We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for giving a treat to oneself or friends.”
Review of Cliveden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliveden House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have been there on three previous occasions. Today I took two friends from abroad for a 'traditional' English tea. Same high standard and charming service. Excellent quality of 'finger' sandwiches and cakes. I am pleased that the House still maintains the same high quality. I forgot to present my NT card but it did not matter. My friends were very happy and highly impressed. I hope work will be completed soon on the stairway

Room Tip: I wish I could stay. Any room would do.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margherita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your numerous repeat visits to Cliveden and the House, Afternoon tea is a wonderful tradition and the beautiful interior of this National Treasure is a great destination in which to take tea. It could become a habit! I hope we can welcome you back again before too long. Kind regards Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

It's unusual to find a hotel that welcomes dogs so completely.
Raffi, our 2 year old cockapoo, was allowed in every room except the dining room. He even had biscuits waiting for him in our bedroom.
The grounds are fantastic and we had lots of long walks.
The hotel is also perfect for human guests. Comfortable and relaxed with wonderful food and service.
Our favourite part was taking Raffi for a late night walk after dinner when we seemed to have the grounds to ourselves.
We are regulars at the Chewton Glen and found Cliveden to be just as good.
We are already planning on returning later in the year and bringing our children as well as Raffi next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 420Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Raffi
Thank you for bringing your family to stay with us recently, I am delighted you all had a good stomp around the Estate and that you could make the most of being out and about at Cliveden. I am happy to learn that our sister hotel Chewton Glen holds a special place in your hearts and I really hope that we can creep in there too. Maybe the promise of a few more biscuits could temp you to return ;) Until the next time........ best wishes Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I made a return visit to Cliveden recently and were pleased with the improvements since our last visit a few years ago. The gardens and the walks are a delight and work is still in hand to make them even better. The new MAZE is great fun for all the family even if you are passed your childhood days, and who knows who you may meet in there, perhaps a Russian spy ? He was here once I'm told but but you will have to find out more yourself if you are curious. To complete our day we had Afternoon Tea in the Hotel, which was a splended ending to our visit. The staff were outstanding and the service excellent in a warm and friendly atmosphere. We were seated in the Library which made the occasion more homely and served with a fine selection of cakes, sandwiches etc which we enjoyed.We wiil certainly return again and recommend Cliveden to all.

Room Tip: If you visit Clveden and also the Hotel make your reservation for Tea ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaybe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Delighted that you found your way out of the Maze so that you could join us for tea. We are happy to learn you enjoyed the setting and the tea itself. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back one day. Kind regards. Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is in a stunning location and has a fascinating history. Overall the building has an abundance of stately charm. However, this charm had unfortunately not rubbed off on a number of the staff who treated us as second class citizens due to the priority being given to a "corporate" function.

We notified the hotel that we would be arriving late morning as we had a booking at the Fat Duck, for which the team had helpfully arranged a car for. We were advised in advance that a mid morning check-in would not be available but we could enjoy the hotel facilities while we wait for our car. The staff also guided there may be some minor disruption due to a corporate event.
However, when we arrived our entry to the hotel was blocked by a ring of security and we were ushered into a stables. We were surprised not to be able to access the main building and felt we were very much unwanted guests. When it came time to meet our car we ventured back to the front entrance and again were not permitted to enter. On both occassions we felt very unwelcome.

On our return to the hotel after an amazing meal at the Fat Duck we were finally permitted to enter. Our experience of the staff was again at best mixed. The porter was friendly and helpful and promptly collected the remaining luggage that was left in our car. The receptionist however was frosty, she requested we sign a card which quoted an inaccurate price and quibbled when we challenged this.

Our room was well appointed and we appreciated the recently refurbished bathroom. There we also some other lovely touches such as a wifi tablet. However, we were very surprised to have no capacity to make a hot drink, the lack of availability for such a basic facility is quite astounding in this day and age. We noted the hot drinks could be purchased via room service but with a tray charge this appeared an excessively costly way of obtaining a cup of tea. The buffet continental breakfast was also underwhelming and lacked the luxury such a beautiful facility should offer.

Overall we would guide this facility has many positive attributes which are let down by the lack of attention to some basic details and the attitude of some staff. We chose to stay at Cliveden as part of our trip back home to the UK from Australia, we were not disappointed by the historic charm but do feel this facility left us feeling underwhelmed and we would not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona and Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

So sorry we gave you cause to write a review along these lines. We normally get such lovely comments about our welcome. It sounds like you got caught up in a function which resulted in a less than perfect sense of arrival, we apologise this was your experience. Thank you for your positive comments about the room. Interestingly many guests expect to find tea and coffee facilities in a hotel room but as you noted we do not, nor do we have mini bars. It is a miss conception that hotels are required to offer either. No two hotels the same. We very much feel that neither items look right in our heritage house. That said we can put a tea tray in your room on request.
We are genuinely sorry you had a less than perfect experience. Yours sincerely Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of our 2 month holiday in the UK.
What a lovely place to start. We had the Spencer suite, which was light and airy and looked over the front of the property to the main drive and the clock tower.
The sitting room was comfortable and spacious and the bedroom was well appointed with a large walk in wardrobe. The bathroom was comfortable and warm, if not a bit creaky, but thats to be expected and is part of the charm of an old stately home.
Breakfast was lovely, served looking over the parterre to the formal gardens. Service was friendly and pleasant.
The property itself is quite splendid, surrounded by lovely national Trust gardens and miles of parkland and woodland that you can stroll for hours. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times which was very good, but if you are looking for something a little more casual, take a drive down to Cookham, which has a numerous excellent restaurants and pubs.
Cliveden is a grand old home and a perfect place to stay for a few days of pampering.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

I like your style and must say I was a tad envious when I read of your plan for a two month, mother and daughter holiday, so good to do. We are delighted that you started you trip with us and that we kicked your itinerary off in style. Thank you for your many kind comments and I wish you and your daughter a truly magical time. Just maybe you will return to us in two months to end your trip where it began! Safe travels. Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I booked a room for my husband's birthday and we stayed in the Westminster suite. This was beautifully laid out with antiques and oil paintings and with a dressing room and bathroom. The staff were all extremely helpful. Afternoon tea was well presented with tea sandwiches and an assortment of homemade cakes. All very tempting and we gave in to the temptation. This is of course not good when faced with an equally delicious dinner in the dining room. The National trust garden that surrounds the house is a delight and is a great way to walk off some of the excess pounds you will put on during your stay.

Room Tip: One of the suites overlooking the par terre like the Westminster suite we stayed in. I think the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to review us. I am delighted that your planned Birthday treat all panned out as you would wish. I am pleased that you threw caution to the wind and indulged in tea, as you say there are acres and acres I which to redress the balance. I spotted your comments on the brewing of tea, I will be sure to look into this. Thank you again. Kind regards Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The wonderful result of this being an historic stately home is the sheer variety and delight of the spacious and beautifully appointed bedrooms.
However, to get to them you must first enter a stunning hall with an ancient french fireplace and be cosseted by the superb service of the efficient staff. the views are spectacular and the vista over the parterre as you dine or take breakfast is an amazing experience. However, nothing prepares you for the beauty of the french Dining room where, it seems, every significant figure of twentieth century history dined.
The relationship between the National Trust and the owners of this hotel ensures that everything is maintained in the best possible taste and historic accuracy. Yet the gym spa and pool are superbly integrated.
Nothing is too much trouble. Our room had a decanter of port as a facility and a telescope to appreciate the stunning views
A treat. A rare treat but one worth the wait

Room Tip: Mountbatten is the old games room and is the most spectacular; or Buckingham over looking the Parter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conferenceplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the rooms. Yours (Buckingham) really is one of the very best examples of our Parterre view suites, it receives a lot of requests. Thank you for all your kind words and I am pleased you enjoyed your long awaited treat. Not all rooms have a telescope but I think there is a case for having them in all Parterre suites as their views reach far into the Thames Valley and beyond.
Kind regards. Sue W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
4 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,461 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
3.7 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Beaconsfield
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliveden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range: £417 - £1,518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing