We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite Cookham attraction”

National Trust Cliveden
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Taplow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Over 370 acres of picturesque gardens and woodlands set high above the River Thames in Buckinghamshire.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite Cookham attraction”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Cliveden House National trust is amazing. We stayed in Cookham Village across the Thames for three months and visited Cliveden six times. so much to see and do at cliveden. What great food in either the hotel restaurant (5 stars) or the Orangery cafe. The gardens are amazing and the grounds are well kept. Takes you back to Edwardian times in Nancy and Lord Astor's house. WOW!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    222
    50
    18
    10
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely day out exploring”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with 3 children aged 3,2 and 1. Got there for opening so got a good parking space near to the enterance. Was a hot sunny day so anticipated a busy day but its so huge you dont notice how busy it gets. Saying that we didnt use the restaurant or cafe at peak times as we took a picnic.
On arrival the lady at the information point was very helpful told us to head straight to the play park as it gets very busy. She gave us booklets for the children and an activity sheet for things to spot.
Lovely safe play park with storybook characters which my little ones loved spotting. Little dolls house cafe nearby and plenty of seating outside.
Pathways are buggy friendly i had a double buggy and managed well. Water areas not roped off we enjoyed looking at the fountain, pagoda and fish and dragonflies.
Maze looked good didnt attempt with all the children.
Made our way to the house lovely fountain with mummy duck and ducklings having a splash little ones loved.
Had a look at the slide great fun! Stunning views.
All in all wonderful setting for all ages.

Helpful?
Thank MissTFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cliveden”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great day out. This was part of our Xmas present. We did not take in the house as that's not open on a Friday. So we took in the grounds, great place for family's and couples. If you take in the whole grounds you need a comfortable pair of shoes on. My husband and I had a great time, taking in the water garden, long garden parterre, river war memorial garden. There's something for all ages

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely and huge grounds to explore. A little unimaginative in the planting of some of the gardens perhaps, but somewhere we go to often as a place to unwind. Lovely coffee shop with somfortable outdoor seating.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camberleyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our week.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My 20 month old son and I visit Cliveden virtually every week. I'm not a skilled gardener but, to me, the grounds are looking better than ever. Neat and tidy with plenty flowering, which keeps a little one interested.
There is a small play area which is fine and there is more than enough open space for walking and just enjoying the scenery. Earlier in the year it was lovely to see all the volunteers out and cleaning the statues. We came to recognise them after a few weeks and they then regularly greeted us by name.
The same friendliness is apparent in the Orangery where, each week, we are warmly greeted and served with our regular 'late breakfast'.
Watching the work that is still in progress on the terrace has been fascinating and I have had a few interesting talks with the skilled workmen who are working to preserve this piece of history.
Out of all the NT properties we have visited, this is our favourite by far and we will continue to return every week.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Trust Cliveden also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Waddesdon, Aylesbury Vale
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to National Trust Cliveden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing