We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rachel7890
London, United Kingdom

Wonderful

Review of Cliveden House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Apr 2024
Recently came back from an amazing short stay at Cliveden. Everything was first class - from the room, to the spa (and our treatments were some of the best we’ve ever had), the food, drinks in the bar and grounds. The staff were very welcoming and professional. Hope to return soon.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review
Responded 27 Apr 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your Cliveden Experience.

We're pleased to hear that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed everything from the spa treatments to the food and grounds. It's wonderful that our staff made you feel welcome and looked after.

We look forward to your return and hope it's just as memorable - Create your Moment in History!

Best wishes,
Francisco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £190
  • Hotels.com
2.0 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £90
  • Algotels
1.4 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £40
  • Travelodge
3.0 miles from Cliveden House
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£635
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £629
  • Agoda.com
    £447
  • Hotels.com
    £635
0.0 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £145
  • Algotels
2.1 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £75
  • Booking.com
1.0 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.3 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.5 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.5 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Taplow
Reviews (2,173)
Filter reviews
2,174 results
Traveller rating
1,603
297
142
79
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,603
297
142
79
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust astor grill afternoon tea outdoor pool chewton glen french dining residents lounge steeped in history spring cottage downton abbey tasting menu formal gardens special occasion main restaurant lady astor suite stately home main hall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 2,174 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2024

Fantastic country side property, full of history not far from Heathrow airport. The service was top notch, all the staff were friendly and very professional. We experienced dinner at The Asror Grill and had afternoon tea, both were great and delicious. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel! We went with our two girls, 3 and 6 and they also loved it :)

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 969cristiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2024

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and for recommending Cliveden!

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay, from dinner at The Astor Grill to our afternoon tea.

It’s great to know that our services were in line with your expectations and that your girls had a wonderful time too.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable visit!

Best wishes,
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024

A really lovely facial at the spa - Imogen my therapist, has magic fingers! I left feeling very pampered with glowing skin. Love the water bed/couch - really relaxing. Definitely a facial to treat yourself to if you are visiting Cliveden Hotel.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a delightful review of our treatments and in particular Imogen's work!

We appreciate your kind words,

Look forward to welcoming you back,

Bets wishes,
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024 via mobile

We had an amazing weekend stay at Cliveden House and the only reason I give it a 4 star is because of the spa. The house itself is so so stunning and well kept and our room was outrageously luxurious and gorgeous, felt like royalty tbh! We ate our evening meal at the Astor Grill where the food was very good and the staff delightful. All the staff at the main house were extremely pleasant and helpful, special thanks to Leanne who checked us in and showed us around, giving us a short talk on the history of the place and making us feel very very welcome. Cocktails at the bar were tasty and the breakfast plentiful, all fantastic.

The only down point was that our spa experience wasn’t the best, we found the staff at spa reception quite snooty and offered no warm welcome or info on what was available or where to go. While using the spa we found the pool lounge area and relaxation room to have used wet towels n robes just piled up in places most of the afternoon and tables not cleared, so all a bit messy and not the 5 star experience you would expect. Maybe it was an off day but with the price you pay, I expected more.

The weather wasn’t that great when we stayed but we did manage a quick walk around the stunning grounds, maze and Japanese garden which are all beautiful and well kept.

To sum it up we absolutely adored the main house and grounds but the spa did let it down for us which was a shame. I would a million percent love to stay again at Cliveden for all the other positives and we didn’t let it spoil our break.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 308kerryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2024

Dear Kerry,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for your kind words about Cliveden.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the luxurious setting, our food offerings, and the warm hospitality provided by Leanne and our team. It's wonderful that the history and the beauty of the grounds added to your visit, despite the lovely British weather...

We sincerely apologise for the aspects of the spa that did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable in helping us improve, and we will address the issues you noted to ensure a truly five-star experience for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cliveden, where we hope to exceed all your expectations!

Sincerely,
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

We had a great couple time. The hotel while old has its charm. Bed and as great. Cannot comment on the breakfast because we did not got up on time. Spa was very nice. We will get back next week with our daughter.

We had a massage and stayed by the indoor pool. The. We enjoyed the outdoor pool.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fischhoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2024

Dear Stephane,

Thank you for such a kind review and positive comments,

We look forward to welcoming you back, as soon as the weather changes!

Best wishes,
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

Lovely day at Cliveden - walked round the gardens, my wife had an amazing treatment rather spa then we had a lovely family afternoon tea. Staff were brilliant and looked after us so well in all aspects. Thank you for a great day. We will be back for sure.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Trek01265941418
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review,

I am pleased that you have managed to explore all that Cliveden has to offer and I cannot wait to see you again soon,

Best wishes,
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews