We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Birthday Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoke Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoke Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is by far the best afternoon tea I have had in a very long time. Excellent selection of teas, cakes, beautiful homemade scones and lovely selection of sandwiches all set in beautiful surroundings and the garden room is the perfect setting :) also I would highly recommend the champagne option , as the champagne is just lovely. Overall an amazing house, beautiful food and the staff and service was exceptional I could not fault one aspect of the afternoon, I was treated extremely well and did not felt pressured we were aloud to take our time and the staff even let me change the tea I had. Also I mentioned it was my birthday and they even wrote Happy Birthday on the slate plate the desserts came on.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    168
    110
    61
    24
See reviews for
78
293
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northants
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Secret Escapes stayed over the Bank Holiday , hotel was busy with a large wedding party but our check in was very efficient, room was in a separate building away from the main hotel, very modern and everything you needed, bed very comfy, plenty of hot water towels and free bottles of water.our deal included a three course a l carte meal, can I say the food was superb the service was superb have eaten in some London restaurants and the food here easily matched if not better. My only moan is that you get a service charge put on everything which I think should be optional so that you can tip if you feel like it is deserved. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank morgieNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I booked Stoke Place on a deal through Secret Escapes which included B & B and a 3 course meal. I have been to Stoke Place before for lunch and dinner and i have always enjoyed the food here so when the opportunity came up to get a weekend stay deal i immediately booked it. The hotel is very cosy with around 40 rooms, some in the main building and some new additions on the grounds. Check in went smoothly and we were allocated room 21 in the main building. Nice room which had been modernised and felt fresh and up to date. The window was quite small (top floor) but with a nice view over the lake and grounds. There is no tea or coffee facilities in the room but you can get a tray of tea / coffee delivered free of charge upon request. My only small complaint about the room would be that there was only a bath (with a shower attachment - no shower cubicle.
There was a wedding reception going on during our stay but they party was thankfully in the banquetting rooms to the side of the hotel so it was not too noisy.
The bar is quite small but tastefully done with lots of tables outside on the lawn overlooking the lake. The sun was shining so it was fantastic to sit outside and sip some chilled wine. Dinner took place in the Garden restaurant which is adjacent to the bar. The menu is fantastic and i struggled to pick my couses - i wanted to try it all. You also get lots of little pre starters/amuse bouche's which were amazing. Very innovative food!
Breakfast takes place in the same room. "Slightly" disappointed with the breakfast. You have a buffet style continental breakfast with cereals, musli, yoghurts, pastries and fresh fruit but no cheese or cold cuts available at the buffet. Tea, coffee and toast served at the table. . You can order hot food like full english, omelettes etc (included in B&B) but other dishes like Eggs benedict are charged a supplement. Don't get me wrong, it was ok but i have had better breakfasts.
It is wonderful to walk around the lake which takes around 15 minutes. There are ducks and squirrels crossing your path everywhere. There are also park benches and hammocks scattered around the grounds.
I adore the design of Stoke place, the lounges, restaurant etc are very modern and quirky with giant tea cups full of flowers.. a bit like Alice in Wonderland. My only niggle would be that service can be a bit slow at times but this would not stop me from going back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just returned from a nights stay at the hotel. We stayed in one of the suites. We checked in at three, this allowed us to make the most of the facilities at the hotel. Taking advantage of the break in the rain we took the hotels bikes out for a cycle around the grounds. This was beautiful and we saw some deer and other wildlife. We then returned to the room and had i relaxing bath in the roll top bath.

Then we took a tour of the hotel rooms and sat in the bar area. This is beautifully decorated and the staff were really helpful in recommending items off the menu.

Later we had dinner in the garden room. This is where we met the restaurant and bar manager, who kindly assisted us in recommending wines to suit our meals. Jakob and his team provided fantastic service. The food by the south African chef was fabulous. The taster menu enabled us to sample the delights of the menu. The menu merged both modern and traditional dishes, and experimented with different styles and presentations.

We would like to thank all the staff for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hstevens6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel is set in a lovely location and really has a lot of potential. Dinner was innovator and definitely worth testing. If overall we had a very good time, the service was not on par with what you would expect from such a place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esieens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

After holding our wedding reception at Stoke Place we decided to hold our sons christening party there also, as the service, and level of care we received at our wedding was second to none and streets ahead of that we have had at friend’s weddings.

Our high expectations were not in vain as the service and level of care we received at the Christening was second to none. The staff are helpful, attentive and approachable and will go out of there way to help.

This is of course on top of the amazing décor and surroundings of Stoke Place. We would no qualms to recommend Stoke Place to friends and Family and look forward to holding much another party there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Lovely historic hotel and grounds. The room we had was amazing - with roll top bath and separate bathroom and masses of space (obviously we only stayed in one room so not sure what the others are like!). I'd imagine it would be a great place to get married although we were just there for a few days' stay. There's not a huge amount of facilities here but the grounds are lovely if the weather is good and you can just relax walking round the lake or on the lawns. The food was very good overall and the staff quite attentive. The local pub (Red Lion?) is also just down the road and is decent if you want to leave the grounds for a few hours / quick pint / slow walk home. Overall a relaxing and luxurious experience although it was quite expensive overall but generally well worth it. One downside we experienced: the heating was on full blast at all times throughout the hotel making the rooms upstairs quite hot.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jarvontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
0.8 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
2.8 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#12 of 21 in Slough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Property: Stoke Place
Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing