We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in May on way to somewhere else. Arrived at 10 pm to be greeted fairly grumpily by night staff. There is a plethora of steps up to reception so for anyone with mobility issues this place is a definite no go. The place is like a maze and finding the room was a challenge. TV in room didn't work. Bed very comfortable. There was a persistent buzzing all night from somewhere near the bathroom but we couldn't find it so didn't have the best nights sleep. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Wouldn't go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSer, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Buckingham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Buckingham Hotel, I am sorry that you felt that the staff on duty were unwelcoming, this is certainly not how we would expect guests to perceive us and I apologies that you did not receive our normal standard of welcome.

The hotel does have a number of steps leading up to the front door as you have pointed out, but we also have a disabled access door for guests who have mobility issues, which is clearly sign posted. For guests who may require help, our staff will provide assistance and porterage if this is requested.

I am sorry that you feel you will not visit us again, as I would like to assure you that you will receive a warm and friendly welcome.
If you would like to discuss your concerns in more detail, please do contact me at the hotel. Please ask to speak to the Business Manager.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    197
    121
    57
    27
See reviews for
54
160
20
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Buckingham Hotel
Booked for just the one night stop over using the central reservations to make the booking, upon arrival the hotel had no record of my booking, this could have been an issue but was dealt with very quickly and as a result I had to be upgraded to an executive room.
The room was large and had everything that you could require for a short stopover if there was to be an issue it was that the T.V was a little small for the size of the room, and the bathroom was a little outdated and could do with a little overhaul and update.
I had dinner in the in-house restaurant the menu was a little restricted and the food once it did arrive was at best un-inspiring and bland.
The service was fine and the waiter was attentive if a little embarrassed with the food, and the comments that he received.
I did make use of the leisure facilities and used the pool twice whilst the changing rooms are a little small there is everything that you could need, I would however suggest that they install a centrifuge in the changing rooms to dry your swimwear.
Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice of both cooked and fresh food but the toaster was a little slow, and would benefit from an upgrade to a more commercial model.
All in all a pleasant enough stay and I would return if in the area again.

Room Tip: upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightingmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The room was quite spacious and clean, but the layout was definitely a bit strange. It was a bit old too, but that wasn't really an issue. Navigating along the corridors could be a bit challenging at night since quite a few of the exits were locked, and we had to take a rather large detour back to our car to grab some stuff. Wifi was quite poor and we resorted to using our U.K smartphone (with a pre-paid SIM) to tether for data.

The car park was quite big, but by the time we arrived (rather late at night), most of the well-lit slots were taken and we had to park at a section which was rather dark. Would suggest for the hotel to improve the lighting at that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goomba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSer, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Buckingham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Buckingham Hotel and for the feedback given. I am delighted to hear that the service that you received was polite and professional and that you enjoyed our complimentary leisure club. I have passed your comments regarding the menu on to the Chef for him to discuss with the team. Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stop over at this hotel on our way over the Channel as it breaks up our journey from the north of England. It is a lovely, friendly hotel where our dog is made truly welcome. The rooms are light and airy. There is a lovely little walk from the hotel, down the old Railway track into Buckingham. Clean rooms and good access. Bathrooms a little dated but lovely and clean and decent showers over the baths. Great breakfasts and try the chef's Handi Curry..... delicious. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank 293patriciap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Came here for a business trip. The rooms were clean and nice enough. The restaurant was ok. The food was good. Service was good even though not the quickest. The staff in the restaurant and behind the reception were friendly. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tom and Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I reviewed this place a year ago and said I would return. Well, I did, and still find the Best Western Buckingham to be an excellent place to stay. Furthermore, the dinner was better this time: a rather more adventurous menu (though still enough on there for faddy eaters as well), good child-friendly menu, and all the facilities seemed fine. Once more, there was a wedding reception taking place, and once more we couldn't hear any noise at all from our bedroom. Warmly recommended once again.

Room Tip: Because of the slightly unusual layout of the hotel, if you want a room on the same level as the din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymonsterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Accommodation reception and hospitality great,
The hotel has a very modern and updated look and feel,
Rooms are very spacious with standard accomplements,
Shame about the 80's style bathrooms, if they were more modern I'd given the hotel a 5/5
Shame,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckingham
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Buckingham
Travelodge Buckingham
#2 of 4 in Buckingham
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
502 reviews
0.8 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,351 reviews
6.4 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,379 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buckingham Hotel

Property: Best Western Buckingham Hotel
Address: A421 Ring Road South, Buckingham MK18 1RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Buckingham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buckingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buckingham Hotel Buckinghamshire
Buckingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing