We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tina S

A truly wonderful experience!,

Review of Cliveden House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Apr 2024
My husband and l ( plus Phoebe our Giant Schnauzer) have just returned from a wonderful stay at Cliveden, we could not fault
any aspect of our stay and have already booked a return trip
in September!!We feel we have found a superb place to enjoy and be pampered whenever we need getaway !
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review
Responded 27 Apr 2024
Thank you so much for sharing your experience!

We're delighted that you, your husband, and Phoebe had a wonderful stay at Cliveden, and It's fantastic to hear that you’ve already planned your return in September.

We look forward to pampering you again and making your next getaway just as enjoyable, if not even better!

See you in September....if not before!

Best wishes,
Francisco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £209
  • Hotels.com
2.0 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel from the river
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £64
  • Hotels.com
2.3 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £127
  • Algotels
1.4 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £72
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £200
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£42
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
2.9 miles from Cliveden House
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £31
  • Travelodge
3.0 miles from Cliveden House
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £708
  • Booking.com
0.0 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £137
  • Algotels
2.1 miles from Cliveden House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Taplow
Reviews (2,168)
Filter reviews
2,168 results
Traveller rating
1,598
297
142
79
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,598
297
142
79
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust astor grill afternoon tea outdoor pool chewton glen french dining residents lounge steeped in history spring cottage downton abbey tasting menu formal gardens special occasion main restaurant lady astor suite stately home main hall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 2,168 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2024

Superb stay from booking through to departure. Staff outstanding, room perfect, facilities superb, public areas large and comfortable, spa area and both pools excellent, beautiful breakfast room and stunning views, exceptional grounds and gardens, helpfully flexibe on timings (arrival etc). Really appreciated very warm welcome from wonderful Leanne, tour from George, very helpful porters, ditto very helpful spa staff. Lovely to meet Hotel Manager Mr Jordan Hughes; we really appreciated his personal interest in our stay. Overall - perfect - outstanding.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vacation760649
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2024

Thank you for your outstanding review!

We're so pleased to hear that every aspect of your stay at Cliveden—from the warm welcome by Leanne to the personal attention from Jordan, who has just joined us.

Your kind words about our team, facilities, and grounds mean a lot to us. We can’t wait to welcome you back for another perfect visit!

Best wishes,
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2024

Recently came back from an amazing short stay at Cliveden. Everything was first class - from the room, to the spa (and our treatments were some of the best we’ve ever had), the food, drinks in the bar and grounds. The staff were very welcoming and professional. Hope to return soon.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your Cliveden Experience.

We're pleased to hear that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed everything from the spa treatments to the food and grounds. It's wonderful that our staff made you feel welcome and looked after.

We look forward to your return and hope it's just as memorable - Create your Moment in History!

Best wishes,
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2024

Fantastic country side property, full of history not far from Heathrow airport. The service was top notch, all the staff were friendly and very professional. We experienced dinner at The Asror Grill and had afternoon tea, both were great and delicious. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel! We went with our two girls, 3 and 6 and they also loved it :)

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 969cristiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2024

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and for recommending Cliveden!

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay, from dinner at The Astor Grill to our afternoon tea.

It’s great to know that our services were in line with your expectations and that your girls had a wonderful time too.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable visit!

Best wishes,
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024

A really lovely facial at the spa - Imogen my therapist, has magic fingers! I left feeling very pampered with glowing skin. Love the water bed/couch - really relaxing. Definitely a facial to treat yourself to if you are visiting Cliveden Hotel.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a delightful review of our treatments and in particular Imogen's work!

We appreciate your kind words,

Look forward to welcoming you back,

Bets wishes,
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024 via mobile

We had an amazing weekend stay at Cliveden House and the only reason I give it a 4 star is because of the spa. The house itself is so so stunning and well kept and our room was outrageously luxurious and gorgeous, felt like royalty tbh! We ate our evening meal at the Astor Grill where the food was very good and the staff delightful. All the staff at the main house were extremely pleasant and helpful, special thanks to Leanne who checked us in and showed us around, giving us a short talk on the history of the place and making us feel very very welcome. Cocktails at the bar were tasty and the breakfast plentiful, all fantastic.

The only down point was that our spa experience wasn’t the best, we found the staff at spa reception quite snooty and offered no warm welcome or info on what was available or where to go. While using the spa we found the pool lounge area and relaxation room to have used wet towels n robes just piled up in places most of the afternoon and tables not cleared, so all a bit messy and not the 5 star experience you would expect. Maybe it was an off day but with the price you pay, I expected more.

The weather wasn’t that great when we stayed but we did manage a quick walk around the stunning grounds, maze and Japanese garden which are all beautiful and well kept.

To sum it up we absolutely adored the main house and grounds but the spa did let it down for us which was a shame. I would a million percent love to stay again at Cliveden for all the other positives and we didn’t let it spoil our break.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 308kerryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francisco Macedo, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2024

Dear Kerry,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for your kind words about Cliveden.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the luxurious setting, our food offerings, and the warm hospitality provided by Leanne and our team. It's wonderful that the history and the beauty of the grounds added to your visit, despite the lovely British weather...

We sincerely apologise for the aspects of the spa that did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable in helping us improve, and we will address the issues you noted to ensure a truly five-star experience for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cliveden, where we hope to exceed all your expectations!

Sincerely,
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews