We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value”
Review of Ethorpe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ethorpe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We didn't fancy staying overnight in London when seeing the Bodyguard so decided to drive to Gerrrards Cross and catch the train in. What a great idea! The Ethorpe hotel was only £57 for the room and very comfortable. Bathroom didn't have any of the niceties, such as bath hats etc, that other more expensive hotels have so would recommend that people bring their own toiletries. The great things about this hotel are: bargain price, free parking so you can just walk to the station, 20 mins into Marylebone on very comfortable train, proximity to Gerrards Cross shops and cafes - it is a lovely little town. I can recommend and will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    96
    59
    20
    24
See reviews for
71
83
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We decided to book this for a night prior to the Harry Potter tour (about 30 mins away). We arrived just after 2pm on a Sunday and had lunch. The service was fantastic! The roast was lovely and the portions were very generous!

Then we went to our family room which has a separate room for the children. It was modern and clean and both rooms had a large TV!

Room was also very quiet and had AC and heating that was easily controlled.

We though this was fantastic for the price and would definitely recommend for anyone with a family even before heading in and out of Heathrow as it is only 1 junction south.

Room Tip: Family room with the extra room for children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykates_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Staff friendly and very welcoming. Room was spacious for a single room. Plenty of parking available. Bar/ restaurant staff were very friendly and the meal was good and at a reasonable price, with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stebbing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Spent 1 night here for a reunion with some friends, also where we spent our wedding night some 29 years ago!! We had Room 10, Chalfont Suite. It was spacious, clean, the bathroom is huge and the bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was tasty, hot and generous. The reason I haven't awarded an excellent, the room was 'chilly' upon arrival with the main radiator located in the entrance to the room, not allowing the heat to circulate and the supplementary wall heaters were a little complicated and noisy in operation. Bathroom was a little sparse on the toiletry front with only two wall soap dispensers, would have liked a little more in the suite.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyMHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Lovely hotel, well decorated and room good size and comfortable. The staff very helpful and the breakfast (english cooked) very decent. The continental could be a bit lacking but it did not really concern me as i took English every time :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dundrinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this fine hotel in room 14, staff all good, the room was freeeezing on arrival , air con pumping out cold air not good after a long journey up there !! And in February also , Could not get to grips with the over complicated heat unit, this was rectified by the front of house man on duty !! And after a nice meal in the restaurant on our return to the room it was as warm as toast, and an additional portable heater was added for our comfort , all in all this is a good hotel and worth the money ! We would return if we needed to be in the area again most definitely !!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R0n_dick0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

this is a really nice hotel, staff are great and helpful, food is good and good choice, real ales and wine is good and very good value,
rooms are comfortable clean and quiet, car park is big with excellent access. stairs can be difficult with case, laptop bag and suit bag get help.
I like the place the staff and its out of London but close enough to commute back in next morning

Room Tip: all the rooms I have used are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerrards Cross
0.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
822 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
364 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Denham Grove
Denham Grove
#1 of 1 in Denham
665 reviews
4.3 mi away
Stoke Place
Stoke Place
#2 of 2 in Stoke Poges
635 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#12 of 21 in Slough
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethorpe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethorpe Hotel

Property: Ethorpe Hotel
Address: 85 Packhorse Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 8HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Gerrards Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ethorpe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ethorpe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethorpe Hotel Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing