We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of Stoke Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stoke Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have read the reviews below, and we must have picked a particularly bad day. Visited Stoke Place this afternoon (Easter Monday) with my parents for afternoon tea and I have to say that the experience was not a good one. Despite making a reservation in the Garden room, we were moved to a room with no view and no atmosphere. Whilst the tea itself was well presented the member of staff serving us added nothing for the experience and indeed brought us our bill half way through the tea and then asked for us to pay. Nothing like destroying an experience. We found it soulless and would not go back or advise anyone else to attend for afternoon tea. Very disappointing particularly as it was an Easter present for my parents. We felt shepherded in and shepherded out. Considering the whole experience was £80 for 3 people I feel it was a lot of money NOT well spent.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mustangsally41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    172
    112
    62
    27
See reviews for
80
301
17
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding party
The good. Wedding room, food, service etc all good, and for a big wedding party the location is beautiful.
The bad. We stayed in a suite, it was shabby, the blinds were frayed, the window nets once white were grey and at least 3 of the ceiling spot lights not working. The bed was brick hard. Our room was not cleaned by 1pm and despite my request we had to change for the wedding ceremony in an unmade up room.
All in all very average but the important bit was good.
We would not stay here from choice if we were just visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisborough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I just celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary whist staying at Stoke Place. We had a fantastic time. The staff are welcoming and will arrange or organize anything you wish for. We had a complimentary bottle of champagne and flowers in our room on arrival and we felt like the we had the whole house at our disposal. On the second day we just stayed around the house and enjoyed the gardens whilst walking or using the bikes available, bar lounge and also a picnic in the grounds which was perfectly presented and great contents.

The room we stayed in was room 8, the Gloucester Suite, which was lovely, large and well decorated. It has 3 large windows looking over the grounds and lake and also a free standing bath by the window so you can soak whilst relaxing and taking in the views.

We had breakfast in the room both days and the food was very good and cannot be faulted. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but had lunch and also the picnic which were both great including the choice of wines. We went to the Waterside Inn for dinner which is located in Bray village and the hotel organized a luxury car to take us there which was about 10-15 mins away.

All together a very relaxing, personal and high level break and we will definitely be going back soon. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Gloucester suite is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunts30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My mothers day experience at the Garden Room was very enjoyable. Good restaurant by all means! It's not the cheapest but you certainly get what you pay for. Simply wonderful no nonsense plain English food. Great atmosphere, the manager and the service was some of the best ever, attentive and extremely polite. Our waitress was Agnes she was lovely, very professional and had made our day. They certainly know how to treat people like customers.
Thank you guys! Beautiful restaurant, beautiful food and beautiful staff! Greatly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedee162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Excellent few days away. Lush hotel with beautiful grounds and lake. Was calm and relaxing, felt like middle of no where but was close to Windsor, and Marlow(for the wife....).
The restaurant and food here are first class, both in terms of food and service. I cant believe it only has two rosettes - worthy of much, much more. Small criticism but some of the corridor carpets were worn, and the wood floor in both bar and restaurant need some upkeep. All in all this is a great property, well run and managed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stoke Place is an absolutely stunning hotel. The rooms are great (we loved the ipod docking station and DVD player in the room) and the staff are fantastic - they really couldn't do enough to help us. We had dinner and breakfast and both meals were sublime. The grounds are superb and there is a great walk around a lake - we only wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be returning to this gem of a hotel in the very near future

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We got a deal that included dinner and breakfast. The room was stunning, beautiful decor and very comfortable. It's an old hotel but with very modern decor. Huge bathroom with a freestanding bath and separate power shower. There was a docking station for the ipod/iphone too.
The meal was delicious, we ate the Garden Room restaurant although you can also eat in the bar and have bar meals. We were the only ones in the restaurant which was slightly odd for 20:00 on a Friday night but I think there was a wedding on the next day so a lot of the guests may have been occupied with preparations. The service was exceptional throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble.
Would certainly recommend Stoke Place, enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FleetAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
0.8 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
2.8 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#12 of 21 in Slough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Property: Stoke Place
Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing