We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay”
Review of Stoke Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stoke Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Although the weather was cold and wet. The rooms were warm and cosy, comfortable and nicely decorated. We had a room with shower only. Which was really splendid although we weren't warned that it was shower only beforehand. Lovely linen and bathrobes and slippers provided. And excellent tea and coffee provided in the rooms, with nice china mugs.

Free fast wifi connection throughout the Hotel. Access to the bedrooms is through quite narrow stair cases in some parts but the staff always ready to offer assistance with cases.

The house is beautiful with some quite unusual furnishings a strange mixture of chic and very modern. The Garden room in which we were served dinner has a lovely view of the garden but quite surprising decor more like a Laura Ashley kitchen look than a country hotel. However the food was exceptional and the staff were delightful.

Breakfast was good with an excellent variety of fruit and cereal etc, juices and full English.

We managed to take a walk around the extensive grounds whilst there, views are lovely and they have swans on the large lake. It is a really lovely place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jeanyvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for the lovely review, We hope to see you back at Stoke Place in the future

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Stoke Place for one night in and tried the 8 course tasting menu. AMAZING!
We had the Cheltenham suite which was a gorgeous room in the main house, with a comfy four poster bed, flat screen tv, two leather chairs and desk space, a wardrobe and all the usual amenities - tea, coffee etc. The bathroom had a big shower, a roll top bath and his and hers sinks which were super cute! A really lovely room.
Our meal was booked for 8pm but we had lovely cocktails in the bar first and the service was quick and the staff lovely.
We were given copies of the menus and the wine list beforehand and were called to our table at 8pm.
We ate in the Garden Room which I loved! It's really bright and quirky and full of light and overlooks the grounds of the hotel. Service was amazing, each course arrived beautifully presented with an explanation of exactly what was on your plate. The food was delicious and every course was amazing - the scallops and the black pepper and cream cheese sherbet were my two favourite courses but every single one was unusual and tasty.
After dinner we went back to the bar for an after dinner cocktail and the staff were always checking on us to make sure we were ok.

Great experience!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mrs_ramsey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your lovely review

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have stayed at Stoke Place quite a few times with my husband and i keep on wanting to come back again and again. This time i organised a girly weekend for a friend's birthday (6 of us) and we were not disappointed. All the girls have now vowed to come back again with their families in the summer :-)
We had a friendly meet and greet on arrival and were quickly checked in. Mark (who was very charming and friendly) grabbed our luggage and escorted my friend and i to our cottage (no 29 - Marlborough) which is situated a few moments walk from the main house. The bedroom was very spacious with a quirky four poster bed (super comfy) and a large bathroom with a bath tub and a wet room shower.
Our friends were in 2 of the suites - The Regency and the Cheltenham - both really beautiful and quirky!
We had a great evening in the bar drinking champagne and playing games. It is so nice and relaxed and not "stuffy" compared to many other country house hotels.

The best thing though is the food - i adore the Garden room restaurant here. Such amazing food! We had the 3 course a la carte dinner which comes with little additional extras of 2 amuse bouches before your starter and a pre-dessert - nice little surprises.

This is a great little place if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle in London - only 25 minutes on the train from Marylebone to Gerrards Cross and a short taxi ride from there to the hotel (£15 each way for a taxi or £20 for a 6 seater)
We also managed to take a walk around the lake (takes about 10 min or so) before the rain started :-) There are also bikes available for excursions furhter afield.
Stoke Place has a great mix of old and new with some lovely little design twists (see photos).
i will be back again!

Room Tip: The suites are of course the best of the best (all in the main building) but the Cottages are really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were greeted by the Duty Manager who was courteous and efficient. He upgraded our room to a suite, carried our bags to the room and made us feel very welcome. We then went for a walk around the beautiful grounds, followed by cocktails in the bar by a very efficient and well trained barman, The evening meal was phenomenal; nouveau cuisine to the max, exactly what you see on all the top cookery programmes but better! My husband and I hadn't even eaten many of the ingredients and we loved every single thing. The service from the waiters was exemplary, really top notch, which made the experience outstanding. We were fortunate enough to get a package deal with a night stay and 3 course meal (which turned out to be 6 courses as the chef added a few more from the tasting menu!), but the standard rates are still incredibly reasonable. It's well on its way to Michelin star(s) excellence, the food and service is that good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for the lovely Review

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Booked Stoke Place off the cuff as a little treat for me and the wife.
We were both extremely impressed with the warm friendly welcome and professional attentive staff. The hotel is set on lovely grounds and has real character mixed with a chic twist.
Our room the Regency Suite was vey nicely laid out being both modern and comfortable.
We dined at the hotel and was completely amazed and delighted with our food it's presentation and the overall experience which surpassed any of the better known top restaurants we have tried in London.
A Little Gem is the only way we would describe it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank M1SEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you so much for the lovely review, we always strive to do our best and improve our offering week on week.

We do hope you will return in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We got a voucher deal, champagne dinner bed and breakfast in an executive room, we turned up and our room didn't have a bath even though we'd requested one, we asked reception and were quickly moved to Linton room. Four poster bed, roll top bath, view over the front driveway. Food was excellent if a little slow, service was alright. Helpful and cheerful staff. Lovely setting, even though it was a grey and drizzly Saturday. Had a stroll round the grounds and lake then headed in to Oxford, then headed on to another hotel. Request to stay in the old main hotel. The converted stable rooms looked nice inside but a bit holiday village and not very private from the exterior. A luxurious base to explore, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend if you can get a good online deal!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveller2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback, It is always nice to see our guests enjoying themselves.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My friend and I had afternoon tea in the Garden Room. There were many things which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had a lovely green table to sit at and I was totally fascinated by the wallpeper! The champagne was delicious and all the gorgeous sandwiches, scones and cakes were fantastic. The service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. A beautiful old mansion furnished with good taste and really good value for money for a lovely tea. As I only live a few miles away I shall certainly spend more time there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Carole

Thank you so much for the review, We look forward to seeing you in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
0.8 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
2.8 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
854 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#13 of 21 in Slough
537 reviews
8.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
4.7 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range: £76 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing