We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Villiers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villiers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a Sunday Lunch celebration for a special birthday and the staff at Villiers Hotel were extremely professional in all aspects of our booking, particularly as we had two children who needed a special diet and they went out of their way to accommodate this requirement.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

A marvellous staff, superb staff, so friendly and efficient. Rooms were excellent and the meals very good quality. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for any type of stay. The gentleman on reception was really lovely and also when we booked with him by phone.

Room Tip: Do pay slightly more for the executive rooms. Wish my bedroom was like this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiensk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights so that we could visit Bletchley Park and Waddesdon Manor, also took in Claydon. We had a lovely big room (106) overlooking the courtyard, clean and well appointed and the bed was large and comfortable. Ate both nights in the restuarant. First night we tried the set menu (£23 per head) for 3 courses which we both enjoyed and the second night we went a la carte. Salmon mousse to die for! The food overall was excellent including the generous breakfast. Good wine list. Had no trouble with the parking, there is an overflow car park with a security barrier a few yards away with a shortcut back to the hotel.
The staff in this hotel must be amongst the friendliest we have come across in our travels. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile. If we are visiting this area again, we will certainly be back and do not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for one night with the intention of visiting the nearby Stowe Gardens. We found a good parking space in the hotel car park. Our room was beautiful, large and comfortable. Dinner was delicious and very reasonably priced, with an excellent choice. The young waiter seemed to be training for the job, he was being well taught. After a perfect night's sleep we enjoyed breakfast. The only downside was that it was raining so heavily that we had to miss out on the visit to Stowe, but we really hope to try to visit again and will definitely return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Silverstone is only a few miles away and staying in Villiers Hotel in Buckingham was a great stay. Staff are helpful and welcoming, restaurant is fabulous with really good wine list, nice touch with fish tanks and suberb cuisine for a really reasonable price. A standard double room is spacious, comfortable and clean with en-suite bathroom. Would definitely stay there again - need to book a table in the restaurant in advance as very popular with residents and locals alike.Also, if you want to park on site, I would recommend getting there a little early to check in as there are limited parking spaces in the courtyard. Only gripe was that toast at breakfast was brought our ages before rest of food and so stone cold when the hot food arrived. Overall - extremely good value for money

Room Tip: Rooms round the courtyard are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caff_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed two nights in a lovely sunny room overlooking the central courtyard. Everything in the hotel was clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food at breakfast and in the restaurant in the evening was delicious. There was a flea market in town on Saturday in town and a Vintage Food market on Sunday. We saw Saving Mr Banks at the volunteer run Film Place at the university (within walking distance). We also visited the beautiful Stowe Gardens (ten minute drive). All in all a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaffaorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My partner and i just spent two nights in this lovely hotel , cannot praise it highly enough. The staff were so friendly and polite to us, always with a smile and always seemed to have time to chat to you .We are a gay couple and had absolutely no problems, the staff always treated us with respect, We ate both evenings in there lovely dining room and the food was first class as was the breakfasts. We had the chance to try stinking bishop cheese which i had never eaten before and loved it. We stayed in room 114 which overlooked the car park where our car was so we had piece of mind the car was safe, the room and en suite bathroom was large and very clean, the bed was most comfortable, the room had tea/coffee making facility, fridge, fan, hair drier and trouser press. most comfortable. The bar was well stocked and sold three real ales, as i love real ale i was happy. We were told we had a free temporary membership of a local gym which had a swimming pool which was 5 minutes walk from the hotel but did not take advantage of it as we decided to go to the heritage motor museum and the Bicester village outlet which are both within easy driving distance. This hotel are of a group of four and we have no doubt we will be trying the other three as well as returning to the Villiers.
Hope the staff have a chance to read this as want to say thank you again to you all for making our visit so pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckingham
0.8 mi away
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
324 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,583 reviews
11 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
587 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Buckingham
Travelodge Buckingham
#2 of 4 in Buckingham
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villiers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villiers Hotel

Address: 3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Buckingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range: £73 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villiers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villiers Hotel has a 4 Star AA classification. The hotel has a 450 year history from being an important main coaching inn in the 16th century to a delightfully refurbished hotel today. Designed around a cobbled courtyard, the hotel has 49 bedrooms individually designed and including suites, and executive rooms. The restaurant has been awarded 2 rosettes by the AA for innovative fresh food dining, and offers an eclectic a la carte menu as well as the fixed price 3 course Market Menu. The real ale bar is popular with guests and locals alike who appreciate its real log fire and delicious bar menu. The hotel also encapsulates Buckingham's Old Town Hall also full refurbished for conferencing and weddings. Car Parking is extensive and freely available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villiers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Buckingham
Buckingham Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Villiers
Villiers Hotel Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing