We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not best pleased”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was staying with a some friends for a wedding in the area for two nights. It's a great old building, obviously with some history- but it need a bit of a sort out.

Fundamentally room was ok, bit ragged round the edges with things that could so easily be fixed in minutes. Unfortunately heres the problem- the plumbing. There was no water, so wanting to go for a shower in the morning it was a bit of a surprise to turn the taps on to find nothing coming out; same with the sink; same with the toilet. There was nobody in sight at reception, and given the rush I had for the wedding, I used the shower in the ground floor room of one of our party. But the same the next morning- it turns out the water hast to be pumped up to the top floor but discovering over breakfast apparently this problem has been going on for days and the pumps trip out. We didn't get any apology. Curtains didn't fit windows, and the way the building is arranged there was almost a 'hive' of pigeons taking up residence outside the top floor rooms; needs some pest control.

The advantages- it's central in Buckingham, accessible for all routes; food available and parking if theres space which is fair enough. Everyone has one or two bad stays on their travels, I guess this was one for me. I think the place needs to tidy but I wouldn't say avoid it- I'm sure things will be fixed in time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our group of 7 adults stayed here for two nights last weekend as we were attending a wedding in the area. Despite having to wait a short while to check-in we were given complimentary drinks and when we were seen to, the manager was extremely friendly and helpful.
The rooms were fairly basic but had all that we needed for a short stay, with tea and coffee, hairdryer, iron/ironing board etc. They were also very clean and comfortable.
We had a full breakfast both mornings which we all enjoyed very much, a good range of choices from continental and full English to order, with very friendly staff that couldn't have been more helpful.
Overall a lovely stay and would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Matt & Alex made us feel very welcome, & were friendly & attentive. The hotel is clean, but old, so has character in keeping with most of Buckingham town centre. The room was spacious, & clean but the curtains didn't close tightly, so use eye shades to keep the morning light out.
The full English breakfast was well presented & tasty. I'll be back when next in this interesting part of England.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just had one night here, which was not enough. Room spacious and clean. Bed extremely comfortable, breakfast very good. The owners were more than helpful and very friendly. Food at lunchtime very good, obviously a popular local as it was busy for lunch on Friday. We will definitely be returning to this historic establishment in a beautiful and thriving market town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRich_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Fantastic hosts and very good hotel. The room was very spacious and had all the facilities we needed. The bed was extremley comfortable , Best nights sleep I have had in any hotel recently. the Water day market at Buckingham is great. Well worth a visit !

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in April 2014. Its a quirky hotel with uneven corridors and doors, however what you'd expect from a hotel of this age. The bar and restaurant area is huge but the beer garden overlooks the small car park. My room appeared to have plumping in the ceiling so at 5.30am each morning I was woken by the noise of the pipes. Location is great right in the centre of town, however parking is limited. A lot of the hotel would benefit with a lick of paint as some of the walls looked water damaged and a bit grubby. However the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuMC_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had food on arrival and it was barely edible and no I was not expecting Michelin star quality, had to download a manual on how to get the heating working, went out for something to eat with our son and when we got back there was no parking space ? Asked reception and they told us to park in the street but would have to leave by 8am!! Rooms are tired snd in ppor state of repair, budget hotels are cheaper and cleaner.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckingham
0.8 mi away
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
0.0 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Buckingham
Travelodge Buckingham
#2 of 4 in Buckingham
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
6.7 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,422 reviews
5.6 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: 1-2 Market Square, Aylesbury MK18 1NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Buckingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range: £56 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Hart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart is a friendly and lively attraction in the centre of the quaint market town of Buckingham. All rooms are fully equipped with free wifi, air-con and LCD televisions. Great food, great drink, great sport viewing facilities and a great atmosphere to match! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Buckingham
White Hart Buckingham
The White Hart Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing