We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to The Cliveden”

National Trust Cliveden
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Taplow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Over 370 acres of picturesque gardens and woodlands set high above the River Thames in Buckinghamshire.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit to The Cliveden”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our experience with Cliveden was fantastic. It has many things to offer, like Gardens, Maze, Woodlands, House and Chapel and Cinema show. We walked in the woodlands enjoying the panoramic view of the House, River Thames and the gardens. Our nephew and niece had fun in getting lost in the Maze. Boat ride on the river Thames was fascinating! Cliveden House is now owned by the National Trust, UK and is let as a hotel. Cinema shows films on who lived at and visited Cliveden and one can find out the secrets and scandals of the past. After spending a couple of hours in the beautiful garden, we had nice aromatic coffee in the Dovecote Coffee House in late afternoon before we left.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GAUTAM1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    231
    51
    19
    10
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Thames walk and gardens”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Large & relaxing area to walk in and picnic. Very child friendly. Nice café & restaurant. Good maze and large slide for children. Lack of 'keep off the grass' signs and other restrictions. Plenty of car parking. Perfect for a sunny days outing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hazelandjohn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I like the place lovely gardens but prices are high. £10 for entry. I don't think it's worth family paying 40£ and probably another 40-50£ to eat for few hours . English tourism is very pricey and it makes people take their holidays in another country where you pay a third of the prices in UK and quality of everything is superior than here. Fees for parks gardens should be minimal and children free. It's a shame you can't enjoy the nature beauty in UK for free

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely formal gardens”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I enjoyed my visit and viewing the formal gardens. It is a pity, though, that the house is not accessible as it is a private hotel.

Currently the repairs at the back of the house and the installation of a steel children's style slide at the rear of the property do detract from the ambience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Subwebman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliantly British”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stunning location and grounds, so many places to explore and an amazing place to picnic on a sunny day

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dominic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Trust Cliveden also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Waddesdon, Aylesbury Vale
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
Taplow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to National Trust Cliveden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing