We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bull Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ethorpe Hotel(Gerrards Cross)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross(Beaconsfield)(Great Value!)
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Denham Grove(Denham)
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoke Place(Stoke Poges)
US$113
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
US$312
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beaconsfield Central(Beaconsfield)(Great Value!)
US$71
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveller rating
311
354
163
54
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
354
163
54
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathlovely hotelcoach partyexecutive roombar foodbar areafamily weddingbuffet breakfastwedding receptionplenty of parkingmain restaurantstayed here for one nightlovely roomcomfy bedgood nights sleepsaturday nightafternoon tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 913 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights on a business trip. The staff was very helpful and friendly, room was large and modern, located on the annex wing. Good complimentary breakfast. Hotel restaurant is ok for dining, but a bit on expensive side compared to food quality. You can find good Indian and Italian restaurants from Gerrard's Cross nearby. 15 minute walk to Gerrard's Cross railway station. The bar and surroundings were noisy and crowded due to weddings and parties held in the ballroom. Free car park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sisuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarovahotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Sisuman,

I am pleased that you found The Bull worked for you being in the area on business.
Gerrards Cross has a lovely high street with a number of shops, restaurants and, as you mention, train station.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed at the bull for one night after getting a deal so it was reasonably priced, but saying that I am happy we did not pay the full rate.

The hotel itself is nice, with a good sized car park, the reception staff were very friendly and the hotel throughout was clean and tidy. We did not eat in the restaurant as looking at the menu it did seem a little overpriced but there are plenty of places to eat just a short drive away.

The room we stayed in was very spacious and clean, the only downside to the whole stay was the bed, the mattress was far to soft and with two people it dipped in the middle so you rolled towards one another.

Breakfast was good there was plenty to choose from, on a Saturday it was not open until 8am which is a little late for us as we are early risers.

Overall a good hotel and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmgUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarovahotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear ImgUk,

Thank you for your positive feedback on The Bull Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us; I have shared your comments with our staff.

I would also like to thank you for bringing the quality of the mattress to our attention. An audit is being carried out, to make sure this is rectified and our guests receive a relaxing night sleep.

I hope we see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed here for 5 days. The room was nice, clean and spacious compared to others. The cleaning lady was very sweet to us and kept our room stocked with coffees and teas. The drinks and food were pricey in the bar, but the bar staff was lovely and friendly. The food in the bar area was good- but we did order one appetizer that was like 8£ and when it came out, it was literally one flakey cracker with fluffed cream cheese on it- the description made it seem as though it would be plenty for 2 people to share. That was disappointing especially considering the amount of money we spent there. The breakfast spread was plentiful and delicious. Many items to choose from. Breakfast staff very polite and attentive.
Our room was quiet and the location of the hotel was convenient to the town. Gerrard's cross was beautiful and the people were lovely. Nice little shops and plenty of quaint restaurant and coffee shop places. The train station was convenient, and close to the grocery store. Don't feel limited to eat all your meals at the hotel- in Gerrard's cross, there are many options that are a better deal and quality for the $.
Overall, loved the atmosphere, staff and rooms. Front desk staff was incredibly helpful to book taxis, get us tickets and provide directions and advice. Downside- Overpriced food for what you get... Mixed drinks super overpriced, but I suppose after enough of them, you don't care :-)
By the time we left, we felt like family. Would absolutely return and stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank Lizanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarovahotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Lizanne G,

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent visit at The Bull Hotel in Gerrards Cross.

I am delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and that our team looked after you.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here over the Easter weekend and so expected it to be really busy but it wasn't which was a pleasant surprise. First impressions were good - good size car park, exterior of the hotel was well maintained and we were warmly greeted at reception on arrival. Throughout, the building was clean and well looked after. We even saw someone dust the paintings in the corridors! Overall, it was a mix of traditional (the building is very old and has a lot of history) but the interior was modern and spacious. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the car park and then the road. Noise was not an issue other than from the smokers who tended to gather outside the front entrance. We had been left a note advising that there were a couple of private parties on the Saturday night and we might experience some disturbance but guests not related to the parties had been located as far away as possible from the party-goers. We were not disturbed (other than as mentioned above). The room was very pleasant - comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, table, chairs etc and the bathroom well stocked with toiletries. We ate in the adjoining pub on the first evening - good choice. Only one small gripe - the menu listed the burger as being in a "glazed sour dough bun" bun but it arrived in a normal white bread roll. Bit disappointing but overall we both enjoyed our meals. On the Saturday we ate in the restaurant. Good quality food and excellent service. Like most of these places, you always pay over the odds for drinks. There was a huge choice for breakfast and this was a very relaxing experience - not rushed at all and could enjoy reading the complimentary newspapers. Plenty of lounge / seating areas within the hotel to chill and relax. Throughout our stay the staff were very polite and provided a professional service.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.
We used as a base to visit Windsor - about 20 minutes' drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy2310_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarovahotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Poppy2310_10,

Thank you so much for your positive review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I hope to see you again soon at The Bull Hotel.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday nights and family living locally joined us for a meal the first night. We were less than impressed with the restaurant service, in particular the portion size and excessive length of time it took to serve our meal. Also, we were concerned that when one of the party requested his meal without peppers, he was abruptly told by the waitress that unless he was allergic he had to have them. When we were faced with an equally long wait for our dessert we opted for cheese and biscuits. In contrast on Saturday evening, we ate in the bar near reception and it was excellent. Food served quickly by a charming Australian young man - good portions which were delicious. The room was excellent, tastefully decorated and very comfortable, except it was far too hot even with the heating off and it was snowing outside. Even though we were warned there were several functions on in the hotel we were not disturbed at all and took our chance at breakfast at the predicted busy time. However it was very quiet both days and we enjoyed a good breakfast with a varied menu. We would stay here again, although we did complain about our experience in the restaurant before we left. Two telephone calls from the hotel later I did not feel our complaint had been resolved satisfactorily, which is why it is mentioned here.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarovahotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear ivyling,

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your recent visit. I have already passed on your thanks to the team member you mention.
I am sorry that you found the room too warm as we do try and judge the weather conditions and adjust accordingly.
I have been made aware of the dish that you mentioned with peppers in, and unfortunately all the dishes were pre-prepared using peppers in the cooking and so was not suitable for your friend. We are always happy to offer plain versions of dishes when physically possible.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews