We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail in every aspect”
Review of Cliveden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cliveden House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Attention to detail in every aspect”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at Cliveden for two nights recently. The weather was kind to us so we could make full use of the magnificent grounds for long walks by the Thames. We luxuriated in the spa, enjoying the heated indoor and outdoor pools and indulging in the treatments on offer. We had the ultimate in dining with the tasting menu and the flight of wines recommended by our enthusiastic young sommelier. Easily one of the finest kitchens and cellars in England! We warned the team in advance that we would need a strict gluten-free menu for my wife. No problem! In fact "no problem" was the motto for our stay. Our waiter ensured that the kitchen was fully aware of our needs and they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Not a trace of the tutting and eye rolling and limited selections that are all too often encountered. "You can have any dish you like - the chef will adapt anything you choose!"
Our room was sumptuous, our room service impeccable and every member of staff greeted us as though we were regulars.
Hearty congratulations to this team, whose delight in their excellence, their team spirit and their mission was evident.

Room Tip: Grenfell overlooks the pool and spa garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheapmuesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
As the manager of Cliveden it really makes me very proud to read your comments. The team are very much engaged with our mission to be the finest hotel and restaurant we can be. It takes a huge team effort to get the detail right and I value the feedback you give us as I know it helps drive the team on with the job in hand. We very much hope you become the regulars that you felt like.
Best wishes Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    156
    71
    35
    22
See reviews for
188
496
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent a night at Cliveden house earlier this month on our way to Heathrow at the end of a family visit in England. It was an exceptional experience. It is hard to say what impressed us more, the hotel or the incredible gardens and views. For the hotel I would say that all aspects were outstanding. The service was excellent. The staff was quite helpful in recommending walks and showing us parts of the building. We stayed in the west wing in a room that had been remodeled and was extremely well done (There was a nice photo of Christine Keeler on the wall). We had lunch in the "club" and dinner in the main restaurant - both were excellent and both were well served; The continental breakfast (which included meats and salmon) was also good. The building itself is striking and the view as one drives up feels like a movie set. Lovely as the hotel is, the gardens are even more exceptional. One of the pleasures of being a guest is that one can wander the gardens after the gates close at 5 PM and before they open in the morning. We did both and considered it the highlight of the stay. The hotel package included transport to Heathrow, which took less than 30 minutes. Overall it was an exceptional stay. We are often in England and I would do this every time except that when one is done with the room, lunch, dinner, wine and a glass of single malt from their scotch cart the bill is significant - but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We have a good number of guests who use us for their first or last night in the uk, we are just 25 minutes from Heathrow as you found out. We like to think we can send you on your way with a powerful memory of a fine English Heritage property, it is Clivedens happy opportunity to do just that. I really do hope we can look after you on your return. Thank you for your very positive review.
Kind regards Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our recent private dining experience for a birthday dinner at Cliveden was a real - and delightful - success. It's clear that under new ownership (since 2012) and with proactive General Manager Sue Williams 'helming' the hotel - the level of customer service and attention to detail has soared. From first encounter with bookings and sales to the meet & greet service from the customer-attuned team it was a surprise and joy. The staff made the evening and the meal (worthy of an entry in on its own) went down a real treat with all. Thanks to Cliveden team members Emma Barrett and Ryan Humphrey in particular - both 'lived' the customer service ethos and made the evening a total success! It's clear Mr. Humphrey has taken Cliveden to heart and has studied the architecture and history of the building.

Cliveden remains a special place for numerous reasons – not least of all stunning grounds and because it is home to one of the great fountains of the world. However it was also obvious (having experienced the hotel and the food there ever the years) that the current management and staff are fully engaged in taking the experience to a whole new level. Our only regret was that we weren't staying overnight to experience that side of the operation. Congratulations again.

Room Tip: During the summer months you can book a boat trip with drinks/nibbles embarking from the Cliveden gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsean2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
It is especially important to us to receive a review that reflects that you felt that the house and service on on a very positive trajectory, Thank you for your kind words. We certainly are very determined that we should deliver the best experiences for all our guests. Kind regards Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed for just one night having had lunch at the Hand and Flowers. This grand old house is a massive project for any one to take on and refurbish, but knowing that the owners also have Chewton Glen underlies that it's owners know how deliver service and style.
Location is stunning, clever handing over of the grounds to the National Trust, and the rooms are all being completely re furbished to Master Suit levels. To be a member of Relais Chateaux ensures a certain high level of service.
Food wise , we only ate in the club room as still full from lunch, but still very good. Breakfast excellent.
Knowing also that the General Manager was from Gidleigh along with hand picked staff and a top chef means that this will only continue upwards.
We will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pommepuree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your kind vote of confidence, we do have quite a project on our hands but we are starting to see what the completed house will look like now that we have areas completed. It is a very exciting stage to be at. In a way I am glad you did not have dinner with us as this leaves you an excuse to return, which I sincerely hope you do soon. Best wishes Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This house is beautiful and set in amazing grounds. It's a bit difficult to find with sat nav but when you do you drive up a long gravel drive with the grand house in front of you. You are met by the staff there and helped with you luggage from your car. The history of the place is amazing and the decor is grand. Food here is good, staff excellent. A very relaxing and special stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Ah those 1st impressions as your turn the corner by the Fountain of love and see the house for the first time never fail to wow, I am so pleased it was the case for you. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on trip advisor, I hope you find yourselves back with us before too long. Best wishes
Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a fabulous afternoon at cliveden where we enjoyed their champagne tea, the food was good with a nice selection of sweet and savoury. We had our nearly three year old son with us and they could not of been more welcoming, whilst we enjoyed a glass of champagne he was served a fruit drink in a flute which was a lovely touch and made him extremely happy. The service from start to finish was fautless and real 5 star quaility. Once had finished tea we given a great look round by barbera who was a star, we ended the afternoon with a stroll round Clivedens beautiful gardens. This really was a luxurious treat and one that we can not wait to repeat.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ah2002_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I was delighted to read the very personal references about your son's pleasure at his own grown up champagne glass, please do bring him again and we can make him his own non alcoholic cocktail. Thank you also for mentioning Barbara, she leaves a great impression on so many of our guests but it is lovely to see it written down. I know she has seen your review and was chuffed to get a mention. We hope to welcome you back soon. kind regards Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Having been so pleased at the improvements when we stayed last year, we couldn't wait to come back to see if the upward trend was continuing...I think I have to say that our opinions are mixed. Yes the rooms continue to be refurbished which is great, but we visited on a very busy weekend and I can't help but think that there were too few staff on duty for the crowds of people. Whilst our afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks were impeccable - service at both dinner and breakfast was a bit hap-hazard. We waited over 25 minutes for coffee after dinner (which didn't come with the advertised "bon-bons") and the breakfast was disappointing in both range of food on offer and service. The breakfast buffet was woefully under-stocked with a lot of people trying to get to a pretty small selection of food and it strikes me as a bit mean to only include cold options in the price. When you are staying at a grand English Country House I expect the grand English breakfast to be included! However, lack of staff and poor breakfast selection aside, it was a privilege as ever to stay at this remarkable house and if you've not been, I urge you to visit.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view over the fabulous Parterre if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for urging others to visit us and for your very considered review. I am taking great note of your feedback with regards to breakfast and I know it will drive us to really focus on improving our
breakfast buffet. We need to turn on our creative juices and come up with an offering that matches the beautiful breakfast room that we have. Today the sun was shining and there is nowhere as stunning as Cliveden at this time of year. I hope you can hold the view in your minds eye and that you return to us before too long. Kind regards Sue W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
4.0 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
5.9 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
18.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,222 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
583 reviews
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliveden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Property: Cliveden House
Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing