We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Spoiled”

The Kings Head Coffee & Gin Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Description: This is a pub/bar food/resturant. Excellent vakue -- good beer and amazingly inexpesive food.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a pub/bar food/resturant. Excellent vakue -- good beer and amazingly inexpesive food.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location Spoiled”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

In principle, the King's Head could be a great pub. As one reviewer has already said, it has a great location in the centre of Buckingham. It has real ale and a good selection of lagers. There's a very friendly and helpful young guy serving with a beard behind the bar - a great barman. I've only eaten there once, and the food was o.k., if not outstanding.

However, one of the obstacles preventing this from being a great pub isn't just some of the rather undesirable clientele, but the senior landlady. She is, without doubt, one of the most ill-mannered, ignorant, individuals I have ever had the misfortune to encounter. Perhaps one of the reasons for the continued success of the place is that she appears so rarely in the evenings. She has an appearance to match her personality.

Her daughter and co-owner doesn't have much of a personality, but at least she has better manners than her mother.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
642 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Town centre pub”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Popped in for a beer this evening and we found a proper pub where people were playing darts and a good mixture of clientele. The bar was serving 3 real ales and a good selection of lagers. Found the sofas a little strange for a pub but all in all next time we are in Buckingham wouldn't hesitate going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilB505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 936 helpful votes
“Safe bet, reasonably laid back.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Not particularly smart or special but we come in once in a while and have never been let down. Not particularly suited to cosy couples, rather a group of family or mates. Knockabout and slightly predictable menus with occasional upbeat surprises. It's a fairly good pub so you can look at it as a food with booze event rather than an in your face over anxious gastro pub experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacM874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,246 reviews
528 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Town Pub”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a town pub, they offer a good value breakfast and often have offers on. Not a place to go for a special meal. Food is good but in the middle of town and it gets busy with local drinkers and Sports Supporters

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“er ... strange”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

first time to Buckingham for a wonderful meal at Prezzo but astounded that this quaint village had no good pub. The building itself was lovely opposite a castle looking museum, so we thought we would go in for a drink before our meal. We were the only ones in there at 7pm on a Saturday night, the place had the aroma of wet dog and it was soo shabby - the chap behind the bar was very pleasant but it was just horrible. The place could be so lovely and from the outside it is a great looking place. We Unfortunately went back in there after our meal at Prezzo opposite as their beers were £6.50 each, and by this time a live band was just starting, there were about 8 people in then, the band started up and it was so loud we had to immediately leave, it was DEAFNING.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank debby w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Head Coffee & Gin Bar also viewed

Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to The Kings Head Coffee & Gin Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing