We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Cliveden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliveden House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The location and the atmosphere is at the same time, magic, relaxing and calm
The personnel is outstanding!
Dinner is fantastic, meals are prepared with professional attention, fresh ingredients and wisely combined with good wines
Luxury rooms with heating problem (I had to sleep with the bathroom door open to have a decent temperature in the morning
Breakfast ok having fresh fruit e nd pastry but limited range of dishes

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Just so happy to hear that you considered the team "outstanding", they thank you for your kind comments and take a bow, We have a new chef at the helm, Andre Garrett and he has breakfast in his sights for a few additional touches which we are sure will address your comments about breakfast. Kind regards Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

The grandiose view of Cliveden House so majestically greeting you was as much as the warm welcome received by one of Front of House team taking care of our cars. We were a little late arriving for our Afternoon Tea due to heavy traffic along the way, but the warm and friendly welcome was repeated by other Front of House members. We were taken to seats in the lobby, at first thinking that perhaps our table was not quite ready, but then realised that as the table where we were seated was already set with crockery & cutlery we wondered...... When we were then given our menu and our teas to choose we asked if this was where we would have our tea. The answer we got was "yes, we do not have a table big enough to seat all 7". Even our guests from abroad were a little perplexed - the table was very low because of course it was just a large coffee table albeit a beautiful one!!! It would be most uncomfortable to sit for such a long time at the edge of the sofa and having to keep bending forward to reach for our food. We asked another member of Front of House if it was possible to seat us elsewhere and after a few moments we were called over to check if the table they had prepared was in order. Perfect!!!! A circular table was beautifully laid out and we were served a wonderful Afternoon Tea enjoyed by everyone of us. Even one of our guests who had plenty allergies to deal with was given absolute assurances, great care and attention. We also had a brief tour afterwards which we also enjoyed. We would love to come again in the Spring when the gardens would be in full bloom and admire what must be some stunning views.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELVDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

"Tea at Cliveden", not quite the same ring as "Tea at The Ritz" but we are working on building a reputation to match! So pleased you were found a table that was comfortable and just right for the 7 of you and that the dietary details were all taken care of. Spring is a fine time to visit, just as all the thousands of Tulips are coming up.... we look forward to seeing you then. Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

we are just back from cliveden house. the hotel building and its interior are a well preserved historical monument. the gardens around the building are huge, majestic and well preserved. the staff is well trained, very friendly and helpful..you get into the hotel loby and you feel the old british tradition at its best. with all these starting points you get into your room and you are disappointed. the room is very large and convenient, very clean and quiet but too many guests went through this room for too many years, with no necessary renovations taking place. we also want the historical atmosphere to be preserved. yet at the same time a little bit of renovations: new carpets, modern bath and shower, roomtemperature control etc this hotel has the potential to become the top hotel in the UK.
we fully enjoyed our stay and will come back again. but the owners shld make the investment-it is worth their while.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Great sentiments and thank you for your review. Vast sums need to be spent on the house and a tremendous amount has already been spent in the last 18 months. It is just that the project is vast and there was lots of catch up to do. To date we have resurfaced the drive, restored most of the 324 windows, refurbishes our Dining room, two meeting rooms,Spring Cottage, and the plan is to start on rooms in January & many of the behind the scenes areas needed attention too! The process of gaining permission to undertake works is complex and lengthy. Our owners completely see the task ahead and will as custodians of the interior of this stunning house continue to make improvements as soon as process will allow. We are thrilled with our new dining room and love the lift it has brought to the house. Exciting times ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I am a great fan of Chewton Glen but thought it was time I checked out the sister hotel. Cliveden house is stunning - beautiful house and grounds with fabulous staff. The great entrance hall, library and restaurant are all stunning but very comfortable and welcoming at the same time. You would expect the new Andre Garret restaurant to be excellent but it was absolutely sublime. The food combined incredible flavours and textures, looked beautiful and, if no one else had been present, I probably would have licked the plates clean! I stayed just the one night on my own and the staff were, without exception, friendly, professional, passionate about the house and the service they provide and really made my stay enjoyable. My Room was contemporary and beautifully done - heavenly bed. No hesitation in recommending this hotel. Simply marvellous.

Room Tip: Room 'leona' - contemporary style, great bed, lovely bathroom. Not brilliant view if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

I think a slightly different approach to this response is called for here. I am going to start with a thank you to the team for making you feel so welcome and relaxed in these lovely surroundings. As a single traveller I might imagine you would have the opportunity to notice all the small details and if we got these right for you I am delighted. We look forward to a 2nd opportunity to look after you and before too long we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

As your car crunches up the gravel drive and the house dominates the landscape your expectations rise and are met by the beautiful interior of the house. Gorgeous

It was my first trip here and it was spectacular. Attentive but not intrusive service, great food, stunning countryside and beautiful rooms and the chance to sit in the hot tub next to the outdoor swimming pool whilst sipping champagne, all made last night a time to remember.

I had told the it was my birthday but I didn't expect a beautifully little birthday cake, complete with candle to be beautifully packaged and placed on the table in my room as I arrived.

My favourite members of staff were the doormen, especially the ultra charming spanish man who whisked my bags away from me in seconds and made us feel so welcome - nothing is too much trouble for them, from recommending a lovely walk in the countryside to having fun going down the outside slide (it has to be done) from the top of the house.

The library is lovely to sit in and there's a great wine list to choose from. We had calvados, recommended by the staff and slouched in front of the fire just taking in the atmosphere and sheer englishness of it all.

I love the fact you can bring your dog and also that when you arrive they put your name on the front of your bedroom door, which was the fashion in Downtown Abbey days when going away to a country house weekend. Great toiletries in the room and a huge decanter of sherry (very Miss Marple) as well as medjool dates, chocolate bark and a mandarin in case you get hungry or thirsty.

If I was being picky, the only let down was the spa. Whoever is in charge of that isn't as on the ball as the rest of the team. One of the hot tubs had been out of action for 3 days (according to a member I spoke to) and the women's lockers just inside the changing rooms are ridiculously small and cramped, sited right at the entrance of the door so it only takes 3 women either trying to use the lockers or go in or out to cause utter chaos. The steam room is very premier inn - ie all plastic, no design features, no scent and the sauna needs a re-vamp. Pools indoor and outdoors are great and lovely fluffy towels and robes and slippers all included. The products on sale looked a bit limited and not very well displayed.

Would I go back. Yes, tomorrow. The rooms are very expensive but as a treat, totally worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back so you get to see the gorgeous formal garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Ah those all important first impressions..... so pleased the house met them and indeed the team.
I take your comments on about the Spa and we will make quick inroads on the items we can and for the larger items we are working towards a new scheme and the permissions required to undertake these will take a while, but please rest assured we are on it! Paolo (Spanish porter) and I hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

You cannot help but be impressed as you are welcomed by the iconic fountains of love as you catch a glimmer of the stunning building Cliveden House. The excitement builds as you know you have arrived somewhere very special. We were welcomed at the car by one of the front of house team which is always a great start. We were running a little late for dinner so decided to leave our bags and our border terrier in the car whilst we went through to dinner, the kind gentleman who welcomed us offered some water for our dog and also to walk him around the grounds! I paused as we were shown through to the Great Hall for a glass of Champagne to take in the atmosphere, lots of people chatting, a burning fire, the piano playing in the corner and a magnificent flower arrangement all set the scene for what was sure to be a wonderful night. We enjoyed a glass of Champagne before being shown through to their beautiful new restaurant, it was clear from the smiles and demeanor of the team that they were proud to be working at Cliveden. We were shown through to our table the restaurant had a great buzz, I chose the Lobster dish followed by the Venison, both dishes were delicious, no wonder there has been so much talk about Andre Garrett coming to Cliveden. After a truly memorable night where we were beautifully looked after, we retired to a lovely suite on the west wing which was dog friendly and had good access to get out onto the grounds, the sheets were so soft and the bed very comfortable, a perfect end to what had been a beautiful evening. In the morning, we went down to breakfast where we were warmly welcomed by Melinda, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast whilst overlooking the peaceful and stunning view. If you are looking to re-charge your batteries or want a special treat, book Cliveden, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Gosh thank you for taking the time to send us such a lovely review. It was our pleasure to have you come and stay with us and to meet "Mutley", (great name for a dog by the way). He was the perfect gent and welcome back any time. I am so pleased your stay coincided with the new restaurant opening and that you could be amongst the first to experience the new dining room and Andre's new dishes. Its great that we hit the mark for you and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards, Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The history says this is a house dedicated to the pursuit of pleasure....well that statement's still true today. Just returned from a wonderful, romantic, 2 night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I LOVE this place. It feels like staying as an invited guest. The staff are impeccably trained. They are all 'knowing' and have the ability to anticipate a guests needs well before one realises one has needs!! The staff are truly faultless. The Andre Garrett restaurant opened on Monday evening and we were fortunate to attend the launch. The food here is pure genius...well done Andre and all the team.

The weather couldn't have been more different on the 2 days we stayed here but that only added to our delightful stay here. When it rained, we sat by the magnificent fireplace in the Great Hall, reading and drinking tea or red wine and when we were met with glorious autumn sunshine, we explore the magnificent grounds, there's a wealth of walks here and also a maze.

I truly could have stayed forever!

Room Tip: We stayed in Asquith. Looking front view looking down to the fountain of love. Bathroom very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

What a lovely review, thank you. Well I am delighted that your Anniversary happened to fall on the very night we re opened the Andre Garrett restaurant. There was a buzz in the air that night for sure & I am so pleased it made for a special night for you. Your kind words are much appreciated and we very much hope that you will be back before too long to try more of Andre's repertoire!
Best wishes Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
4 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,463 reviews
5.9 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
688 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
492 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliveden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range: £428 - £943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing