We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TIRED”
Review of Ethorpe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ethorpe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Northwich, cheshire, uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“TIRED”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed for three nights; accommodation only. Our room and the hotel is generally in need of refurbishment. Having said this, we were very comfortable and the room was clean and the staff were very helpful. The location for our needs was great and the hotel served its purpose for us. The restaurants and shops locally were very good. Having breakfast on the High Street was a novelty to us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juneritaoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear juneritaoliver, thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments were a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your visit further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    97
    61
    23
    26
See reviews for
73
86
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Ethorpe Hotel is conveniently located just off the main shopping strip in Gerrards Cross, and is only a short walk away from the train station. We were given a comfortable twin room with sufficient space for our huge luggages. Room was clean but the TV was located in a strange spot (as other reviewers have mentioned), and beds were quite soft. The toilet was nearly the size of the room, but the shower was very good. We didn't have much problems with the noise, even though we stayed on the first floor above the bar/restaurant.

Breakfast was decent but somewhat expensive for the price. However, if you sign up as a Goodnight Inns member and book directly with Ethorpe Hotel on the Goodnight Inns site, you get 5 pounds off the stay and a free Full English Breakfast. We had booked via another website and so were unable to take advantage of this offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank septreves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed two nights over a weekend for a friends wedding, which was in the local area. Great location, only minutes from the train station. Room was clean and had a large bathroom. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome during our stay. However (and there is also one of those on here, right?) on the down side, the breakfast (I opted for the full English at almost £8) was decidedly average, the hot tap on the bath didn't work, the (small) flatscreen tv was definitely wall mounted in the wrong location, there was no main light in the room and the "heater" was confusing to work which meant our room was slightly chilly. Also, it's a shame that the hotel is attached to the bar, as it's clear there isn't much to actually do in Gerrards Cross for the local youth...apart from get drunk and stand outside the main entrance. Best thing about this place is the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightonbgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. We had an attic room which was clean and comfortable. The room was a little stuffy because of the low ceilings. We could feel a draft coming in the window behind the bed when the heating was off. You had to sit up in the bed to see the TV with your back to the drafty window. The hot breakfast was only reasonable.
The hotel has a nice bar and restaurant with a good atmosphere. We were having drinks in the bar one evening and decided to order food. I ordered the fish and triple cooked chips (sounded homemade), something light as I had eaten earlier in the day. The chips were frozen. Very disappointing. There is plenty of parking around the hotel and it's only a ten minute stroll to the train station.
Hot water came out of both sink taps.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkEvertonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Old fashioned rooms with noisy blow heater, cold bathroom and no bedside lights so impossible to read in bed.
Impossible to watch TV without laying in bed because no chair available.
Would not recommend it. Very old fashioned way of running an hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We returned for a second stay in sept,unfortunately the restaurant experience wasn't as good second time around.
It was a busy Friday night but having stayed previously on a just as busy sat night this shouldn't have been a problem,we were told it was due to a few changes on the menu which I find hard to believe.we waited almost an hour and the food was poorly cooked when it did arrive.
I doubt we shall stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisherblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here before flying to the USA from Heathrow. On arrival we were welcomed by an interested and chatty member of staff who made us feel very welcome. Our room was large and comfy with a very clean ensuite. We ate downstairs in the restaurant in the evening and were served by enthusiastic and polite staff. In fact they moved us to a different table so we could have more room as I was seated behind a rather large lady! The car park was large and free. In fact the hotel was perfect for a night before a flight...good food, a comfy bed and peace and quiet. Will certainly book again .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerrards Cross
0.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
847 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
1.9 mi away
Denham Grove
Denham Grove
#1 of 1 in Denham
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Stoke Place
Stoke Place
#2 of 2 in Stoke Poges
641 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Beaconsfield Central
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Uxbridge Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethorpe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethorpe Hotel

Property: Ethorpe Hotel
Address: 85 Packhorse Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 8HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Gerrards Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ethorpe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Ethorpe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethorpe Hotel Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing