We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special afternoon”
Review of Cliveden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliveden House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very special afternoon”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I spent a wonderful afternoon having tea here with a group of girlfriends. Wow... The service was superb, the tea delicious,sandwiches, scones and the most stunning patisserie. We started with champagne ( a little bit of an extravagance) and were truly pampered and spoilt for the whole afternoon,right down to the lovely staff who offered to take a photo of us by the Stunning Christmas tree in the magnificent hall. The excess cakes were carefully boxed with a quiet "I've popped a few extra eclairs in" and taken home to share with the husbands...
I would recommend this beautiful place for a treat even if you cannot afford to stay - we're saving for a weekend break now!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlottejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
What a lovely review, thank you. Time away from family is precious so I am even more delighted that your visit, with girlfriends turned out to be greatly enjoyed. I hope the éclairs went down well with your husband & that perhaps we can welcome the chaps back next time too! Many thanks
Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    161
    80
    35
    22
See reviews for
203
520
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Cliveden is gorgeous, the main floor of the house offers everything you could look for on a quick break - wood burning fireplace, lots of sofas to read and enjoy tea, attentive but not intrusive service. The new Andre Garrett restaurant has been beautifully refurbished and make sure you don't miss the French dining room. All the staff, regardless of seniority, seem more than willing to spend time showing you around and can share a bit of history.

We were not here for the rooms or spa but they were both average. We had a Deluxe Double on the second floor of a wing. The fireplace was small with a portable radiator in front so not quite the character expected from the website. The raised windows mainly offered a view of the flat roof, wet leaves and some wires. The bathroom was floor to ceiling in unattractive granite with a very old and not particularly good shower. All of this said, the bed was very comfortable and the room spacious. We had a quiet and dark night of sleep. Not sure I would recommend paying a premium for this room over any other though.

Dinner at Andre Garret was very good. Each of the dishes very complex and diverse. We enjoyed the waiter speaking passionately about each dish and the chef's intentions. Be sure to try the vanilla souffle for dessert. The wine was OK, the red slightly too cold and the 400% markup on a mediocre bottle a bit disappointing. Breakfast was nice but small and I was surprised the hotel asked for a supplement (only 10 GBP) for Full English over Continental.

Overall we loved the experience and will return for a night of reading in the library and walking the grounds.

Room Tip: You aren't staying here for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your very balanced and fair review. Needless to say I was delighted to know that on balance you would return one day. You spoke of the less than perfect room that you had and I would just like to reassure you that we are continually working on the rooms and even refurbishing a whole wing at the moment. I am glad you found the food, team and atmosphere to be really good as it is harder to get those elements right rather than the physical elements. Thank you again for your review, Kind regards Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Got there for afternoon tea and felt like they didn't want us there, only one door staff to welcome all of us but soon we realized that the poor guy was also picking up and moving bags outside in a terrible rainy day - unbelievable!, reception staff very unpleasant and not very groomed, lounge service staff have a very low level of english and couldn't understand what we asked for. Definitely not a 5 star hotel, very unpleasant all the way with a tacky service that must be seen to be believed. A total shame!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
A total shame indeed that you left with this impression. I hand on heart know that my team deliver a genuine and from the heart, friendly service & am just deeply saddened that you felt this was not the case. On balance as I read our reviews the sentiment is weighted to the positive with regards to our lovely staff but I will be sure to keep my eyes peeled for evidence to the contrary. Yours sincerely Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Check the history on Google, but this is a very pleasant listed building now kept alive as an English Country house hotel with all the traditional welcome you would expect of log fires, library, discreet service; you feel like a member of the aristocracy. I got a room in the annex that overlooks the famous swimming pool that featured in the movie 'Scandal', now receiving attention again after Andrew Lloyd Webber's latest musical 'Stephen Ward' opened in London. A big surprise was the breakfast. Just £10 for a 'Full English' with additions of extras such as kidneys and black pudding.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex overlook the famous swimming pool, which is nice in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your review and your reference to all that makes up the Cliveden experience. We are very much enjoying all the mentions that we are getting at the moment whilst the brilliant musical by Andrew Lloyd Webber, "Stephen Ward" is on at the Aldwych Theatre. The stories and scandals that have taken place here over the years, make us quite unique and interesting to visit for so many reasons. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. Regards Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked into The Cliveden as a treat for the night before we moved into our new home. We booked a luxury room at £460 including breakfast for just one night. We had been told that a black tie event was being held in the hotel that night but were surprised to be taken into the hotel by a side door and then have to walk through dark corridors before being shown into a service lift which took us up to the top floor of the hotel (3rd floor) and to our 'luxury room'. On the hotel website it says that all luxury rooms have fireplaces and we had planned to have a cosy room service dinner in front of a roaring fire. We had asked for the fire to be lit for our arrival. The room was heated to a tropical heat such that we had to open all of the windows on arrival and the fireplace was not a working fireplace! Our bathroom must have been a cupboard originally and you could literally sit on the loo and touch all corners of the bathroom. It was ridiculously small.
Disappointed by the room, we asked for the room service menu. It is extremely limited and as we did not want burgers or fish and chips we opted for the lamb hotpot. At £27 we thought it would serve 2 people but no when it arrived it was a tiny portion and £27 each. On top of this was a mandatory service charge and a mandatory room service charge. The only table in the 'luxury room' was a wobbly coffee table so we ate our expensive meal on our laps. Still hungry, we ordered a lemon curd tart and an ice cream sundae. We received 2 ice creams, both melted and the waiter had forgotten the spoons so we drank the sundaes having waited 15 minutes for him to bring spoons to us. We slept well as the bed was comfortable and we were exhausted. The next morning we ordered 2 pots of tea with milk. One pot of tea with a thimble of milk arrived, literally not enough for even one cup of tea. We found our way down to the hotel restaurant by taking many wrong turnings carrying our own luggage having waited 10 minutes for a porter to arrive. As we struggled into reception 2 staff members came running over to help and made a fuss about us having carried our own luggage.
Our room rate included breakfast so we went into the restaurant and asked for a table by the window (the restaurant was empty). The tables by the window have a hot air vent under each table and it was literally too hot to sit at the table so we had to move. A tiny buffet was laid out on a sideboard. It was very disappointing. The dishes to be used were small side plates and cup sized bowls. Again there was no milk. Anything cooked had to be ordered and was extortionately expensive. (bed and breakfast included the continental breakfast buffet only). The staff that we came into contact with were snooty in the extreme. None of them were british and all seemed to think it extremely odd that we wanted milk with our tea!
On checking out we were informed that in light of the problems with our room service dinner the £70 for that meal had been waived. This still meant that our one night stay was £500 and there was absolutely nothing luxurious about it. When you arrive at this hotel you have to get past the gates to the National Trust grounds. There is nothing to tell you that you have arrived at the hotel and you have to pay the National Trust fee even if you arrive after dark and leave early as we did. The architecture of the hotel is beautiful from the outside and the public rooms are stunningly decorated but the bedroom that we had was shabby and the bathroom completely inadequate. The furniture may have been antique but it was poorly maintained and shabby. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Asquith room' - this is the room that we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mhbeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
A manager is never happy to receive such a review and a response is hard to write. I am sorry that you left us feeling as you do. Your room "Asquith" is a very large room on the top floor of the Main Mansion. There are no sloping ceilings, in fact it accommodates a lovely large four poster bed. The bathroom is small, but this is a very old, heritage house and can not be compared to modern day 5* hotels. It is just one of the facts of Cliveden & I realize this will be acceptable to some and not other. If you are the couple I am thinking of I do believe you arrived on an evening when we were having a concert at the hotel so I imagine you would have entered into a busy front hall and a busy night. There is no excuse for your poor room service though and I very much apologise that this was below the standard you should expect. We will continue to work on consistently hitting the mark for all our guests. Regards Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It was a very important event- birthday of my partner. So I decided to do a surprise for him by booking a spa day with stay at Cliveden House. The premises are beautiful but as soon as we entered the house my plans were ruined. We didn't recieve any spa tretment the day we booked as our massagers were 'ill' (on 1st of January- what a surprise). We did not recieved any compensation for that. During dinner food was nice but we were not served the wine we ordered and did not get the promissed compensation for that. The birthday cake , which I ordered few weeks before, was simply forgotten! It was brought only after my reminder. Other problems during breakfast and next day were just too much. For such a money with house of the 5* we recieved very low quaity of servise and ruined the event.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AliceP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
I am very sorry to learn that you left Cliveden House with a less than favourable impression of us. We are sad to learn this is the case and apologise for your disappointment.

We did have a member of staff who let us down in the Spa, alternatives were offered but you were inconvenienced and we would never have wished this to be the case. The cake was all set to be delivered to the table and then you needed to visit the ladies, the team were just waiting for your return to deliver it at the right moment. With your menu you had ordered a wine flight and we regret that one of the wines did not arrive in sync with your next dish, this should not have happened.

Thank you for bringing these items to our attention and we will certainly use your feedback constructively. Yours sincerely Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My family and I were fortunate enough to stay in Spring Cottage over Christmas for three nights, and loved every minute of our trip!

Our party consisted of 5, and we had therefore opted for Spring Cottage to give us a little extra space outside the hotel. We were not disappointed! The cottage itself is immaculate and beautifully decorated - and we were all surprised by just how spacious it was, the brochure does not do it justice in this respect at all. Everything that you could possibly need for a visit was also thought of, from scones and a lit fire on arrival to providing wellies, and even a bed, lead and treats for our dog!

Now onto the main house, which, again, was fabulous! Upon arrival from the cottage we were always greeted by very friendly staff and offered refreshments. The house itself is very welcoming, with a very homely atmosphere for a hotel. The dining room is beautiful (as is the rest of the house), and the food also first class - we ate breakfast and dinner in there each day and had consistently good food.

The staff are also a credit to Cliveden and clearly take pride in the hotel - we were frequently greeted by friendly faces and asked how we were finding our stay; each time being left with the feeling that they genuinely wanted their guests to be happy. Nothing ever seemed too much trouble for anyone.

We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
I remember you all so well, it was a pleasure to have you all with us over the New Year Festivities.
Thank you for being so swift at posting your review and for all your kind comments. Hopefully we can say "same place, same time next year". In the meantime have a wonderful 2014. Best wishes
Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
4.0 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
5.9 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
4.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
2.1 mi away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
664 reviews
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliveden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Property: Cliveden House
Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing