We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spoilt by Stoke Park on our anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spoilt by Stoke Park on our anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

For our anniversary this year, my wife and I had managed to convince her parents to look after our young children for two nights, and so we were looking for a hotel where the surroundings would be beautiful, the food and service excellent, and ideally where spa facilities were on offer for additional relaxation. We chose Stoke Park, but as it is effectively a 'hotel-cum-golf club' we were a little nervous. We needn't have been at all. It proved to have been a sensible choice from the first moment we arrived.

We were too early to check in (about noon), but the man on the desk (whose name may have been Brock?) was extremely friendly and helpful, and wished us a Happy Anniversary as soon as we gave our names - well prepared. He gave us passes to the spa, a whole host of ideas of places to visit, and promised to phone as soon as the room was ready. True to his word, a phone call arrived at about 2.45pm and we soon discovered that we had been upgraded from our original room. We stayed in Lane Jackson (all the rooms are named after important figures from the history of the original country house), at the front of the building, overlooking the practice green and part of the golf course. You might prefer a side room overlooking the lake, but it was still lovely. The room was large, sumptuous, and benefited from a large terrace balcony with seating and table - a nice plus, given the relatively good weather. The bathroom was very large with a pedestal bath - though with all that space it had a strangely small shower.

We were welcomed with an ice bucket containing a bottle of chilled Chardonnay (courtesy of Mr & Mrs Smith who we booked through and who I'd definitely recommend) and an anniversary card from the hotel.

Whilst my wife enjoyed an Indian Head Massage I relaxed in and by the pool, which was big enough to properly swim in, rather than just splash around. Dinner the first evening was in San Marco, and the food was excellent - in fact, better than first impressions would suggest. The bright colours, modern décor and seating booths are more suggestive of a chain Italian, but the food was certainly far higher quality than that. (Though to be fair, far higher price too...) Be warned - if you have the gnocchi starter to yourself, you'll struggle through the main - it was enormous.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel - we went into Marlow and had brunch both days at a little café called Fego which was superb.

The one area where the golf clubhouse/hotel dual role did impact was in the bar. My wife didn't really want to sit in amongst a large number of golfers who'd come in after their rounds, and so we didn't use it at all during our stay. It wasn't that they were golfers specifically, but the groups were typically male, and it's a different vibe than if it were just couples relaxing in their hotel bar. But that was really the only time we felt the overlap. We also spotted a couple having some lovely looking bar food in the lounge area, so there is still much to recommend it.

When we arrived back to our room in the afternoon on the second day (our anniversary itself), there was a lovely treat of a pair of cupcakes on a plate with 'happy anniversary' inscribed in chocolate. It's a small gesture, but was a lovely surprise and really added to our experience.

Dinner that night was in Humphry's (booked through Mr & Mrs Smith as the online booking service through the hotel's site suggested no availability), and although the décor is very traditional country house and a bit dated (fabric wallpaper, heavy monochromatic floral curtains, small chandelier, very faint piano muzak), the food was exquisite. The card from the chef was a nice touch, and our decision to switch tables was warmly welcomed. We started with cocktails, had a bottle of wine, three courses and spent £200, and felt that it had been worth every penny. The lamb was divine, and the chocolate box dessert with salted caramel sauce was also heavenly.

In general, I'd recommend the hotel for the kind of 'special occasion' couple of days. It's got a very relaxed feel, the staff are excellent, and we were made to feel very welcome. Stylistically it's a little dated - but it's a country house-style hotel, so it's not unexpected. I suppose it's because it feels a bit '1980s country house', rather than authentic 1900s country house. That said, it's not tired, or in any way shabby - everything was in excellent condition and perfectly clean. The 'Pavillion' hotel rooms (in a separate, modern building above the pool and spa) will probably offer a different experience, but I didn't see them.

I'd certainly stay there again, though next time I might bring my golf clubs and try to get on what looks to be a really lovely course.

Thanks Stoke Park - we had a wonderful and memorable anniversary.

Room Tip: Rooms to the side of the hotel overlooking the lake are probably the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyJCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your stay here with us at Stoke Park. It always is a pleasure to read through such lovely feedback and communicate this with all the departments involved, as here at Stoke Park we really care about feedback, as we feel it is fundamental to ensure we continue to not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectations.

I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and for all your comments,

I am thrilled that we were able to make your anniversary one to remember and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Very best wishes
Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    146
    54
    16
    15
See reviews for
126
397
20
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Fantastic day at the spa with my mum
Staff were incredibly friendly and the treatments were great.
Lunch was delicious and served in the spa
Excellent value
Definitely recommend for a luxurious
, relaxing day

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torsi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this great review of your Spa Day here with us at Stoke Park, I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your day and for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Very best wishes
Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I had lunch at Humphry's and from start to finish the food and service was outstanding. My favourite from today was the duck, cooked to my liking, nice and pink. The chocolate plate dessert is delicious finished the meal off with a dessert wine recommended by the knowledgable sommelier. Lovely lunch can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for this fabulous review of your lunch in Humphry’s, I am pleased that the Duck was cooked to your liking and you enjoyed the wine recommended by our Sommelier. It always gives me great pleased to read through such positive comments and communicate these to all the staff members involved.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Very best wishes
Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

A group of four of us went to Stoke Park for a one night stay and to play the golf course, we stayed in the pavilion section of the hotel which is a short walk to the Manor house, the pavilion rooms were first class with all that you could need for a comfortable stay.
The Manor house which is also the clubhouse is a beautiful building with fantastic grounds and great views over the golf course.
The golf course itself was a joy to play lots of fabulous holes and pace of play was under four hours.
The food was fantastic as were all the staff,if you get the chance to go you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your stay here with us, I am delighted to read such positive comments from every aspect of your visit. I am especially delighted with your comments about our beautiful grounds and fantastic golf course – designed by Harry Colt in 1908. Whilst playing you may have also noticed that this has been inspiration for many courses in particular our 7th Tee was the inspiration for Augusta’s 16th Tee.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Very best wishes
Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

A group of eight us went to Stoke Park recently for afternoon tea. Well what a treat. The grounds are beautiful, the buildings classic. The staff were just wonderful. So helpful because I was in a wheelchair. Tea was brilliant and we indulged. An amazing selection of teas and coffee available for those who don't take tea. Very tempting sandwiches, scones wirh cream and jam and cakes. Well we didn't quite do the cakes justice becasue we had fared so well up to that point. Staff were discreet but always to hand to top up food and drinks. We really didn't want to leave. Would we recommend this venue? Well yes, yes and yes!

Room Tip: Let staff advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your afternoon tea, I am thrilled that you and the rest of your group had a great time and thank you so much for your very kind words, particularly regarding our staff- it is always our aim to exceed your expectations and I'm delighted you had a fabulous time with us,

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Very best wishes
Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Visted Stoke Park with 3 other couples for afternoon tea (and coffee). There were several other groups doing the same while we were there. The staff were very attentive, coming round to pour tea and also to replensih sandwiches and cakes as they were consumed.

We all had a lovely time and went for a walk in the grounds afterwards. We would certainly go back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Med_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review of your afternoon tea here with us, I am delighted that both you and your friends enjoyed your visit. I must say, I am especially pleased with your comments regarding our staff – as we believe that attentive and friendly staff are fundamental to ensuring our guests have a memorable experience and we always hope to exceed our guests expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Very best wishes
Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Unfortunately we had to cancel our weekend stay last minute. The hotel waved the due penalty and were very understanding of our situation. I have been extremely impressed by the service from the reservations team and duty managers. We will most certainly rebook as this type of customer service is not often found.

We look forward to our stay with you. Mr and Mrs Bedi

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheetalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am extremely pleased with your comments about our Reservations Teams and Duty Managers responses to your situation, as we pride ourselves on taking a personal and understanding approach.

We look forward to welcoming you to Stoke Park very soon and hope that you find your time with us one to remember.

Very Best wishes

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
4.0 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stoke Place
Stoke Place
#2 of 2 in Stoke Poges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
9.0 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
3.0 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel

Property: Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
Address: Stoke Park Farm Park Road, Stoke Poges SL2 4PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoke Park is Europe’s leading Hotel, Spa and Country Club Resort conveniently located 35 minutes from London and only 7 miles from Heathrow. Situated in leafy Buckinghamshire, Stoke Park is set amidst 300 acres of glorious parkland, lakes and gardens. With 49 exquisite bedrooms, a 27 hole Championship golf course, award winning Spa, 13 tennis courts and a state-of-the-art gymnasium, one will certainly encounter the ultimate Stoke Park experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Park Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Park Poges
Stoke Park Hotel Poges
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa And Hotel Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing