We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant excellent but don't stay in an attic room”
Review of Stoke Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoke Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I booked a DBB deal and we stayed in room 25 (attic). I really think these should be 'single' rooms as they are tiny as is the bathroom. There's not enough room in it to dry yourself! Also as previous people have commented it's up a steep flight of narrow stairs. Thankfully there's aircon that works in the room but could do without the heated towel rail in the bathroom staying on all night in the height of summer as it makes it unbearably hot, Having said that, the food at dinner was excellent and so was the breakfast and I loved the retro furniture especially the green Arpo leaf chairs outside. However if you are looking for a traditional country house hotel - it might not be to your taste. Also there is some noisy maintenance work being carried out at the moment, which slightly spoils sitting outside.

Room Tip: Don't have room 25 in the attic if you can help it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I think, the hotel was good wrt "English hospitality". However, comparing wrt any Asian Holiday, this comes nowhere close. @ 230 pounds per night, it is definitely expensive. Rooms are very small. In general, I have seen the British Hotels to be very systematic. On my first night, I could notice that shampoo and body wash were not available in the bathroom. I did not ask for it as I carry my own. Next day, these things were kept. Surprising that it was not kept as a standard practise. No "soap" bar in the bathroom and had to ask for it.
Service was good in the hotel as people were polite. Entire staff was courteous. Breakfast spread was ok. Compare to other good hotels, it was not good.
I think, this place is meant for Holiday for people without kids. Could not see any kids in the Hotel or notice any activities which are meant for Hotel. So it is primarily an adult holiday place. Serene surroundings.
Personally speaking, I would prefer any good 4/5 Star Hotel in Heathrow as compared to this.

Overall, OK experience. My expectation was low hence did not mind. Do not go with high expectation as it is not a 4/5 Star experience.

Food was good even though expensive.

Room Tip: Not meant for people with kids. Rooms are very small. If you are looking for a quiet Holiday, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandeepmohangupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely overnight stay, with dinner and breakfast included in our offer. Service was outstanding, we were notified in advance of potential interruptions to our stay which was much appreciated. We stayed in the lodges and used the bicycles

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ibidunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The service and grounds here are very nice. The staff are helpful and friendly. I was here on business and easily got myself to train and went into paddington station. My only complaint is the intermittent wifi. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2newdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just spent a memorable weekend here.
The Hotel is set in acres of beautiful grounds and lake.
The food was excellent. The rib eye of beef was the best I have ever tasted. So succulent. The staff could not do enough for us. Everything we asked for , they supplied for us , with a smile.
A very big thank you to Ian , the manager , who was there 24/7.
And to Patrick who helped out with last minute arrangements.
A very cosy boutique Country Hotel with a. Ery relaxed feel to the place.
We will definitely be coming back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Foodie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This lovely old hotel is set in beautiful grounds with a large pretty lake at the end. You can take a walk right round the lake and see beautiful floating lilies, a variety of ducks with their babies, geese and swans. We also saw deer and squirrels, dragon flies and lots of birds. There is adequate outdoor seating to enjoy the views, have a drink, and even eat breakfast! The staff are all very friendly and efficient. The operational manager and the MD are super blokes who took time out of their very busy schedule ( there was a big wedding for them to deal with), to stop and have a laugh and chat with us. The chef is brilliant, producing tasty and interesting food. If there is a down side to this hotel is would only be the price. It is quite expensive!

Room Tip: Room 12 was nice and peaceful, very comfortable and has a large shower, but no bath. Also has quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Champagne27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was treated here for a birthday break. The hotel builidng was modest. Nice decor in the main areas. The room was ok - decor was a little tatty. But unfortunately we were greeted with some faeces in the toilet. Maybe its not that big a deal - but i have never had this issue with any other hotel i have stay at, and some were low 2- star establishments. We didnt think this was acceptable. If that hadn't been cleaned - what else hadn't. The lady at the desk - Monika offered another room to us. But it was far smaller so we declined. Instead she said housekeeping will come by in an hour or so to clean it. Fine. We decided to go for a walk on the grounds - which were perhaps not as beautiful as described on their website. The areas surrounding the lake was quite 'mucky'. Did not look well maintained. There was geese poop all over the grounds. The romantic walk ended up with us trying to avoid the mess and tip toeing our way around. Anyway 2 hours later...back to our room and the toilet still hadn't been cleaned. We called the front desk and the lady at the desk offered to clean for us - but it was not her job. Finally another hour later housekeeping turned up with the manager who offered us complimenarty drinks at our dinner. Not very impressed....What was more frustrating after dinner i decided to take a nice relaxing bath after a relatively unneccessarily stresful start to the break. I grabbed a towel only to find black clumps in the white towels...i couldn't quite tell you what they were apart from it was sizeable dark matter imbedded into the towel. My husband took the towel downstairs to the front desk. After these two inccidents on the first night...we tried to not let it spoil our break. In general the staff were very friendly and helpful. A big thank you to Monika for having to deal with these issues. The breakfast was decent, the dinner was ok but we thought it was far too pricey for what it was. Overall we would not recommend or be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
0.8 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
2.8 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
835 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
613 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,347 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#13 of 21 in Slough
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range: £69 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing