We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Rooms, Good Location”
Review of Ethorpe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ethorpe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Ethorpe Hotel is conveniently located just off the main shopping strip in Gerrards Cross, and is only a short walk away from the train station. We were given a comfortable twin room with sufficient space for our huge luggages. Room was clean but the TV was located in a strange spot (as other reviewers have mentioned), and beds were quite soft. The toilet was nearly the size of the room, but the shower was very good. We didn't have much problems with the noise, even though we stayed on the first floor above the bar/restaurant.

Breakfast was decent but somewhat expensive for the price. However, if you sign up as a Goodnight Inns member and book directly with Ethorpe Hotel on the Goodnight Inns site, you get 5 pounds off the stay and a free Full English Breakfast. We had booked via another website and so were unable to take advantage of this offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank septreves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Ethorpe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed two nights over a weekend for a friends wedding, which was in the local area. Great location, only minutes from the train station. Room was clean and had a large bathroom. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome during our stay. However (and there is also one of those on here, right?) on the down side, the breakfast (I opted for the full English at almost £8) was decidedly average, the hot tap on the bath didn't work, the (small) flatscreen tv was definitely wall mounted in the wrong location, there was no main light in the room and the "heater" was confusing to work which meant our room was slightly chilly. Also, it's a shame that the hotel is attached to the bar, as it's clear there isn't much to actually do in Gerrards Cross for the local youth...apart from get drunk and stand outside the main entrance. Best thing about this place is the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightonbgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. We had an attic room which was clean and comfortable. The room was a little stuffy because of the low ceilings. We could feel a draft coming in the window behind the bed when the heating was off. You had to sit up in the bed to see the TV with your back to the drafty window. The hot breakfast was only reasonable.
The hotel has a nice bar and restaurant with a good atmosphere. We were having drinks in the bar one evening and decided to order food. I ordered the fish and triple cooked chips (sounded homemade), something light as I had eaten earlier in the day. The chips were frozen. Very disappointing. There is plenty of parking around the hotel and it's only a ten minute stroll to the train station.
Hot water came out of both sink taps.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkEvertonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Old fashioned rooms with noisy blow heater, cold bathroom and no bedside lights so impossible to read in bed.
Impossible to watch TV without laying in bed because no chair available.
Would not recommend it. Very old fashioned way of running an hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We returned for a second stay in sept,unfortunately the restaurant experience wasn't as good second time around.
It was a busy Friday night but having stayed previously on a just as busy sat night this shouldn't have been a problem,we were told it was due to a few changes on the menu which I find hard to believe.we waited almost an hour and the food was poorly cooked when it did arrive.
I doubt we shall stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingfisherblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here before flying to the USA from Heathrow. On arrival we were welcomed by an interested and chatty member of staff who made us feel very welcome. Our room was large and comfy with a very clean ensuite. We ate downstairs in the restaurant in the evening and were served by enthusiastic and polite staff. In fact they moved us to a different table so we could have more room as I was seated behind a rather large lady! The car park was large and free. In fact the hotel was perfect for a night before a flight...good food, a comfy bed and peace and quiet. Will certainly book again .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

On arrival we were welcomed by very nice friendly staff both on reception and in the restaurant. We had a lovely 3 course meal served by mo who again was lovely and friendly. The manager ( Indian guy) think his name was Ijaz was very helpful and went out of his way to help us and make our stay a wonderful experience probably the best we've ever had. The hotel room was nice spacious and clean just let down by a few minor maintenance issues but this did not affect our stay at all. I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff and this particular manager. Will be returning again and would highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-faulkner-biggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerrards Cross
0.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
863 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
425 reviews
1.9 mi away
Denham Grove
Denham Grove
#1 of 1 in Denham
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Uxbridge Hotel
6.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethorpe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethorpe Hotel

Address: 85 Packhorse Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 8HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Gerrards Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Price Range: £65 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ethorpe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Ethorpe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethorpe Hotel Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing