We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding venue”
Review of Taplow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taplow House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I could write an essay on how wonderful my wedding day was, made even more perfect by the fabulous staff at Taplow House. Gabrielle, our wedding co-ordinator made sure I didn't become a Bridezilla, as she ensured all my worries were addressed and dealt with on a truly professional and personal way. We had a couple of concerns with the name and entrance to the new brasserie which were again, dealt with totally to our satisfaction. Having also had dinner here with my "girls" the night before the wedding, I am confident to say that I will be back to dine here again too. Everything was perfect and made for a day to remember not only for us but for our guests too. Thank you all so very much.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyMuslington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

This large house has been turned into a cozy (30-ish bed) hotel with grand rooms (spacious and quietly luxurious), lovely terrace overlooking a sunken lawn and a generally friendly and good-service feel.

There's no spa/pool so it's not quite a 'destination', neither is Taplow a destination in itself, so it's only because of a friend's wedding in the area that we found this hotel. It's a pity since a place like this on the beaten track would be full every night. Maybe just as well!

The hotel offers free wifi (check), free water in the rooms (check) and while the service isn't always the most polished, it was friendly, well-meaning and very flexible (eg we arrived late for breakfast and then fancied eating on the terrace - there wasn't even a pause between our asking and a table being set for us). The beds were a bit small (standard sized double) and a bit soft.

We had a really relaxing stay and should we ever need to be in the Taplow area again (!) we'd have no hesitation about returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianjindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Walking the Thames Path, this was my last stay near the river last year and my first this year. The building and grounds are very nice and I like the country feel rather than staying in town. But last year I was not given the room I was promised and while they made it up to me fully with a beautiful one this year there was still a mix-up on arrival.

My assessment in general is that the staff, all very nice people, aren't trained as well as they could be for such a nice property. Besides the 2 incidents mentioned I found somewhat unprofessional service. For instance a barman who didn't know anything about the wines on offer nor did he even seem to understand what it was I wanted to know, dining room staff having a loud and unpleasant conversation near my table at breakfast. So I believe a general upgrade in staff training would make the guest experience more in keeping with the image I believe they hope to project.

There are a variety of rooms and to avoid disappointment as I experienced last year I recommend a clear description of what one is reserving and to not accept a lesser substitute. Despite the deficiencies I still enjoyed staying at Taplow House and would certainly consider returning.

Room Tip: A variet of room sizes, know what you're getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I planned a 2 day business event with 27 guests staying for between 2/4 nights.

The location was vital as over half of the guests were travelling internationally. Being close to Heathrow this was perfect. I also feel the hotel offered amazing value for money which was important.

I booked the Tulip room for the meeting and two break-out rooms – all were prefect for the meeting. I also arrange private dining in the Grenfell room for lunch and evening meal which provided a beautiful setting. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was exquisite and enjoyed by all. Woofies, the bar downstairs was great for an informal drink and food and the hotel bar was perfect with a lovely glass of port! A real mix of old a new – the best of both worlds.

The rooms were charming, comfortable and clean and all of the rooms I saw were of a high standard. Although it rained during my stay the grounds are lovely for a gentle stroll before dinner.

From the first viewing I had confidence in the hotel staff’s ability to carry out my requests. The staff where all lovely, professional and worked well as a team. They could not be more helpful and made my job so much easier as I could reply on them. I had requested cocktail for my guests, flowers, taxis to airports plus many other items– the hotel arranged everything I needed and with a smile.

Would I recommend this hotel – 100% yes. Would I return – 100% yes and I hope to do so.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My new husband and I got married at Taplow House Hotel and it was the best day of our lives. We decided on Taplow House as we thought it was more of a cosy country hotel compared to some other venues we visited, suited the numbers we had for our wedding and had lovely grounds and rooms.

from the beginning our hotel wedding coordinator, Gabrielle, was fantastic in making sure we had covered all areas for our civil service, wedding breakfast and evening party. On the day of our wedding everything ran smoothly. The wedding breakfast 3 course meal was delicious, the service of the staff was excellent and friendly and the evening buffet was soon polished off and reports from guests was it was tasty.

Taplow House - thank you so much for making our wedding day so special.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH2814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have stayed here for the last 5 christmasses & they are excellent with the room, food, service etc..
Cant wait to join them again this year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusheyMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed at THH for a wedding, a superb setting and the rooms were superb. A great combo of classic british with modern technology (wifi, flat screen, air-con).

Beautiful grounds.

Food was good for a 90 person sitting.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esw1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
642 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
745 reviews
2.1 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
857 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range: £98 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing