We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely day enjoyed by all!!”
Review of Taplow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taplow House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely day enjoyed by all!!”
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Went here for the day for a relatives 80th birthday. The tulip tree room was booked for us for all day, we had a delicious 3 course meal with free tea and coffee (I was nominated driver!!!) Service was good, glasses were topped up promptly for those drinking wine and tea, coffee and water for those of us non drinkers. The only downside was afternoon tea, the person who had arranged the day booked afternoon tea for us and was led to believe it would include a selection of cream cakes and scones, we were served a small slice of dry sponge or fruit cake. The grounds to the hotel looked lovely, unfortunately due to the weather we couldn't take full advantage of them.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us.

I was delighted to hear that you had a lovely day with us for a birthday celebration and that you really enjoyed the food and service. We pride ourselves on the high standards of our afternoon tea and I apologise for the dis-appointment you experienced on this occasion. I will personally ensure we take corrective action as it is through our customer's feedback that we can constantly strive to further improve our service delivery.

I hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future and that you get the opportunity to take a walk around our lovely grounds.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    166
    74
    46
    25
See reviews for
130
273
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I had my wedding here on 28th December 2012!

What can i say but amazing! Everything was simply perfect from the staff to the food to the rooms to the decor. Working in a hotel myself i know the things that can go wrong but Taplow have it down to a T. They know what there doing and the whole day ran without a hitch. I coudnt fault a single thing.

Thank you for the perfect wedding day Taplow!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I had my wedding at this hotel on 29th December 2012 - words cannot describe how amazing our day was.

From the very first time we visited the hotel, it felt so warm and welcoming and didn't feel like a hotel at all.

My guests had booked all of the bedrooms so on the day it felt like we had out own amazing stately home to ourselves. Gabrielle and her team worked very hard to ensure everything looked exactly how I wanted it. The wedding breakfast room looked fantastic, all the food was amazing and the dj they supplied was brilliant. A lot of people said it was the best wedding they had been to, including the dj, everyone was dancing and we had the best day of our lives.

Breakfast the next day was lovely.

I cannot wait to go back again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottiejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Have stayed her a few times when on business. The rooms are generally very comfortable with The White Company toiletries. Beds are comfortable and you can select your pillow.i have only eaten in the bar at night and I would describe it as average. Full English breakfast in the morning is a real treat with it being served to you under a silver dome.
Hotel definitely worth staying at if you are visiting the area on business

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank goostreygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a friends wedding and the guests had apparently taken over the whole hotel barring 1 or 2 rooms. Wedding was superb, service great throughout the evening and room was beautiful with stunning grounds and plenty of parking. The only downside was breakfast the following morning. Most of the items were cold and one of the tureens didn't have a handle which meant you couldn't open it without hurting yourself in the process. There was so much pepper in the scrambled egg it was only good for those who like spicy food which I don't. Cold selection was fine, but there was no spare cutlery out so you had to ask for more if you went up for additional items and they had cleared your previous items. There was so much wrong with this bit, it slightly marred the rest of the stay which was unfortunate. Having said that, I would take a risk that it was a bad day and stay again!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We also stayed the night en route from the Fat Duck. It was a wonderful night although we chose not to have dinner as a result of an extended and very filling lunch. Our room was luxurious - we had dinner and breakfast together with James I suite for a reasonable rate. We will return and spend a few nights next time. The service was as one would expect for such an establishment and is to be applauded.

Room Tip: Worth choosing a suite....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed here for two nights for some corporate training recently. The service and general impression of the hotel at check-in was of a very traditional English country house hotel - old fashioned and polite. I was looking forward to a warm, luxurious room in an older style - what I had was more of a cupboard in an older style. It was billed as a double room and did indeed contain a double bed. It also contained a desk, which left about a foot of space around the three sides of the bed. The "bathroom" had no window and a shower that I invariably banged parts of my anatomy against as I tried to apply the shower gel. There was no room for my relatively small bag in the "built in wardrobe" and room for about three shirts to hang before things started to get squashed.

Fortunately, I spent very little time in my room - if I had been travelling for leisure and sharing the room, I think I would have been deeply disappointed - even in my solitary situation my heart sank every time I entered the room, simply because it was so incredibly small.

Generally service was good and food was reasonable, but if you are used to being able to walk around unhindered in your room then make sure you know what you are getting in advance.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
1.2 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
597 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,006 reviews
2.1 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
700 reviews
6.0 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Property: Taplow House Hotel
Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing