We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,391)
Filter reviews
1,391 results
Traveller rating
931
233
119
69
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
931
233
119
69
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust afternoon tea andre garrett astor grill outdoor pool chewton glen downton abbey french dining visited cliveden main hall tasting menu steeped in history spring cottage stately home special occasion formal gardens lady astor suite
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,391 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

In June 2018 we were married at Cliveden and it was superb. All of our guests were warmly welcomed by Michael and the reception team. Guests stayed overnight and loved the spectactular rooms/suites (we were lucky enough to be in the Lady Astor suite). Our family and friends loved the National Trust grounds - kids loved the water garden and maze and we all got to spend time in the spa before the ceremony. Lydia (Wedding Manager) was amazing and we were able to relax as we totally trusted her, Lindsay and the food & beverage teams to deliver the plan... which they did seamlessly. Our guests were blown away by the place, team and setting. Channel 4 filmed our day for a documentary shown at the end of November (A Very British Country House) which I think showed how amazing the day was. It was interesting to see all the hard work behind the scenes on tv which we were totally unaware of on the day. Thank you to the whole team for a day we'll never forget.

We have been lucky enough to stay at Cliveden a few times and this was our first choice for wedding venue

Do go for afternoon tea, a spa day, dinner or just to wander the National Trust grounds even if you can't stay the night - you may fall in love with the place and frinedly staff like we did! We will be back!

Room tip: Check the website to see room types and any offers... some have private hot tubs!
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndyandGarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinBCLV, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear AndyGarfield,
What a lovely review! It was such a pleasure to hold your special day here at Cliveden and I'm delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and our wonderful team. Many happy memories and I hope you can both return soon to make some more!
Best regards,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Yes this is an expensive hotel and a treat for most, but well worth it. Save up and go. The house and grounds are superb. The rooms just amazing. The food is second to none and the staff are out of this world helpful.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank matthewg818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinBCLV, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear matthewg818,
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular the service from our team. I hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Best regards,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at Cliveden was perfect in every way. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was exquisite and one of the best meals we've had in a long time. The restaurant staff and sommelier were very friendly and helpful. Our room was luxurious and the hotel manager could not have been more welcoming and helpful to us during the stay. The hotel grounds are stunning. Would highly recommend for a relaxing weekend away.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinBCLV, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear J L,
Thank you for your wonderful review and delighted you enjoyed your experience with us so much. Cliveden does make for a fabulous weekend getaway, and I hope you can enjoy many more here!
Best regards,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Bought this as a Christmas gift for my girl friend, the house is incredible and idyllic grounds.

Would highly recommend the Astor grill for lunch and ask someone for a tour of the house as this was a real gem!

Food was beautiful and staff were attentive and very friendly albeit what appeared to be organised chaos with little organisation. Having said this don’t let this deter you from staying!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LFBWE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinBCLV, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear LFBWE007,
Delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. It sounds like it was a busy day in the House when you visited but very happy you appreciated the attentiveness and friendliness of our team.
Best regards,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to treat ourselves to a day-spa package including massage, pedicure, facial etc. Wonderful. There are two swimming pools (inside and outdoors) plus a sauna and steam room and three hot tubs. A lovely way to relax and unwind.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cairokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinBCLV, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Cairokid,
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Spa and the beautiful surroundings.
Best regards,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews