We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel for a wedding”
Review of Taplow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taplow House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel for a wedding”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I was married here on 19th July. It was a beautiful day (we were lucky with the weather) and we had a really fabulous wedding there. All the guests I spoke to were also really happy with the hotel.

We chose the Taplow firstly because it was near our Church and then mainly because of the space available - it was the right size for our envisaged number of guests and it has a beautiful garden with historic old trees in it, on a slope which gives the hotel a lovely aspect as you come up the drive. It also has a good choice of rooms. There's an attractive room for the reception and a separate dance floor area (this room is also used to conduct weddings), as well as an outdoor terrace or you can hire the more modern Cellar Bar with an attractive arched stone ceiling. The place also has a really cosy, friendly feel to it. The staff are very accommodating and flexible. We changed our table plans a few times in the run- up to the wedding and we even changed the menu a little. The chef was very amenable to doing this and many of our guests commented on how good the food was. Our wedding co-ordinator, Gabrielle, was great - really friendly and ever-patient with us - you really get the feeling that she enjoys her job.

If you want to get married or have a reception at a very reasonably priced (and it is if you book the package we did - we did an awful lot of research before we chose it), cosy, flexible and friendly hotel with a lovely indoor and outdoor space - good for summer or winter weddings I imagine - this is the place for you.

The rooms are pleasant - decorated in an old Georgian style. I stayed in two of the suites there and they were both very nice. All our guests who had rooms were very happy! One little niggle however - the air-conditioning was not working in my room and as the Bride this wasn't ideal. Everyone else staying there I spoke to (and we had nearly half the rooms booked) said that theirs was, so at least they were okay.

However, the staff were great (friendly and efficient), the DJ (included in our package and supplied by a company the hotel recommends) was also very good and Gabrielle was fantastic. Our guests were also able to drink outside after midnight. Thank you very much Taplow!

Room Tip: Check that the A/C is working in the room if it's a hot day. Ask for one of the bigger rooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 820Noelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    166
    74
    46
    25
See reviews for
130
273
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

As it was a nice day we sat outside on the terrace - and you overlook some lovely grounds.

We went for the Traditional Afternoon Tea - and it was very nice. Sandwiches were nice and fresh, cakes were very tasty, and very good quality scones and cream. Our waiter was excellent -and came and refilled our pot of tea three times - which is at no extra charge.

Price was £22 per person which is about right for the quality of venue and area. My only one small criticism was that there could have been a couple of more sandwiches for the price. Other than that - thoroughly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bogotarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I thought the hotel and service were very good. Its set in about 4 acres, with nice surroundings. Pleasant entrance hall and nice bar area. Plenty of parking in grounds near hotel. My wife and I were very impressed by both the choice and quality of food, and the overall service. Buffet and good served cooked breakfast. In my opinion this is a high quality independent hotel. I would stay at this hotel, and recommend it. Good value for money.
My only observation is that our room had a small bath!

Room Tip: I had Cedar room which looked onto the lawn, good size double, with flat sceen tv, wardrobe and desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeg_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We made a reservation at the nice looking Taplow House Hotel. After arrival with our classic car we had to state, that a big scool party will happen in the evening. We tried to cancel the room because they did not inform us about the party in advance and because they could not guarantee that nothing happens to our car. But they we not willing to cancel the reservation (after one hour discussion with several supervisors, managers ...) and they put 50 % on our credit card. A complaint at the management about this as we went back home took 4 weeks, 1 email reminder and 2 tel.calls to UK

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We recently got married and had our reception at Taplow House Hotel. From the moment we 1st visited here until we left the morning after our wedding, we loved every minute. Our wedding co-ordinator and some of the general staff were very friendly and accommodating. Whenever we phoned or emailed with a request, it was never too much trouble for the team. Our wedding menu trial was just amazing and we felt very spoilt.

Family and friends were very involved with flowers, wedding cars and entertainment. The staff were ready for them the day and morning before, listening to all their individual requests. The day ran very smoothly, even with a 20 minute delay arriving. We have received many comments about the quality of the venue, the food (both the wedding breakfast and breakfast the next day) and accommodation (we had all the rooms in the hotel). A day we won't forget!

The only reason we haven't given the hotel 5* is because of the lack of management at certain times during the wedding reception. It did not affect our day because we had so many of the wedding party involved in the organisation. However there seem to be a lot of staffing changes at present so we hope things settle soon to enable Taplow House Hotel to continue to offer an excellent service.

Room Tip: Rooms come in a variety of sizes. Some are more spacious than others. Rooms 1, 2 or 3 are the best w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuftyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed one night. We were given a very small room, ok for one night but if you stayed longer,,,,
Breakfast typical hotel buffet but nothing out of the ordinary.
On check out they tried to charge for the breakfast despite this being in the room rate. I had to prove this too them by giving them a copy of my Expedia booking confirmation. Not a great end to our stay, hence its just an average hotel. Albeit in a nice location

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustralianOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This imposing looking building, set amongst extensive landscaped gardens, is very disappointing. The space outside, while offering the opportunity for an al fresco breakfast with a view, does not compensate for the pokey rooms, marshmallow bed, the loud and antiquated airconditioner blowing a storm of cold air at you as you sleep millimetres from it, or the lukewarm service.

We were only here for one night, on our way to lunch at Fat Duck. We arrived late after a long flight. The night manager checked us in and sent us your rooms carrying our own bags up a number of flights of stairs. He did offer to assist as a throw away line we started the long haul. We had booked, and paid for 3 double rooms for our family. The room my partner and I were checked into was actually a single and the only other option we were offered was a twin room. My adult children had been given double beds so we solved our own problem by swapping between us. The night manager was disinterested in the problem.

We were awoken at 7am by a man hand delivering a newspaper. Why?

The bathroom is about 1m by 1m in size.

The free wifi barely works.

The staff don't know what is going on.

We paid over a couple of hundred pounds per room which is more than double what I think this is worth. I would give it a miss.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NLB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
1.2 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
597 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,008 reviews
2.1 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
701 reviews
6.0 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Property: Taplow House Hotel
Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing