We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely weekend”
Review of Villiers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villiers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely weekend”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My partner and i just spent two nights in this lovely hotel , cannot praise it highly enough. The staff were so friendly and polite to us, always with a smile and always seemed to have time to chat to you .We are a gay couple and had absolutely no problems, the staff always treated us with respect, We ate both evenings in there lovely dining room and the food was first class as was the breakfasts. We had the chance to try stinking bishop cheese which i had never eaten before and loved it. We stayed in room 114 which overlooked the car park where our car was so we had piece of mind the car was safe, the room and en suite bathroom was large and very clean, the bed was most comfortable, the room had tea/coffee making facility, fridge, fan, hair drier and trouser press. most comfortable. The bar was well stocked and sold three real ales, as i love real ale i was happy. We were told we had a free temporary membership of a local gym which had a swimming pool which was 5 minutes walk from the hotel but did not take advantage of it as we decided to go to the heritage motor museum and the Bicester village outlet which are both within easy driving distance. This hotel are of a group of four and we have no doubt we will be trying the other three as well as returning to the Villiers.
Hope the staff have a chance to read this as want to say thank you again to you all for making our visit so pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    163
    68
    24
    6
See reviews for
60
268
11
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights Friday & Saturday and have no complaints whatsoever. Stayed in room 112, immaculately clean large room with a comfy bed and everything fully functional. Restaurant is pleasant and the service and food is high standard but not over priced. Choice and quality of breakfast is very good and again the service is excellent. The trip was a birthday treat for my wife and the hotel provided a nice touch with a card and chocolates. This is the first time writing a review for tripadvisor but this hotel and staff deserve the praise. Well stocked bar and recommend the cask bitter.

Room Tip: Room 112 is in a quite position but negotiated by stairs and a few minutes walk along the landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSCSSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went here last Saturday with friends for a meal. Lovely bar to enjoy pre-dinner drinks and then in to the restaurant. The food is delicious with a good choice including a set menu. The presentation and food was of a very good standard and should be labelled fine dining. The only thing that wasn't fine dining was the price. The six of us had drinks and two courses and it came to less than £40 a head. The service was great with the staff always smiling and engaging. The restaurant doesn't stand out in the town as somewhere to eat but with a small town of limited choices it is well worth a visit. Advisable to book at the weekends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanandJakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Tried this hotel as nearby MK was full! It was recommended by a colleague who has been there for a wedding recently. I found the parking easily in the fairly empty car park through the barrier. The reception was friendly and efficient - the room was excellent - and the restaurant very good. The wifi was ok in the public areas and worked well in the room in the evening. It is a busy town centre but the hotel was quiet enough. There looked like there was a few interesting pubs and restaurants to explore in the town - will try next time!
The layout of the hotel has clearly evolved rather than being planned! That rather adds to the character of the place - if you want long corridors try the Premier Inn!
The trip to MK took about half and hour.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
846 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We got married here and decided to visit for our anniversary meal. We had a delicious three course meal, the staff were so warm and welcoming, as was Jean, the fantastic hotel manager. They treated us to a drink and we got a card from all the staff. They put real effort in to make our night feel very special.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This nearly got 4 out of 5, but there were a few shortcomings.

My wife and I spent a night here before attending a local funeral. We arrived in time to park under cover in the courtyard. Had we needed to go out again in the car after about 8 p.m. it would probably have been impossible, as we would have had to find at least 4 other car owners because the entire courtyard was now solid with vehicles whose owners could have been anywhere. We were not warned of this risk. Fortunately our way out was clear after breakfast.

It was while trying to look out of our first floor window at this imprisonment of our car that I nearly came a cropper. Although I had not noticed it through the net curtain, the catch holding the two casements together did not need unlatching before they would fly open at a slight push. Mercifully the casements were not large enough to accommodate my defenestration, so my progress was arrested by my legs lurching against the hard inside edge of the window seat. I am stroking my right shin ruefully as I write this. The squab of the window seat itself was in stained and ripped fabric.

Check in was friendly and efficient. We were given directions to our room and asked if we would like a wake-up call or newspaper, and our booking was taken for dinner. The journey to our room with baggage was back across the courtyard, through a somewhat narrow door that was opened by room key, and up some equally narrow stairs (witnessed by the numerous scuffs that had already accumulated on the fairly recent paintwork.) At the top of the stairs there was no visible sign to indicate whether our room number was to the right or left, and needless to say we guessed wrong.

The standard bedroom was spacious, clean, well appointed and well decorated. The twin beds were comfortable, and there was ample storage space. There were two nice armchairs. The bathroom was large too, with plenty of shelving for toiletries etc. There was one cracked tile, and there was some black mould below the shower head. The shower temperature was inconstant. The shabby cover of the window seat has already been mentioned. The channel selection on the flat screen tv was difficult to fathom and there were no instructions in the room. There was a rather feeble hospitality tray whereby our ration was one packet of biscuits between two and only one sachet of hot chocolate. The in-room information said the mini-fridge would be stocked with water and fresh milk. Water there was. Fresh milk there was not. However, we had a quiet, comfortable and contented night once we had dined.

The restaurant of this hotel has two AA rosettes. Our starters were of a high standard and indeed my wife announced that her scotch egg was the best she'd ever had. For main courses there was an attractively presented chicken thigh dish for me, but my wife received an enormous plate of pasta accompanied by an unusually thin carbonara sauce that also lacked quantity, and some almost raw and mostly fatty lardons. We did not have room to try desserts. For what we got, the meal and wine were very reasonably priced. In the morning we had a well-cooked and promptly presented full English breakfast preceded by a fairly good buffet selection except that the one remaining croissant looked both lonely and wizened. Although the restaurant was fairly busy for both mealtimes, we did not experience the delays that some reviewers say they suffered, and the waitresses were all a joy.

All in all, we probably wouldn't come here again, but that is not to say our overall experience was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigeloddy, Owner at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Many thanks for your detailed feedback. We have 60 car-parking spaces at Villiers and if some of our early morning leavers request a "double park" in the courtyard car-park we always agree but keep keys at reception in case it needs to be moved. Re the window in your room - we will ensure the catch is safe - fortunately none of our guests have defenestrated to date. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the service and food in the restaurant - the pasta dish is popular but we would have been delighted to change it for something more to your wife's liking if she had mentioned it at the time.

We would of course be delighted to welcome you back to Villiers if you are staying in the Buckingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a friendly hotel that has big rooms full of luxury. The wifi signal is poor so not great for those on buisness. The breakfast is delicious but the service is very slow particuarly when they are busy, so be prepared to wait 30 mins which is not great when you are in a rush. Having said that it is worth the wait.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckingham
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
5.6 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
14.3 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
6.8 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villiers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villiers Hotel

Property: Villiers Hotel
Address: 3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Buckingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villiers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villiers Hotel has a 4 Star AA classification. The hotel has a 450 year history from being an important main coaching inn in the 16th century to a delightfully refurbished hotel today. Designed around a cobbled courtyard, the hotel has 49 bedrooms individually designed and including suites, and executive rooms. The restaurant has been awarded 2 rosettes by the AA for innovative fresh food dining, and offers an eclectic a la carte menu as well as the fixed price 3 course Market Menu. The real ale bar is popular with guests and locals alike who appreciate its real log fire and delicious bar menu. The hotel also encapsulates Buckingham's Old Town Hall also full refurbished for conferencing and weddings. Car Parking is extensive and freely available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villiers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Buckingham
Buckingham Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Villiers
Villiers Hotel Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing