We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great evening rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    197
    121
    57
    27
See reviews for
54
160
20
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We use this hotel as a handy venue to meet with friends. The rooms are a bit basic but the beds are very comfortable and the food is good.
One colleague had a grumble about a member of staff who kept him waiting for ages at reception but in contrast the staff in the restaurant were very helpful and efficient, especially the staff at breakfast - which is if a very good quality with a wide choice ( good sausages and mushrooms, various kinds of bread and fruit- one if the much better breakfasts we have had in our travels and a real incentive to go back )
It has what you need for a good break - rest, good food, comfy reception area. We didn't try the pool but others did and really enjoyed it.
Very good for a chain hotel at this price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysticdebbasina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked this hotel as we had a wedding to attend in the area. We arrived just before 1pm to be told that no one would be checking in before 2pm. At other hotels where I have arrived a little early, staff have always checked to see if the room was available and let me in, not here though. The receptionist flatly refused, being awkward just because he could. So we came back later, taking time out of an important day to check in. there was a queue to do this with only 1 lady checking people in. the guy who we spoke to previously was on reception but didnt want to help. He just tended to whatever it was that was clearly more important than his customers. In summary, I guess this place is ok if you are just passing through but dont expect anything above that, 'just ok'. The rooms are dated and the bathrooms are in need of a good scrub, and dont get me started on the wafer thin pillows. Staff also need a lesson in customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Els403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Don't book a room with these people.
I mistakenly booked a room here on a non cancel-able rate, so OK it's my problem not there's, but when I phoned the following morning to try to cancel they flatly refused despite my being a regular (8-10 days/year) guest over the last 10 years.
The place was beginning to look tired (especially the bathrooms) so this action by an intransigent manageress ensures that I will never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarthingHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSer, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Buckingham Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Buckingham Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you felt our decision to adhere to our Terms & Conditions was unfair. As explained when you called, the rate chosen was a non refundable rate, which is offered at a discounted price. When making the reservation, it is clearly stated that this rate is payable in advance and you are unable to cancel. This is also confirmed on your reservation message, which you will have received at point of booking.

Just to inform you, we do offer a number of flexible rates available. that allow full cancellation up to 4.00pm on the day of arrival, which you may wish to consider in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in May on way to somewhere else. Arrived at 10 pm to be greeted fairly grumpily by night staff. There is a plethora of steps up to reception so for anyone with mobility issues this place is a definite no go. The place is like a maze and finding the room was a challenge. TV in room didn't work. Bed very comfortable. There was a persistent buzzing all night from somewhere near the bathroom but we couldn't find it so didn't have the best nights sleep. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Wouldn't go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSer, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Buckingham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Buckingham Hotel, I am sorry that you felt that the staff on duty were unwelcoming, this is certainly not how we would expect guests to perceive us and I apologies that you did not receive our normal standard of welcome.

The hotel does have a number of steps leading up to the front door as you have pointed out, but we also have a disabled access door for guests who have mobility issues, which is clearly sign posted. For guests who may require help, our staff will provide assistance and porterage if this is requested.

I am sorry that you feel you will not visit us again, as I would like to assure you that you will receive a warm and friendly welcome.
If you would like to discuss your concerns in more detail, please do contact me at the hotel. Please ask to speak to the Business Manager.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Buckingham Hotel
Booked for just the one night stop over using the central reservations to make the booking, upon arrival the hotel had no record of my booking, this could have been an issue but was dealt with very quickly and as a result I had to be upgraded to an executive room.
The room was large and had everything that you could require for a short stopover if there was to be an issue it was that the T.V was a little small for the size of the room, and the bathroom was a little outdated and could do with a little overhaul and update.
I had dinner in the in-house restaurant the menu was a little restricted and the food once it did arrive was at best un-inspiring and bland.
The service was fine and the waiter was attentive if a little embarrassed with the food, and the comments that he received.
I did make use of the leisure facilities and used the pool twice whilst the changing rooms are a little small there is everything that you could need, I would however suggest that they install a centrifuge in the changing rooms to dry your swimwear.
Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice of both cooked and fresh food but the toaster was a little slow, and would benefit from an upgrade to a more commercial model.
All in all a pleasant enough stay and I would return if in the area again.

Room Tip: upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightingmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckingham
0.8 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Buckingham
Travelodge Buckingham
#2 of 4 in Buckingham
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,354 reviews
6.4 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,393 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buckingham Hotel

Property: Best Western Buckingham Hotel
Address: A421 Ring Road South, Buckingham MK18 1RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Buckingham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buckingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buckingham Hotel Buckinghamshire
Buckingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing