We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Thatch

Little Thatch holiday cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Thatch holiday cottage
Sitting room with lowbeams and woodburner Country kitchen with stable door to the lovely garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Little Thatch holiday cottage
Sitting room with lowbeams and woodburner
Country kitchen with stable door to the lovely garden
Romantic bedroom with vaulted ceiling
Front garden at Little Thatch
Private patio at Little Thatch
Downstairs modern bathroom with shower over bath
View from the sitting room
Garden path to Little Thatch
Beautiful garden - the tree has now become a sculpture
Tree sculpture of an owl in the garden
Tree sculpture of an owl in the garden
Lovely shared garden with the artist owner
Lillingstone Lovell church
Lovely walks in nearby woods
Perfect for romantic breaks
Christmas at Little Thatch
Little Thatch is  in the one in the middle
Little Thatch under the rainbow - still looking for gold!
Icicles at Little Thatch
Snow at Little Thatch
Snow at Little Thatch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale, Buckinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natalie G
1 review
“Perfect little cottage”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in Little Thatch. It's in a very quiet and peaceful surrounding. The cottage had absolutely everything we could have possibly needed. We very much enjoyed relaxing by the woodburner!
The owners are very friendly; they even took us to the woods in the car as we didn't have transport.
Only problem was the beams- mind your head!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2015
Lovely to have you at Little Thatch for your 21st birthday. Bring a crash helmet next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jandst1
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked the cottage because of the location and the fact that it looked so quaint and cosy. We were not disappointed, the cottage had a real oldie world feel as you would expect given its age. From its beams and twisted staircase to the unusual bedroom this was a lovely cottage to stay in and a real home from home. We were short of nothing and were amazed at how much was provided by Jane, the owner, particularly in the kitchen department. The gardens made a lovely haven at the end of a day especially at the front of the cottage which got most of the evening sun. Although in a very peaceful location the surrounding area is full of visitor attractions, plenty of National Trust properties, Oxford well worth a visit and Bletchley Park was just fascinating. Could so easily have gone another week but unfortunately, as I write, we are back to reality but sincerely hope that we can visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel and upkeep of the cottage was second to none and Jane was an excellent hostess.
Liked least: There was nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I shall look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This is a beautiful thatched cottage on the outskirts of a lovely little village - Lillingstone Lovell in Buckinghamshire. The gardens with small pond and outside seating area are wonderful.
A superb 400 year old cottage with twisted beams but also the mod cons we all need nowadays. Also, it is within a good distance of Silverstone GP circuit. There is a large owl in the rear garden which has been sculpted from a tree which the owner decided to have sculpted rather than completely removed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly owner - and the cottage itself
Liked least: it was all good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2013
The owl sculpture can be seen in the photo gallery and has made a really striking feature of the dead tree
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Little Thatch - 110% perfect”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Absolutely totally fantastic - this property is perfect and can't be faulted in any way. Location brilliant, atmosphere perfect, gardens beyond expectation and Jane is a brilliant host! The cottage is exactly as it looks in the pictures and attention to detail incredible, right down to fresh flowers in the lounge on our arrival. Loved it all, fond memories - don't miss the opportunity to stay in this idyllic piece of England.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
It was lovely to meet you, so delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time you are in the UK
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Little Thatch was an English holiday dream come true for us, a beautiful thatched cottage in a perfect garden, every comfort and amenity, access to some of the best countryside and sights, and wonderful hosts. Jane could not have done more to make our stay the best part of our trip to the UK. From arranging tickets to a local musical performance in a 12th Century church, to getting us into Stowe House for another performance (white wine and strawberries while gazing out over the magnificent grounds – unforgettable), taking us for a walk in the biggest bluebell wood I’ve ever seen, and finally driving all the way in to Milton Keynes where we were waiting for a train to hand over the National Trust parcel that had arrived for us shortly after we had left! Thanks Jane! We were invited to join in a ‘safari meal’ in the village, going from house to house for different courses, and had a wonderful time meeting the locals. All of this made our time at Little Thatch so much more than just a holiday rental. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage, very well equipped, great location, wonderful hosts.
Liked least: I wish we could have stayed longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and to help make your holiday that extra bit special as you had come from the other side of the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheddarHo...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A perfect thatched cottage”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in October 2011

When we were planning our trip to England my husband wanted to stay in a thatched cottage. We couldn't have found one more perfect. An idyllic location, pretty garden, a lovely beamed living room with fireplace and the most amazing little staircase leading to a bedroom under the sloping roofline. We were smitten from the moment we walked in.

Add to that wonderfully helpful hosts, generous provisions and a village well located for touring the area and we know we'll be back.

Thanks Jane and Ian, for such a fantastic stay at Little Thatch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2013
We love to share our idyllic little cottage with so many holidaymakers from all over the world and it is wonderful that so many return again and again from far and wide. See you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annelin
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I have always dreamed of a thatched cottage in England, and when I found Little Thatch, I knew I had to stay there.
Talk about dream come true! The hostess herself was on holiday, so Pete and Lynne (taking care of Jane's pets) took care of us. Picked us up from the train station, took us to the shop for supplies since we had no car, and looked after us the whole week.
We were to take Jessie the dog, for walks. We had friendly visits from Izzie the cat.
The garden was lovely even in early October, and the inside was just as lovely, from the cozy living room to the beamed bedroom upstairs. Everything we needed was provided. From a well stuffed welcome basket, to a well equipped kitchen and a clean and modern bathroom.
Since we didn't have a car, we had to walk, which we did with great pleasure. It took about an hour to walk to Akeley, for a pint or more in the pub. Or a tasty lunch. And of course there is a lot of other options for walking in the area.
All in all it was a week to remember with great pleasure, and we sure hope to come back to Little Thatch some day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the garden, and the lovely walks we had
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2013
I am so glad you had such a lovely week and that our friends looked after you so well. They, in fact, were previous holidaymakers and have now been back six times! Thank you for posting the beautiful photos and I hope to meet you next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing