and Rich) was entirely genuine and personal and they gave me just the right amount of information to allow me to settle in gently without feeling overwhelmed.

My en-suite room was spacious and filled with light and I actually enjoyed sharing it with a fellow boot-camper. In fact, I would highly recommend sharing a room, as the camaraderie you develop through having mutual (often painful, but always fun) experiences definitely adds to the overall enjoyment of the weekend. (Thank you Alex.....you were a lovely room-mate.)

The classes are designed to be challenging, but always manageable, and the exercises are tiered in such a fashion that newbies and 'fitness-freaks' can simultaneously work side-by-side.

While everyone works at their own pace, there is a huge amount of support from the group as a whole and from the fantastic trainers who will encourage the fittest to squeeze out their 100th sit-up while coaxing the least fit members to do their first ever tricep dip. At the end of every session every single person feels they have given 100%.

My overall experience was completely underpinned by the encouragement, professionalism, knowledge and authenticity of the main trainers, Rich and Steve. They are like mother hens with a brood of chicks and they genuinely care for each and every person under their wing. They take the time to individually chat to you about your goals and go out of their way to ensure your experience is personal, fulfilling and challenging - but always achievable.

If you are in any doubt about signing up, I urge you to do so as it's truly life-enhancing. I haven't been able to wipe the smile from my face since!

Room Tip: I've never shared a room before and was therefore a little nervous about doing so. I'd highl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lc00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was a brilliant boot camp at Witney- the food and rooms were excellent.
However, what made the Bootcamp was firstly the trainers - Chris Manning is extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable. i learnt more in 3 days from him on nutrition/exercise than I
have in my previous 5 years of training. Secondly, the other people on the course - a really smashing group that it was a privilege to meet.
I left on Day 3 feeling the best physically and mentally that I have felt in 10 years!

I really recommend it to anyone serious about getting a 'jump start' to fitness and health.
Can't wait to go back. Michele Robertson

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to share! I have never shared a hotel room in my life before - but I did at Hillmott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaconsfield
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Beaconsfield
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillmotts Fitness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillmotts Fitness Retreat

Property: Hillmotts Fitness Retreat
Address: Oxfordshire, Beaconsfield OX29 8HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Beaconsfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Beaconsfield
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading provider of Residential Fitness Camps in Europe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillmotts Fitness Retreat Hotel Beaconsfield
Hillmotts Fitness Retreat Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing