We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor!”
Review of Chengdu

Chengdu
Ranked #21 of 52 Restaurants in Buckingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very poor!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having just been out with friends for a Sunday lunch time treat I have to say that I wish we hadn't! The company was fantastic - the food and service anything but. In the interests of being fair, the squid starter was lovely but that's pretty well it on the plus side. There wasn't really a great deal of taste to much of the food and it came out of the kitchen in dribs and drabs. Our five main courses took five minutes from first to last to arrive at the table - it's a really nice idea giving us warmed bowls and plates to eat from - but what's the point if they are going to have gone cold before the food arrives?
And frankly, for what we got, the final bill was outrageous.
I have absolutely no desire to return to this place and every reason to suggest that virtually any dining experience is going to be better than that offered in the Chengdu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    14
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful at Any Price”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Chengdu is a pretty bad restaurant. The food is highly overrated, and the service is uncaring. People eat here, I suspect, because there isn't another decent Chinese choice in the area. Food all tastes the same: lots of soggy onions and lots of pasty starch. Food store package style prawns, and boring boring chicken dishes. There's no real flavor in anything, and they cook over and over in the same dirty wok. I can taste the old grease on the food. They don't wash out the woks and put in fresh oil often enough. Nasty little spring rolls. Weak wonton broth. Beef is not tender and pork and chicken dishes were way too sweet...almost sugary and sick tasting.This is just terrible food. Avoid.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hagusNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad..”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Well we went for new years, and although the food was hot it was a rather high priced set menu for the night. I enjoyed my meal but my husband was every ill for the next 2 days, he did eat the pork ribs that I didn't so we put it down to that. The place looked clean and the service was good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Whatdoesthefoxsay02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Chinese takeaway”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The food is freshly cooked, the staff polite and helpful and every dish is very tasty. I have also eaten in on a couple of occasions and the food, service and ambiance were all good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carina S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, and average food, decor was always tasteful, but not now.”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This restaurant used to be a regular visit for us and our family with previous owners Ken. Since it has been under new management the food is of not the same quality and prices are the same. We are always happy to pay a little more for great quality food and service.

We also felt rushed throughout our meal. We have not been back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chengdu also viewed

Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing