We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quirky country house, good food, service casual and formal!”
Review of Stoke Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoke Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Had a 1 night stay to celebrate my birthday, booking a special package which included the room, breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant. The house itself is a lovely, grand, slightly quirky country estate with private gardens, lakes and woodlands. The grounds were all well kept and we enjoyed a walk around the lake (despite the rain!). The house itself is very impressive, with a bit of a quirky mix of old and new furniture. Our room was in the main house, lovely period features, but again a quirky mix of old and new furniture. All clean, smart, everything you need, just quirky. However, the most unusual part was the service. The 2 people at reception were very relaxed, friendly, almost laid-back. Whereas the restaurant staff were very formal, posh, silver service and we felt like we couldn't really relax. The food was impressive, although the chef did like to over-indulge a little on the extra dishes between courses, so from what we ordered as 3 courses turned into 7! However, all very nice, again quirky, certainly things I wouldn't have tried elsewhere. Overall, I'd describe it as a place with character - its certainly not a generic corporate box. But I do think they need to decide whether their service is relaxed or formal.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house, which was a traditional grand room. We saw the new rooms which were set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stoke Place is fine but it could be a lot better. I think it probably depends on what room you get. If you get room 1, like I did, then your experience will be mediocre at best. This room sits right over the front entrance and you can pretty much hear everything that is being said. It is also tiny and is one of those rooms where you open the door and you are straight at the bed which always feels like you're sleeping in the corridor because when anyone walks past the room you can hear it like they are in there with you. I also had to ask to get proper feather pillows. They were provided by this is the kind of detail that should dealt with already.
So - avoid room 1 and others like it. Having said that, some of the rooms are great being large and with nice views.
The food we had was a mix of the really good to the slightly strange. Breakfast is fine and the cooked English was very good. Dinner was good but lunch an odd mix of buffet dishes that did not make sense. The nearby pub serves good pub food and has a pleasant atmosphere to it.
The staff were by and large helpful and friendly.
Ultimately I felt Stoke Place was missing something. The layout of the hotel does not quite work for me and the public rooms with the nice views to the pond are given over to meeting rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MetalPigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We chose Stoke Place to hold a very special 50th birthday party, catering for over 40 guests for a sit down meal, entertainment, DJ and an open bar. We took 17 rooms and everything was organised remotely as we don't live in the UK, this included all menus, cakes, decorating the Room and liaising with our guests regarding accommodation. The staff were excellent, very attentive taking in to account all our/ guests requirements. The food was prepared and presented fabulously. The rooms were also good and all in all the whole experience was great and we had very good feedback from our guests also. It's a lovely venue, but the key to the success of the weekend was the staff all of whom gave very personal service making it very special indeed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AP1_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

i love this hotel.

The staff are very friendly and helpfull, the rooms are clean and well maintained, there is free wifi, the breakfast is exceptional, the grounds are beautiful. It's a peach.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank flanology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have read the reviews below, and we must have picked a particularly bad day. Visited Stoke Place this afternoon (Easter Monday) with my parents for afternoon tea and I have to say that the experience was not a good one. Despite making a reservation in the Garden room, we were moved to a room with no view and no atmosphere. Whilst the tea itself was well presented the member of staff serving us added nothing for the experience and indeed brought us our bill half way through the tea and then asked for us to pay. Nothing like destroying an experience. We found it soulless and would not go back or advise anyone else to attend for afternoon tea. Very disappointing particularly as it was an Easter present for my parents. We felt shepherded in and shepherded out. Considering the whole experience was £80 for 3 people I feel it was a lot of money NOT well spent.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Mustangsally41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding party
The good. Wedding room, food, service etc all good, and for a big wedding party the location is beautiful.
The bad. We stayed in a suite, it was shabby, the blinds were frayed, the window nets once white were grey and at least 3 of the ceiling spot lights not working. The bed was brick hard. Our room was not cleaned by 1pm and despite my request we had to change for the wedding ceremony in an unmade up room.
All in all very average but the important bit was good.
We would not stay here from choice if we were just visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisborough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I just celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary whist staying at Stoke Place. We had a fantastic time. The staff are welcoming and will arrange or organize anything you wish for. We had a complimentary bottle of champagne and flowers in our room on arrival and we felt like the we had the whole house at our disposal. On the second day we just stayed around the house and enjoyed the gardens whilst walking or using the bikes available, bar lounge and also a picnic in the grounds which was perfectly presented and great contents.

The room we stayed in was room 8, the Gloucester Suite, which was lovely, large and well decorated. It has 3 large windows looking over the grounds and lake and also a free standing bath by the window so you can soak whilst relaxing and taking in the views.

We had breakfast in the room both days and the food was very good and cannot be faulted. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but had lunch and also the picnic which were both great including the choice of wines. We went to the Waterside Inn for dinner which is located in Bray village and the hotel organized a luxury car to take us there which was about 10-15 mins away.

All together a very relaxing, personal and high level break and we will definitely be going back soon. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Gloucester suite is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunts30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
0.8 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
2.8 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
835 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
613 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#13 of 21 in Slough
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range: £69 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing