We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Day at the White Hart - outstanding”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Day at the White Hart - outstanding”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A big thank you for a very special day at the White Hart, food great, service exceptional. The new management are really making a difference. I can recommend the Christmas Day experience here and will definitely be considering eating here more often. Thanks again to Jackie and the rest of the team.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scampi2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    71
    54
    43
    53
See reviews for
53
118
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Been back here twice in last couple of months and have been impressed by the changes in the service .....and the food. First time was on a Saturday afternoon so was fairly busy, but order was served up promptly by helpful staff.
Second time was a Tuesday afternoon .....we both had the sausage and mash and the sausages were lovely, service was good and helpful staff.
I would give it 5 stars but for the fact theres still too many fruit machines kicking about which makes it feel a bit "chavish" and I would suggest lighting needs to be looked at so that it doesn't give that "dingy" feeling. Its a shame the decor has been allowed to deteriorate in places, but thats no fault of the present management who seem to be trying their best.
Lets hope whoever owns the White Hart can invest some decent money into it so that it could reach its full potential.

Room Tip: wasn't staying there so cannot advise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glassandrobbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The staff were amazing they go that extra mile and are so helpful as we have 2 small children I come to Buckingham as my brother lives near by will always stay here food excellent a big thank you to Alex and Matt

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Ordered a medium steak and bangers and mash on a 2 for £10 deal yesterday evening as I was dropping a friend home to Buckingham and we were both starving. We were served quickly, and the gentleman serving us was polite. After about 15 mins our food arrived, and it quickly became obvious my steak was extremely well done. Like a dry tough burger. The gentleman who served us at the bar checked back on us soon after the food arrived, and we alerted him of this. Disheartened he said he would replace it for me. Having both my friend and I worked extensively in hospitality we know how easy it is for human errors to occur, not mad and extremely forgiving at what had happened. 24 minutes later my food was brought back out. The extras had been left on a hot plate so the chips where hard and browning, the mushrooms where limp and swimming in their own juice... and once again my steak was tough as a boot. I suspect they had been microwaving it. Since my friend had finished her food 20 mins previously. I approached the staff for a refund. They did without any fuss refund me in cash for the steak with a polite yet emotionless apology, which left me with no inspiration to return. Having worked in hospitality for the best part of 6 years, both as a waitress, bar tender and manager I feel this place has potential. But currently is not worth anyone’s time or most importantly money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Booked in for three nights because the "Villiers" was fully booked. BIG mistake!!!!!!!!!
Avoid this place at all cost!!!!!!!. Very noisey. Rooms at rear suffer from the noise and vibration from an underground water pump running 24hrs and kitchen extractor fans. Rooms at the front suffer from traffic noise and the unbearable noise from late drinkers and what seems to pass locally for music played at excessively high levels. Friday and Saturday nights. So called car park a free for all "bomb" site.

Dined at the Villiers one night. Wow, how good was that. Unfortunately it just made the White Hart seem a lot worse!!!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there is one!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff_edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This pub is in my local town. I have been to it many times and was once a pretty decent music venue for our sleepy town.

Then the current management comoany took over, and it has since gone down hill.

Premium priced beers
Bottom bar not opened due to lack of staff
5ft deep queues at thee bars on busy nights
Smoking area through the bottom bar doesn't have swing doors making it freezing during the winter
Miserable staff that ask the same people week in week out for ID before they will serve them
Drunk muppets downing bottles of vodka bought from Off licence round the corner due to lack of service
Poor food.. we used to eat here and it was brilliant value, twice now I have had to wait for 45 mins for a burger that was basically cardboard in a bun.. and not much of it either!

Generally a poor pub full of chavs and all day drinkers...

Better pubs in town by far to spend your money in!

Go to the Woolpack round the corner, or the New Inn across the town bridge, or the Kings on the corner of the market place.. proper locals bars with proper landlords that know your name!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merchandiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear terryholiday

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the White Hart (buckingham) in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We popped in to this pub as it was local to a Hotel we were staying at. We should've walked away as soon as we opened the door. The place smells of wet dogs and was very untidy. You know the sort, where your shoes stick to the floor. It got worse when I waited an age at the bar to get served. The barmaid had the worst attitude I've ever experienced in a pub. Not a please nor thank you; not even a friendly smile. I ordered a large Pinot which I had to take back because it was clearly old and tasted like stale vinegar. The barmaid tried to tell me it was their best seller and that no one else had complained. I asked her to open a fresh bottle which after moaning under her breath she agreed to do. It was no surprise that she poured it into the glass and walked away. Not a sorry in sight. Appalling attitude, appalling customer service. If the management team of this establishment wish to contact me, yes, I took her name. To possibly save you the trouble it begins with M.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank terryholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckingham
0.8 mi away
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
0.0 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Buckingham
Travelodge Buckingham
#2 of 4 in Buckingham
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
195 reviews
5.6 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,347 reviews
10.2 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Property: The White Hart
Address: 1-2 Market Square, Buckingham MK18 1NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Buckingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Hart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart is a friendly and lively attraction in the centre of the quaint market town of Buckingham. All rooms are fully equipped with free wifi, air-con and LCD televisions. Great food, great drink, great sport viewing facilities and a great atmosphere to match! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Buckingham
White Hart Buckingham
The White Hart Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing